We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Continents Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Continents Inn
Ranked #60 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the first B&B my fiance and I stayed in. After a little snafu with check-in (Expedia says 2 p.m. but the B&B's website says 3), everything went extremely well. The house is very nice, and the Eurasian Suite was plenty big for the two of us, offering two rooms and a big bathroom. The breakfast that was served each morning was very good as well. Peter is a very nice man and he does a good job of making you feel at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks for writing. It was great to have you. So glad that your first stay in a B&B was with us in New Orleans. I've been working with Expedia to get the information on their site corrected - thanks for the heads-up about that! I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    23
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
105
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This beautiful B&B war the perfect place to discover the beautiful town of New Orleans. A really nice manorial house, very fine decorated inside with beautiful rooms in a french-mediterranean style. Peter is a very obliging host, he gave good advice where to go, how to manage it and where to eat. Above all he is an exceptionally gifted cook. The breakfast was the highlight of our whole tour (we where a group of friends). An ideal home, elegant and affectionate at the same time. Anna

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you very much for writing. It was great to have you here. I really like the breakfast time as well, where we can exchange stories about adventures. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Five Continents on our first visit to New Orleans. I was knocked out as soon as we saw the European Suite. It was large and very comfortable, with a private second-floor balcony. We started every morning off with incredible breakfasts and a lot of excellent recommendations for things to see and do, both served up friendly by our hosts Peter and Walter. The place is within walking distance of the French Quarter, yet in a non-touristy area, and I was able to pretend I was a local for a few days. I can't wait to go back to New Orleans, and this is without a doubt where I'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I'm so glad you all had a great time at the Five Continents. So glad you enjoyed the European Suite and the balcony. It is certainly a nice place to retreat to after a busy day or night seeing the sights. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Five Continents Bed and Breakfast for a 4-day weekend and decided it was the perfect place for our stay in New Orleans. It was close enough to walk to the French Quarter or any number of touristy places and restaurants and, if there's a need for a taxi, one is there in five minutes. The rooms are full of charm and history; the home is clean and comfortable and welcoming; and I can't say enough about the yummy breakfasts. Add to all that two sweet and informative hosts - a perfect stay in New Orleans! PS A tip - definitely have Peter recommend restaurants to try...his picks were marvelous!

Room Tip: The European Suite has a wonderful sitting room and a balcony with a view at the front. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriac1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for writing. It was great to have you. I'm so glad that you liked the restaurants I recommended. I do try to check out as many as I can, especially the less well known ones with local or neighborhood character. I also get great tips from guests. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the European Suite, which was really lovely and very spacious. Peter, Walter, and Akko were incredible hosts and were very knowledgable about things to do in New Orleans, restaurants, history, etc. Breakfasts were fantastic and the B&B is within walking distance of most everything we wanted to see in the city. The perfect close to every day was having a beer on our own private gallery. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thanks so much for writing and I'm so glad you all had a great time. The gallery of European Suite is certainly a wonderful place to have a nightcap after a long day in our beautiful city. Can't wait to have you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Me, a journalist from Germany, stayed at the Five Continents Bed & Breakfast for four nights with a couple of friends and I absolutely loved it. The rooms are beautiful. It feels like living in a lovely old movie (but with the conveniences of the 21st century).

I especially enjoyed having breakfast at the big table in the dining room. Not only because the coffee and bagels and egg-dishes are excellent, but also because it is really nice to sit together with the other guests talking about the wonderful city of New Orleans, about life and everything.

Peter, the host, is a charming character, who gave us a lot of very useful tips what to do in and around New Orleans and where to eat.

Not to forget Akko, the most friendly dog I've ever met!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thanks for your very kind comments. It was great to have you here. Kommen Sie bald wieder! Akko grüßt auch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and small dog stayed in the North Amercan cottage,it was perfect for us.Our parking was right at our front door.Never moved the car French Quarter was in walking distance and we are both in our late 60's. Breakfest was wonderful..We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us and I'm so glad that you had an good time with us at the Five Continents and in New Orleans. I look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#63 of 139 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Continents Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Property: Five Continents Inn
Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Continents Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Continents b&b
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing