We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location... Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Ranked #127 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location... Location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel was in a great location. Husband and I in our late 60's., we had a 2 bedroom but only 1 bathroom.The bathroom is not great... Step up into large round tub which takes a lot of water to fill it. If you turn lights on bright you will she mold and crackers in around the top of tub... Shower head had a constant drip. Last night there we heard dripping sound.. Water was dripping down the wall behind toilet from floor above us. Place was old but furniture clean. The manager Ray is outstanding and very friendly. He directed us to places to eat.. Music and tours.. He is for sure there greatest asset to the hotel. We have stayed at other timeshares .. This one does not meet up to those standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    28
    19
    23
See reviews for
49
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is written after staying there for 1 week beginning Sept 27, 2013. We would rate the overall experience as 1 star at most and would never stay there again. The maintenance of the 2 bedroom suite is very poor with light bulbs missing from chandelier, kitchen counter backstop separating, doors all chipped at the bottom and mirror frame in bathroom wood exposed. The dishwasher in kitchen is sticking out into the room by 5 inches and not properly installed. Kitchen tile is cracked, loose and grout coming up. The second bedroom has no heat/AC register so the door has to stay open for cooling. The bathroom heat lamp in ceiling is missing the bulb. The shower once adjusted changes from very hot to almost cold and no hot water by mid-morning.
Maid service is very very poor. Bathroom floor is not mopped, toilet is not cleaned, and sheets not changed daily. When asked about cleaning toilet was told that is not part of daily service. We noticed that there was toilet plunger in bathroom for guest to use, but no toilet brush. No maid service by 3 PM so called desk. Maid came up and took out the trash and towels. She pulled up cover on the bed but did not make the bed. Had to go back down to the desk and ask for replacement towels. Maid took the trash out and placed it in the hall outside the room door. Trash was still there the next morning.

Elevator problems.
The elevator indicator lights did not work from the first day we were there. These are the lights that tell you what floor is selected, what floor the elevator is on and what direction the elevator is moving. The elevator was inoperable from Wednesday morning until after we left on Friday. The first day there were no signs indicating the elevator was out of service on the above ground floors until I walked down to telling someone at the front desk.
The good things at this hotel were that the furniture appeared to be new and in very good condition. The Kitchen was very well equipped with dishes, pots and pans and other small appliances. The free WiFi signal was very strong in the room but had to be rebooted several times each day. The hotel is located only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance from many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1287Billk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Recently I traded my timeshare for a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. Newstled between all the tall, extremly expensive hotels in the warehouse/arts district of New Orleans, you find this century old building that is the Hotel de L'Eau Vive. It is coviently located near Canal where if you are limited in how far you can walk, you can catch a tram up canal or along the river that will take you to most of the places you may want to go to in the French Quarter. While I agree that the hot tubs are not the most exciting things (they should glaze them instead of paint them), showering was quite spacious. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. My only complaint would be that they advertize a pool, but it is no bigger than a huge tub. Oh by the way the Hotel should upgrade its lobby, it gives a bad impression.

Room Tip: Living rooms have couches (sofas) with fold out beds. So a 2 bedroom sleeps six comfortably. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 928Nancyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I traveled with my cousin and her husband. We had never been to New Orleans so we were hoping for the best with the hotel. We had a GREAT stay! I will say that "picky" people may not like this place but for me we were very comfortable. I can say that the rooms needed some updating but nothing bothered us. The staff was very accommodating and nice. We were within walking distance to the french quarters, bourbon st. and the art district. You are also right by Mother's which has amazing Ferdi sandwich you have to try! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel de L'Eau Vive with 3 of my favorite girls! When we first arrived we were a little unsure of the hotel. The lobby could use some attention, but we were greeted with smiles from the staff. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised. While the furnishings weren't the fanciest, we had everything that we needed. Four girls and one bathroom took some scheduling, but we managed and had a wonderful trip. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially a family or small group. The rooms are spacious and the staff is extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My mom was in town and stayed here, we're locals, she's not. First, we thought her room would be in the main hotel, which is a historic building. It wasn't. We were relegated to the 1960s awful building next door which is not in the historic building and there is a paid parking lot dividing the two buildings. Our room, was up a step that requires a ramp to lift your luggage through the door. My mom is in her 70s so that was the first hiccup. Our room was "behind the elevator". You go down a hallway, to the elevator, through the elevator, onto the back side. The room had no windows and a little courtyard surrounded by 8ft. cinderblock walls. It's not pretty and they're doing massive construction on the building next door. All we could hear was the construction sounds. The room was 1980s fabulous and had nothing historic or a New Orleans vibe about it. 3 dark rooms and the 3rd room, didn't even have access to the courtyard, though it overlooks it with 1980s steel glass windows. To use the pool, we had to go thru the elevator, back down the hallway, step down the ramp step, walk past the paid parking lot (not related to the hotel, as the hotel has no parking) and into the next building. The "pool" is tiny, no bigger than a large hotub, children's pool, that's super shallow. The rooftop was closed, for construction, so there was no access to that. You can't see anything from up there anyways, because it's surrounded by taller buildings, so there's no view. The staff was nonexistent other than housekeeping. The main lobby is rarely, if at all staffed. Housekeeping staff was great, but we barely needed them. If you're visiting New Orleans and don't plan to stay in your room, then this is the place for you. It's close to Harrah's and the river and French Quarter. If you plan on spending time in the room, this isn't the place at all. It's not a get away, unless you like 1980s furniture, cinderblock and no windows.,

Room Tip: Stay in the historic side or not at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NolaDru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Moved from first room that had ROACHES and BUGS. Dark, smelly, no air ventilation, cracked tile in shower that had a 3 ft. step over to get in. Asked to be moved to a different room. Not much better (see photos, should have taken photos of 1st room). Had to call the office several time after midnight for noise made from other guest several nights.
Was told owner would be sitting in lounge in a.m. to talk him. He was there each morning reading the paper, ignored us. Tried to make the best of our trip outside this HORROR HOUSE. People we book with would not accommodate us to a better location. Ran into a couple that saw their room and immediately checked out. Another couple that stayed brought Lysol to disinfect their room, that had stayed there before.

Room Tip: Good Luck, maybe you are friends with the owner and can get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetteandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New O...
#106 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Central Business District
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
#128 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#123 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#68 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#79 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Eau Vive

Property: Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Address: 315 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2430
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Eau Vive 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de L'Eau Vive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Eau Vive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing