We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #58 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel offers excellent service. Staff at check-in polite and friendly, rooms are spacious and clean. We were quite surprise that there was no noise from adjoining rooms. Our suite had a kitchenette with fridge, microwave and dishwasher and a small dining area. Found internet connection slow to logon, but overall good quality. TV selection excellent. Complimentary breakfast good, however staff appeared to be less than enthusiastic to serve or clean up. Evening cocktail hour offered beer and wine and appetizers, however once again staff appeared to be less than enthusiastic to serve or even open up the white or red wine. This is based on our three day stay with the hotel. The lady who looked after the concierge service was a true delight - who went above and beyond her duties. In the morning, she went around to the guests in the breakfast area and lounge area to see if she could help guests in planning their stay in New Orleans (She definitely should be award the employee of the week, month and year award - a true ambassador for the hotel.) Hotel is located about a block and a half from Canal Street, with easy access to French Quarter. Mothers restaurant across the street is always good for lunch or dinner.
Drawback would be no complimentary shuttle to airport or cruise ships. A great hotel to stay at, would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcdjcdcVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    273
    77
    31
    33
See reviews for
181
186
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I'm a first time visitor to NOLA and wondered about the hotels there. The Staybridge was selected by the trip leader of our group and it turned out to be a very good decision. I'll tell you, I could not find one thing to complain about at the Staybridge.

Everything from the moment we arrived there made me feel welcome. The staff at the front desk throught our four night stay was great. The staff members in the dining room were very helpful and kept the food coming. They made sure the tables and the entire dining area was kept clean for us guest.

The one thing I regret was forgetting to leave a tip in the room for the young lady who kept our room nice and clean. She also deserves kudos for her job.

As you see, I really enjoyed my stay there and definately would stay there again. The Staybridge New Orleans gets a "100+" from me! Great location within walking distance to everything.

Staybridge Hotel, I'll see you again on my next visit to the "Big Easy"!
H. Thompson

Helpful?
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Prepay and save! This is a great hotel! If you know for sure your travel dates you can prepay for your stay and save a bunch of money.

We only stayed for two nights, but it is definitely set up for longer stays. Our room had a kitchen, spacious living area and two double beds.

1. The beds, bedding, room temperature, water pressure, etc. were all excellent.

2. Parking was competitively priced (as compared to lot prices) and is covered/gated.

3. Complimentary breakfast was good, but best if you get there closer to open.

Oh, and the location is perfect, walking distance to both the Convention Center and the French Quarter!

I will stay here again when visiting New Orleans!

Room Tip: The elevators (2) were very responsive, so high/low floor decision was not an issue. Closer to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This compact little home away from home, with its small kitchen and welcoming common room downstairs, is just right if you are spending three or four days in The Big Easy. Just off Canal Street, it is far enough from the craziness of the French Quarter to serve as a refuge while being central enough for easy access to all of this great city -- Magazine Street, the up-and-coming Warehouse District, River Walk, Marigny and Frenchmen, and Uptown. And great places you might not otherwise visit, like the Wine Institute of New Orleans (WINO) with its dozens of wines for the tasting, are just around the corner. While you give up the charm and personal touches of the B&Bs where we normally stay (i.e. Royal Street Courtyard), Staybridge happily accepts dogs (with a small deposit) and does its best to remain friendly and welcoming, providing appies and wine some evenings and always available coffee in the common room. Not everything is perfect -- the morning breakfasts are pretty motel chain predictable, and (pet peeve notice) it irks me that they use environmentally unfriendly Styrofoam plates and plastic cutlery and glasses. Come on, folks; how much does a dishwasher cost. Nice place I would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff were great at the hotel as was the room. We were there for a wedding and the church was 2 blocks away and the reception was 3 more from there so it was very close. It's an easy walk to the french quarter and the hotel is right in the warehouse district a few blocks from the WW2 museum. The only complaint was that we were on the top floor and we never had really hot water to shower with. I'm guessing it was due to the number of guests was low and the demand for hot water was down and by the time it got to us it had cooled down quite a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTHammer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a great hotel for location but as far as anything else it was lacking. Upon check-in, the customer service was lacking. If you asked ANY of the front desk staff a question, they seemed put out. I was bothered by this since they were one of the host hotels.
The rooms are VERY small and dingy. They need an update. The beds are horrible. I would have much rather slept on the couch, oh wait, I did!
If this hotel was updated and had more customer service, I would consider staying here; otherwise, I would spend another $20 a night and go down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here twice. Roomy suites, right on a parade route during MG. Free food, wine and beer on Thursdays! There is a small pool. Free fantastic breakfast in the mornings!
Easy walk to Casino ,French Quarter, Street Car, Riverwalk!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovemardigras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Homewood Suites New Orleans
#81 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Property: Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing