We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Ranked #86 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our 4 night stay was a perfect blend of comfort & convenience. Easy walking (10mins) to the Convention Center and French Quarter in the opposite directions. Harrah's Casino at the next corner for indoor fun on the one day it rained. Fully stocked rooms including kitchen with real silverware, plates & coffee mugs made you feel right at home. The morning breakfast could use a bit more variety but the evening dinner on Tues was more than I expected. Corn/Crab bisque was just as good as any restaurant. Beds could use new box springs but no complaints really.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Sue L,

It was a pleasure to read your comments and I thank you for taking the time to let the world know about our greaet amenities and wonderful location. I am sorry to hear about the comfort of the bed. I can assure you that we are addressing our beds and expect to complete our replacement of matresses in coming months. Once again, we would like to thank you for your stay awesome review and look forward to having you back "Home" very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 920 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here after my cruise was over so I could get some NOLA time in. Never had been here previously. Bedding and accomodations comfortable. Nice size towels. Big plus-one of the few smoking hotels around and centrally located. The weather was cold for NOLA but Mothers across the street was a big plus. Better than the breakfast at this hotel-hot food was cold. The day I checked in they moved the breakfast area to the second floor, so not sure if this had anything to do with it. Front desk was very helpful and let me check in early off the cruise. Would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear jsd2222,

Thank you for the great review!!! I am very happy to hear that we were a great choice for you after a cruise. Our location provides you with a place close and very convenient to the terminal along with being able to explore the great attractions in New Orleans to get you "ready" for the cruise or help you transition back to life on land after a cruise. I apologize for having to move the breakfast to the second floor during your visit as we made enhancments to the breakfast area. We made every attempt to ensure there was no drop in food quality or service during that time.

Please come back to stay with us at the Staybridge New Orleans soon whether you book another cruise or just want to explore the amazing attractions our great city offers.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I were visiting New Orleans and made reservations at the Staybridge. We had stayed at the Staybridge hotels before in New York and had a great experience there. We were not disappointed with our choice in New Orleans. The hotel was located in a good location and within walking distance to much of what we planned to do and see. Everything was very clean and very well decorated from the exterior to the rooms. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel also has a very good hot breakfast every morning as well as an evening social hour which includes wine, beer, soda and a light dinner. This would be the only thing I would like to see changed. When we have stayed at other Staybridges, they have more of an Hors d'oeuvres social instead of the dinner type. Still, not a big deal when considering all of the good points. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you are a Priority Club Member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Macombvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We loved this hotel. It is quiet and very friendly in a good location in the French Quarter. The staff were very friendly and the concierge was wonderful and so helpful when it came to helping book tours and things to see and do. The free laundry and wi if are great too. We extended our stay by an extra two days!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What we liked without qualification
1. Clean, updated, spacious room
2. Kitchenette in room with full fridge, two-burner range, extra sink, etc.
3. Desk staff very friendly on check-in and check-out
4. New dining area and great room

What you may or may not like
1. Reception is only three nights of the week. Nice to get free drinks (adult and otherwise), but our one experience was marginal in terms of food quality. There is so much good food in town, so you don't expect the same food you'd get at a Boise, ID Staybridge Suites.
2. Parking is in a garage around the corner. This is convenient insofar as it is secure and you don't have to wait on (or tip) a valet. That said, it isn't cheap ($33 plus tax per night) you may or may not feel comfortable parking and getting in and out of a fairly confined space. Drive to the top of the parking area (in our case, in the hopes of turning around) and you may bottom out your car on the steep incline meeting the top level. Bang!
3. Location is good in many ways. You are close to the river and all that lies there between Poydras and the Quarter. You can also walk a few blocks up Poydras for the Superdome, Lil Gem Saloon, streetcar stop, or over to Canal, etc. We could walk quickly to Jackson Square in about 10 minutes. That said, there are many hotels much closer for about the same rate
4. 32 inch tv? Having just enjoyed a huge tv at a HI Express in Knoxville, and in a much smaller room, it seems that an extended-stay hotel with a larger room would have a larger tv. But hey, who comes to New Orleans to watch tv?

What needs to change, and fast
1. Breakfast's greatest virtue is the self-waffle maker and the effort to put out more toppings than just butter and syrup. Otherwise, it's as good (or bad) as a typical Holiday Inn Express minus the cinnamon rolls. When I saw a staff member walking in with a "to-go" breakfast from somewhere else, it occurred to me that the guests were really getting a breakfast that most of the staff probably wouldn't eat regularly. Sausages were flavorless and barely warm. (Really? In New Orleans) Eggs just about inedible - crusty little nuggets. And the layout of the toppings (however well-intentioned) meant that stuff drops from one container into another or from the ice in which they are set. I picked up the whipped topping can to shake and put on my waffle. The top launched into the cottage cheese. Then I noticed the cheese in the salsa, salsa in the cheese, etc. Maybe this is unavoidable, but it seems that there must be a better mousetrap. On the plus side, there was whole fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal. But for $148 on the weekend, one should hope so. One would hope that someone could get a handle on the food situation.
2. Not a suite! When we travel, we get upgraded automatically (as Platinum Priority Club members). So I presume that this is a hotel is without two-room suites. If they don't upgrade automatically, fine. But you should have at least given us the option of a two-room suite if one was available. I'm presuming by the turnout at breakfast that the hotel was not packed.

If you want more of a grand hotel experience, this isn't it. If you want the Embassy Suites experience (much better breakfast and reception - two room suite) in an IHG property, this isn't it. But if you want a room larger than other IHG properties, you don't have high hopes for your meals, you want easier access to your vehicle, and this is close to your intended destination, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovemykids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Lovemykids2,

Thank you for your detailed review and positive comments about our friendly staff, location and large rooms. I have read your comments on our breakfast and parking and will strive to continually improve these areas. The pricing of our parking is competitive with other hotels within downtown New Orleans. We hope that the next time your travels bring you to New Orleans you and your family will choose us again and show that we are truely a great value while staying in New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We had 3 rooms for 6 of us. The rooms are huge, beds very comfortable, and clean. Great to have a full kitchen! Front desk staff were wonderful and gave us lots of great tips to shops and restaurants. Great location - we walked to everything. Definitely would return!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lisa3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Lisa 3316,

Thank you for your awesome review and comments about our spacious rooms and friendly staff. Our location is easy to be excited about because we are, as you stated in your review, within walking distance of everything downtown. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon and promise to send you to another place you may not have discovered yet, within walking distance....

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. Great location, amazing service, large and clean rooms! We were in the New Orleans area the weekend before Christmas. We attended a wedding in on Friday evening, and at the last minute, decided to spend an extra day site seeing. Our family members already had rooms booked at another hotel. Because there were no available rooms, we chose the Staybridge because it was close by. I am so glad we did. Ronnell greeted us when we walked in and made us feel right at home. Our room was spacious and had a great view of Poydras (we were on the 3rd floor). Our family members liked our room better than they liked theirs at the hotel across the street. The hot breakfast was wonderful, with sausage patties, sausage links, eggs, and waffles. I know it is probably not a big deal, but grits and oatmeal were already made, not in make-it-yourself packages...and the strawberry topping and whipped cream for the waffles were big hits with my kiddos! Monique, at the front desk, was so wonderful, answering my many questions! EVERY staff member always greeted us and asked how we were doing! My family had such a wonderful experience and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear amars,

Wow!! I was very proud reading your review and had a large smile the entire time. As you described your experience is exactly what our staff works very hard to provided every guest all year long. We share each review with our staff and celebrate their efforts. Thank you so mucha nd we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing