We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Too Laid back and Understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Ranked #84 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little Too Laid back and Understaffed”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staybridge Suites is an excellent example of New Orleans' laid back attitude. Almost a little too laid back. We arrived in the middle of the Essence Festival in July. Check in is at 4:00, which we did not know when my weary party arrived at the Suites. We were told that many guests had requested a late checkout and our room was not ready yet. We stowed our bags and navigated the vicinity for an hour or so before returning and waiting another 2 hours for a room. We finally begged the sole staffer at the front desk, which was now overrun by restless guests, to give us a room. Luckily she did, although she claimed (rather unconcerned but polite) that there were many other guests who had been waiting longer than us.

Maybe it's my 'big city' attitude but where I'm from, if you know there is an event in town with large crowds of people you overstaff. They seemed to have the same skeleton crew for the weekend that they have during hurricane season. Why are you out of towels at 11pm at night when a majority of the guests had checked out the previous afternoon? Why does this not concern you?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    337
    109
    43
    45
See reviews for
246
234
42
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel is in a good location very close to the casino and a reasonable walk to the French Quarter and Riverwalk areas. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel and offer the benefit of a full kitchen. Rates were very reasonable compared to other hotels in the general area. For parking, the hotel lot was full but directly across the main entrance on Tchoupitoulas Street is a public lot that is very convenient and a couple dollars cheaper; I'd recommend self parking there and it's a short walk across the street to check in. Pool is not large but similar to many of the other hotels in the area but the water temp was comfortable to feel refreshing after a day in the heat. Overall a good choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTraveler313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I live in New Orleans and we decided to stay at the Staybridge for one night. This place is in a great location to go to the Warehouse district for great restaurants and a couple of night clubs and then close enough to the French Quarter for Bourbon street and Flea Market. You are also very close to the Casino and Canal Place shopping and Riverwalk shopping. The hotel is not very upscale but if you are not looking for anything fancy this is a great place to stay. The room had a queen bed, pull out sofabed, full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, and kitchen amenities. They also serve a free continental breakfast which was pretty good. If you are trying to stay close to everything and not have to eat out for every meal this would be great if you are on a budget. There is a Rouses grocery store in the French quarter also one near the Superdome. Since we only stayed one night we didn't have much contact with the staff and didn't utilize the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewOrleansMmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My first stay ever at a Staybridge Suites and it was a good one. This place is a perfect location I think - steps from the French Quarter. So you're close to all the fun without all the crazy that comes with it. The rooms are a great size, the staff is friendly. They have complimentary breakfast which I'm generally not a fan of, but I could see the staff took great pride in the food & have to say they were the best scrambled eggs I've ever had at a complimentary hotel breakfast. The pool area was charming.
We were there for a convention and had a goal of eating at as many places as we could without bursting, so here are my recommendations: For sure eat at Acme Oyster Bar, Cafe Du Monde, Domenica, Herbsaint. Don't waste your money on: Brennan's Not great, but not bad either: Mother's

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

During our family reunion stay, the hotel made a withdraw from my credit card two weeks prior to my arrival, calling it a deposit. This "deposit" was not mentioned during the booking. Parking was $33 a day separate from room billing. Our rooms were not cleaned daily and no instructions on room cleaning requests were given. We requested towels after not receiving room cleaning, we never received them. Upon departure, my final bill did not reflect the early "deposit" the hotel made and the ink ran out while printing leaving the clerk with writing in totals.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dockerydock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Dockerydock,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Staybridge Suites New Orleans. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel is close enough to walk to the French Quarter and far enough that you can enjoy a quiet evening too. The rooms were well appointed and four of us comfortably shared a 2-bedroom suite with kitchenette. On certain days, the hotel observes "Happy Hour" and free wine, beer, and food is served in the dining area. Breakfast was also excellent!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends, you might want to ask about their two bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Great hotel, great location, free breakfast free dinner 3 nights a week!! Kitchenette in all of the rooms! Very convenient to Bourbon Street, and the French Quarter! Bridget Evans is amazing, she works the sundown receptions at night....make sure you say hi when you are here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 163 in New Orleans
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Property: Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing