We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balcony Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel de la Monnaie(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Frenchmen Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marigny Guest House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soniat House(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Provincial(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn on Ursulines(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
132
95
28
18
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
95
28
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilk roadrestaurant downstairsfrenchman streetfrench quartermarigny districtgreat neighborhoodhoneymoon suiteminute walkevery morningquiet neighborhoodfour nightsvisit nolahome away from homezakguesthousenightlifeantiques
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 293 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Honestly, I hesitate to write this review for fear there won't be a room for me the next time I'm in Nawlins! Balcony Guest House is a great place: You know you're in Faubourg Marigny, NOT in Anyhotel North America. It is architecturally unique, with a balcony wrapping around the corner; the room and sitting area are nicely appointed with eclectic New Orleans furniture; and Schiro's, the restaurant downstairs, serves excellent inexpensive food and the easygoing wait-staff really makes you feel at home. (Good breakfasts are included for Guest House guests!) You've also got a laundromat, a substantial selection of beer and wine and a modest groceteria on the premises./ On the negative side, the bed in the room we were in - Room 1, I think - needs some work done: It tilts slightly to one side. But ... this didn't spoil our enjoyment of being there. Thanks to you, Zak, Steve, Rod and to the others on staff! Steven

Room Tip: If you like the sun, pick a room that has direct access to the balcony. (Though I believe you can access the balcony, directly or indirectly, from all the rooms.)
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 734Marrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

To be clear I loved this stay. My boyfriend was a little shocked by it at first (no clue what we were doing) but it was just what I expected. Just please know what you want and here is a lot of info so you know.....
Pluses: great value- on final four weekend was within my walking distance to the site and saved over 700 from the quarter. Comfy bed (new mattress?), generous with towels, clean. All the staff, wait staff/bartenders, owner, etc.were very accommodating and informative. Stayed in one of the smaller rooms but it was certainly adequate. Microwave and fridge. BREAKFAST- weekend full breakfast (omelets, b&g, pancakes, waffles) from 9-12 sat or 9-3 sun. Other days just open for b&b guests from 9:30-10:30. Good food! Safe area.
Caveats: this is a 10 minute walk from the edge of French quarter and a little less to Frenchman street. It is safe- it is also residential. People who live nearby on streets at night, lots of bikes. If your New Orleans is blitzes drunk with beds and souvenir cups than you need to cab it or find a new place- you would definitely stick out or be disruptive. This is an eclectic area and you are on top of a restaurant/bar/local store. And the restaurant can be busy. Bar doesn't stay open late although another one on corner does. Also, when driving in from I-10 it looks dicey at first- keep going south- it certainly gets better. Its a b&b so no big tvs. If you are uncomfortable in residential urban areas- not you thing.
Again- I loved it and it's a great value in my mind.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4- it was fine for two people.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank becksKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We had a great stay here in the Marigny. The area is fun and funky. It really reminds me a lot of Key West in the 80s. Great music, artist, restaurant, bar scene. Short walk to Frenchmen Street and just a little more to the Quarter. Everyone at Balcony was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was very tasty. Rooms were clean. Balcony upstairs outside of the rooms is very nice in the morning to see the neighborhood waking up and in the evening for a drink too. The staff can answer any questions you have about what to do where to eat and directions. Having a restaurant, bar downstairs was great too. Fully stocked bar with quick friendly service. We did not eat dinner here since we were always out running around. Remember this is not the Ritz. It is a great price for NOLA. The rooms are not huge and super fancy but just enough. Bathroom is small but worked out fine for us. Microwave, hotel size frig, and flat screen tv completed the room's amenities. We had a group of 7 and took all the rooms up. No one had any big complaints.

Room Tip: The double suite room has a street light that shines though the windows at night and might bother some people. The room on the center corner of the balcony is not as quiet as the rest since it has double french doors leading out to the balcony and more susceptible to noise. That's only if it noisy outside though.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalvernGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

unique-quirky...that's the general feel....until you open the door to a room that isn't clean, has a mouldy shower, and well, an odor. I wish I would have taken some pics of the bathroom to share---a $2 tube of caulk can do wonders.

On the positive side, you do have a bar/restaurant downstairs, and friendly staff--just need to clean a bit better. They do give you a free drink in the bar (maybe to take your mind off of the lack of cleaning). And the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked this B&B because it has a balcony and many of the Mardi Gras parades go right by the place. It was a great place to stay. The location is about 6 blocks from the French Market, making the start of your day great. Breakfast is served downstairs in the restaurant, a local place. While it isn't served until 9 or later, if you're an early riser, there is a coffee shop a block away. We'd get our coffee from there, sit on the porch in morning and then have breakfast downstairs. Or, if we wanted an early start, we'd walk to the market and grab breakfast there, or at the Cafe du Monde.

Our room was a little small, but clean and accommodating and we weren't there most of the time. The staff was very friendly, and pets are welcome! We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, but saw the master suite. If you plan on spending more time in the room, then we recommend the suite. There is a common sitting area, and the balcony is open to everyone.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reds_place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews