We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$279
$269
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$215
$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
$243
$229
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$296
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$392
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$343
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
20
53
31
21
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
53
31
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomfull kitchenspa tubwithin walking distancefrench quarterdaily maid serviceexposed brickabsolutely stay here againper daygreat roomcouple blockscanal stunitharrahs2brriverwalkcharm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 148 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just spent a week in Hotel de L'eau Vive. We were in a three room suite in the annex next to the main hotel. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed to relax while we explored in and around New Orleans. Each bedroom, and the living room, had flat screen TVs. The master bedroom had a king bed...the other two had queens. The second bedroom had no closet or windows...but was very quiet. The third had a closet and window...though you only got light and no views. The master bedroom had a nice closet, a bathroom and a window from which you had views of Tchoupitoulas Street. The drawback was that it was easy to hear the noise from below. We conquered the noise by having the fan run continuously at night. The bedroom TVs were very small...had trouble seeing the channel numbers...but they did work well. .....The kitchen was fully equipped with appliances, but was short on some of the cooking utensils. There were plenty of glasses and plates. .....The chairs/couches were comfortable and there was a dining table with chairs.

There is an elevator and fire stairs...if you need the exercise.

The WiFi was hit and miss...missed most of the week. We could go to the coffee room (they call it the reading room) in the main building and get Internet access at any time. There was coffee and copies of the local newspaper each morning in the reading room, and pastries on Sat-Mon mornings.

We had maid service each day. She made our beds, took out the trash, brought us fresh towels when requested, and tidied up every morning...which was excellent!!

In the main hotel there is a washer and dryer...$1 in quarters per wash load...and $1 in quarters per dryer load...however, I was able to dry two loads on the first $1. This is one thing I wished they had available in the annex too! They have a very small swimming pool behind the main building...excellent for sitting in to cool off, but not large enough to swim in. There is a outside terrace on the top floor of the main building.

On the location... It is perfect!! You are about 100 yds from the trolly stops. We enjoyed riding the air-conditioned often during our stay...we bought a three day pass for the first part of our stay and then one more day late in the week. We found we could easily walk to and from the French Quarter from our hotel, and considering the quality of the food in the many nearby restaurants, walking did us good. the WWII and Civil War museums were about four walking blocks away.

We drove in and had to park our vehicle. This was our greatest concern...since the hotel has no parking and the nearby options were $25 dollars per day. There were $15 per day options, but the were a ways off and not very secure. The hotel did offer...and we took it...to give us a card to access a nearby secure parking deck at $20 per day. The advantage was that we could enter and level the parking deck as often as we liked. It was a short walk from the hotel.

As for the staff at the hotel, they were very friendly and willing to help us with all our needs and questions.

All in all, we found the site to be a very good place to stay and will certainly stay here again the next time we visit New Orleans!

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the main street will offer quieter sleeping.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Like many of the other reviewers I was a little hesitant about staying here because of the mixed reviews but decided to take a chance because the price was right. It's not perfect but it is not awful, filthy or any of the other terrible things that have been posted. It is a very old building, it's New Orleans folks and it could certainly use some updating but all in all our stay was fine.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, 302, and it hasn't been totally updated but it was clean, the beds are comfortable and the furniture is not bad. I love the exposed brick and the big windows in the living area and the front bedroom. I wish the larger bed had been in the front room but I understand the back bedroom is considered the master because of the location to the bathroom. The weirdest part of the entire unit is the spa tub but again, it wasn't bad.

The pool area is small but the pool was clean although I didn't have a chance to use it. The rooftop "terrace" needs work and UMBRELLAS, it's unbearably hot up there without some shade.

The lack of parking is a bit inconvenient but there are plenty of lots within walking distance so again, it's not terrible.

This property is typical of a lot of places in New Orleans, it has a lot of character but if you want shiny, new then stay in Metaire (which isn't New Orleans at all) or one of the high rise hotels on Canal Blvd. And as for the reviewer who flipped out over a roach...again, this is New Orleans, it's below sea level folks, it's the norm and that doesn't mean a place is filthy.

Everyone at the property was very nice and helpful and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms in the annex building but I understand those have been renovated and may be more desirable than other units. Units facing S. Peters will be noisy so if that bothers you ask for another location.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bking00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We too stayed in the Pandora room. We stayed starting Friday, June 1, 2012. We were concerned given all the negative reviews, but found it clean and quite acceptable. We also noticed work being done throughout the hotel to upgrade its appearance.

The superb: Location. Right by Harrahs and the French Quarter. Easy walking to sites, even in the heat and humidity. Who could ask for anything more? Also, the staff. Very attentive and easy to work with.

The great: the kitchen, was in very good shape. We didn't use the oven or stove top but they appeared in good shape and relatively new. The coffee pot and microwave worked quite well. The kitchen had just about everything you could want to cook with.

The good: The furnishings were well kept but are starting to show some wear and tear. I'd expect the carpet to be replace in a year or so. However, it was clean and suitable, as were the chairs and sofa.

The average or less: The wifi was intermittent in the room. They kept telling us the connection was good in the lobby, but we prefer crawling out of bed, drinking coffee, and using the internet in the room to get it over and done with.

Also, we exchanged into the hotel but still got a discount on a second room for friends of ours. They were in the Atlas room and found it as nice as we found ours. We really enjoyed the Hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OlderCodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel de L'eau Vive is in an ideal location and contrary to all the negative reviews is a clean hotel that is in the perfect spot for visiting New Orleans. This hotel is quite acceptable but if you are looking for the glitz and glamour of Las Vegas you should go elsewhere. My wife and I and my sister and her husband thouroughly enjoyed our 1 week stay at this hotel.

We had room 201 A in the Annex, a three bedroom suite and found it quite nice. It had been recently renovated and had new furniture and all the conveniences of home, fridge, stove, icemaker microwave,iron and ironing board, and even came equipped with dishwasher detergent.
Laundry facilities are available at the hotel. There were adequate linens for the bathrooms and kitchen.We heard the annex where we stayed has larger rooms and more updated furniture. The bathroom tiles and floor need updating. Air conditioning was good and each room had a ceiling fan. There were TV'S in all 3 bedrooms and also the living room. The advertised WI FI in the rooms was intermittent and reception was better in the mornings. The WI FI connection was much better in the main lobby. The noticeboard they had in the lobby was excellent and had valuable tips and information on what to do. The pool was not great and needed some attention. The roof top patio on the main building had a spectacular view of the city. Two of the staff members were particularly pleasant and helpful, Twin and Twila, they were always smiling and offered many valuable tips and what to see and particularly where to eat. Two of the recommendations they gave us for soul food at Dooky Chase's and Two Sisters were spectacular. Another recommendation of theirs was to try Frenchman St for music, this is where the locals go, Snug Harbor and the Three Muses were fantastic. Take a cab if you go.

Hotel de L'Eau Vive is is an excellent location, within walking distance of all the highlights in the French Quarter, close by you have access to the Street cars on Canal St, St Charles and the street car to Frenchman market. Riverwalk mall and Harrahs casino are a few minutes walk away. Rouses grocery store which has EVERYTHING you need is just a 10 minute walk away.

All in all this hotel met all our needs and we would recommend it and go back!!

Room Tip: We had room 201 A in the Annex, a three bedroom suite and found it quite nice. It had been fairly recently renovated and had new furniture and all the conveniences of home, fridge, stove, microwave,iron and ironing board, laundry facilities and even came equipped with dishwasher detergent.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank craigsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are into cookie cutter hotels, this is not the place for you. However, history buffs will love this place. It is like stepping back in time. All wood and interior old brick surfaces but yet has everything you need. Has a full kitchen and an excellenct location. Almost across the street from the Casino. You can park for free at the Casino if you play the slots for 30 min. each day. Has a really huge hot tub bath. Only problem we had was the bathroom knob was off but the door still opened and closed. Comfortable beds. As you can expect from an older building, it could have used a little updating but loved the atmosphere in the place. AC waas really cold and felt great after the 98 degree weather

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kittens9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews