We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfy home base for visiting New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crescent City Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent City Guest House
Ranked #53 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
austin, tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“comfy home base for visiting New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a great stay at CCGH...house, room, and the gardens were exceptional. Water feature right outside our bedroom window was a lovely bonus.

Owner Matt welcomed us in and was extremely accommodating, and the serve-yourself-anytime breakfast and snacks were a perfect fit for our laissez-faire schedule.

Most outstanding was the location and value - great, great, great! Easy home base from which to explore the French Quarter and also get a taste of the 'real' New Orleans' from the artsy Marigny and Bywater neighborhoods.

Loved it, and will definitely re-book when we make our way back to the Big Easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hildreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
25
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This cozy B&B provides all the comforts of home plus several unique amenities (look in the drawers, bookshelves, and pantry) that will make your visit to New Orleans care-free and enjoyable. You are only blocks away from some of the best music venues (Snug Harbor) and the incomparable New Orleans restaurants of the French Quarter and Marigny. Your hosts are SUPER gracious. If you are a first-time visitor, they will help you unlock the secrets of America's favorite city. If you are a returning visitor, you will have a slice of home no matter how far you have traveled. No pool or fitness center but you'll get your exercise by walking or heading over to Micheal's Bicycles to cruise around the city to parts too far to walk -- saving lots on can fare.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRTitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent a short weekend at Crescent City and we had a great time. It is a small guest house with four rooms and a shared common area. Nothing fancy, just clean and comfortable with a fully stocked fridge you can help yourself to at any time.

It is a 3-4 block walk to the edge of the French Quarter, we walked in and out of the Quarter many times over the weekend at all hours without any issues at all. There are tons of cool shops and bars nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OmarBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms are quiet, cool, clean and nicely decorated. The location is excellent - close enough, but not too close. You help yourself to breakfast which we really liked and the hosts were friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

I decided to fly into New Orleans on a random getaway weekend trip. Although I booked this place at the absolute last minute & my flight was delayed by a couple of hours, the owners (Matt & Lynn) were super patient and very accommodating! The customer service is outstanding. They are sincerely available if you need any help or information while visiting. I know the city pretty well, so after Lynn helped me check in, I went out to meet up with some old girlfriends.

A+ for the location! It's only a few blocks from the French Quarter, so this makes it wonderfully convenient. You can walk, bike, or drive. I personally walked over everyday so I could burn a few calories before stuffing myself silly with Cafe du Monde beignets. You can visit all of the tourist attractions that you want, and then retreat back to the Guest House located inside the relaxing neighborhood of Marigny. The neighborhood itself is pleasant with all of the historical homes and shaded sidewalks. It's a few steps away from Frenchmen's Street. Plenty of hip establishments to eat, drink and be merry at.

A+ for the Guest House itself! This historical house is beautifully done. There is a beautiful garden area in the backyard. I am an absolute neat freak, and I'm happy to report that my room was absolutely spotless!!! I walked around with white socks in my suite and they were still white at the end of my stay. The maidservice was wonderful, as there were fresh sheets for the bed, and plenty of clean, soft towels everyday. The pictures from the website are great references to the actual rooms. Everything you could need is available (cable TV, CD music player, iron/ironing board, alarm clock, and even a mini fridge). When I settled in to take a shower, I thought I was going to have to make a trip to the store, but nope- I found just what I needed under the sink!

There is a self service system for breakfast and snacks. As a guest here, everything in the common area kitchen is available for you. There are coffee, juices, fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese, etc, etc. I personally like this amentity because whether I am up at 4 am or 4 pm, I can get what I want right then.

All in all this is a fantastic place to stay. The price, location and cleanliness can not be beat by any chain hotel in New Orleans. Next time I visit New Orleans, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Matt and Lynn run a great little guesthouse. This was my second time here and this time I came with a business partner. If you like unpretentious, you will love their place. Everything you need for breakfast is there and the owners don't bother you. Be sure to check out the water garden around the block.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank picksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at Crescent City B&B as a solo female traveller. The value is super. The location is minuted away from Frenchman St and no more than 12 minutes from the heart of the French Quarter. The B&B is very secure and quiet. Breakfast is a help yourself anytime situation with a stocked kitchen of cereal, bagels, fruit and juices. The main livingroom/ eating area is well stocked with tourist info, maps, books on the history of New Orleans and New Orleans themed literature. Free wifi internet was also available.

The neighborhood is quiet and I felt safe. I visited nearby businesses like the Satsuma Cafe and Baywater BBQ which are off the tourist path and near the B&B. Tours picked me up at the B&B and Joyride bike rentals dropped off a bike as well. The locked and secure yard made it easy for me to have a bike for more than 1 day. It was also a very well tended back yard with a seating area.

The owners made sure my visit was comfortable and I had everything I needed, but otherwise I hardly saw them. It was like renting a small apt in New Orleans for a week. It was a great value, a great time and if I were to visit New Orleans agian.. I wouldn´t hesitate to book another stay at Crescent City B&B

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#50 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#50 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent City Guest House

Property: Crescent City Guest House
Address: 612 Marigny St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8522
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Crescent City Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing