We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Five Continents Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$159
$136
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$103
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$122
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$154
$143
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
122
23
5
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
23
5
2
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 158 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I came to NOLA for our 20th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Five Continents B&B. We stayed in the cottage in the back and had a wonderful time. The entire B&B is just wonderful and Peter the proprietor is very kind and accommodating. The main floor/dining room is just wonderful and very well maintained. The spicy omelet was my favorite and breakfast everyday was wonderful.

We did not have a car, but there is plenty of parking. It is a short walk/cab from the quarter.
We had a wonderful week and did not want to return home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

It was great to have you here for your anniversary, as you visited our wonderful city. I'm so glad you enjoyed the house and our breakfasts. I hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Five Continents for three nights in early October, 2012. I chose this B&B because of the cost and the good TA reviews. In the event, we were very satisfied with the experience.
We stayed in Asian room, which I understand is the least nice room. Having said that, it exceeded our expectations... a really large and comfortable bedroom with an adjoining sitting parlour. What more could we want?!
The decor of the house seems evocative of something old worldly... I imagine it's how houses must have been furnished in Old New Orleans. Breakfast was a sumptuous affair with fresh fruit, coffee, toast and scrumptious omelettes. Peter the owner was friendly, reliable and ran the house very efficiently.
As for location, the cost should imply this isn't in the heart of the famous French Quarter, but it's a nice 20-30 minute walk... exactly what I needed with so much delicious New Orleans food being a constant temptation.
If we ever visited New Orleans again, we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thanks for writing, it was great to have you all at the Five Continents. We always love you all from "down under." So glad that you enjoyed the house and breakfast, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in mid-July during a quick visit to New Orleans. Very convenient to the French Quarter and most other NO attractions. The house is large and well appointed, with private parking and lots of places to lounge. The rooms are creative, clean, and large. Very comfortable beds, great breakfast, friendly people. And a quiet neighborhood. Yes, the TVs are small, but if you are in New Orleans, why are you watching TV?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed there in the Eurasian Suite, two rooms and a bathroom, looks exactly like on the web site pictures. The funny part they have some Egyptian themed pictures there and Egypt is in Africa, not in Eurasia, but who cares. One thing the suite was missing is a good TV. The one in the room was so small - we didn't even bother to try it out. The beds were definitely old, not super comfortable but ok to sleep.

The building is old and well restored. It's quite and comfortable.

The breakfast was nice and the owner was very helpful.

The place is about 20-25 minutes walk from the French Quarter (depending where you go) and you have to walk under a freeway, so it's kind of doable, but I wish it were a bit closer. It's probably a quick cab ride, but when we called taxi in the evening, they said that we would need to wait about 15 mins, so either way it would take time to get there.

There is a gated parking behind the building. It's quite tight, so getting in and turning around was a bit of a challenge even with our Corolla.

Overall, this is a good place to stay, you'll get top notch service and everything you see on the web site. However, next time I'd probably look for something a bit closer to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heckfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thanks for writing. You are right about the Eurasian Suite. We've been trying to figure out how to rename it, since it does have mainly Egyptian/Arab/Middle Eastern and African things in it. Not everyone notices this little inconsistancy. Good to have you here and hope to see you again sometime in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to NOLA during Mardi GRAS. We were lucky enough to stay in the European Suite which is absolutely beautiful and huge. The room was immaculate, toiletries some of the nicest I have seen in bed and breakfasts and the towels and sheets excellent quality. This room is at the front of the house on the second floor and has the top balcony directly and privately out the sitting room doors. Petr was an excellent host and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived.
Wireless was ok in the room but much better in the down stairs African sitting/living room. Overall quite a pleasant stay for our first visit to NOLA. We walked to and from the French Quarter each day we were there and we're aware of our surroundings but never felt unsafe, and I am pretty wimpy about that type situation. If you have some thought briefly cross your mind about taking a cab to and fro, think again. On several different occasions, we tried to call for a cab with either busy signal or no answer. We were desperate to get back as it was late and hailed a cab on the "not recommended list". Big mistake, charged $20.00 for a trip that other services charge only $7.00, they didn't take debit/ credit cards as advertised and we were driver God knows where to a sketchy craphole gas station to use the $4.00 ATM to get cash to pay the driver.

I have read some of the reviews posted after our stay, meaning we actually stayed before the above posters stayed and would like to comment. My husband and I arrived in quite a large Ford Explorer and found the complimentary onsite parking ultra convenient. We had absolutely no issues, meaning myself included were able to quite easily navigate the straight as an arrow drive way through the gate and park. There were no issues with non opening, concerns about damaging our vehicle due to te width etc. Any driver worth their salt should be able to manage this parking area. I have certainly stayed in other B &Bs where you needed to complete a 52 point turn to exit. Not here.

I was happy to see that this wonderful home will be changing up their breakfast selection to align themselves with the offerings of their competition city wide. Additionally, other B&B's will leave wine out for guests to serve them self in the evening ridding them of the hassle of having to ask for it. These would have been my only suggestions for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thanks for writing and for staying at the Five Continents. With regard to cabs, normally they are quite good and prompt when called and the fares are consistent. At Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest things get overwelming for them and their service is indeed less than perfect. I have varied the menu a bit since you were here and the guests are quite pleased with the changes.We are considering the wine idea. In New Orleans, being the kind of city it is, most guests come in quite late and seem in no mood for more libations. But their are exceptions. We'll see. Thanks again for your kind remarks and taking the time to write extensively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews