We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schiros -- and NOLA institution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #36 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Balcony Guest House is a part of a remarkable complex in the heart of the Marigny. Besides some surprisingly nice rooms upstairs, Schiro's has a bar and restaurant downstairs that specializes in tasty Indian food and affordable New Orleans fare. Next to it is one of the few laundromats in the area. Back in the restaurant, there is a liquor and wine store with a fantastic range of great wines at competitive prices.

When you think about, you could theoretically live at Schiro's/Balcony forever and never have to leave.

But that would be a shame since you are in one of the most vibrant neighborhoods in one of America's most exciting cities.

The one room we stayed in (with dog!) faced onto Royal, and we had access to the balcony through a door. Here you could sit and watch the fun on Royal while sampling some of the wine from downstairs. The rooms have been redone, with a lovely sitting area at the top of the stairs and beautifully refinished heart-of-pine floors. Our room was smallish, but comfortable. The breakfasts (served downstairs in the restaurant to guests only since the restaurant only opens for lunch) are great, especially on weekends when you can select from the brunch menu. Rates are inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, the room with the balcony that faces onto Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 284 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

Clean and spacious rooms. Beautiful balcony for early morning reading. All above a funky, eclectic convenience store/restaurant/bar/laundromat with great free breakfast and dependable wi-fi. We have already begun telling friends, relatives and anyone who will listen that they need to stay here. Located in my new favorite neighborhood in New Orleans (the Marigny) the Balcony is close enough to Frenchman St, and the French Quarter to be easily walkable but far enough to offer some respite from the constant verve of these hotspots.

Room Tip: We had room 3, but from all the pictures and discussion with other guests it seemed that all of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thetweedswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here one night in the suite. We arrived late, tired and travel weary. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The linens were soft and the beds comfortable and the room was clean. Bathroom had a nice shower. One thing they could provide in the kitchen area would be plates, glasses, etc. Hate to reheat food in styrofoam. Nice balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NOLAgal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Great Place to stay, right in the middle of the neighborhood. Staff very friendly, good food, bus stop onthe corner, advise get a jazz pass to ride the bus and streetcar to get around, can walk to Bourbon street,but from the guest house to the far end of Bourbon and back was 3 mile round trip walk, felt very safe walking the neighborhood, check out the cafe on the corner,also the market a block down,great pizza there

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinmomma67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a great stay at the Balcony Guest House, and can't wait to have the opportunity to stay again. The basics: we stayed Monday-Friday, just before Jazzfest, so the place was not full. Our room (no.1) was wonderful - the bed was very comfortable, everything worked well (A/C, fan, tv, fridge), we had two lovely doors opening out onto the deck (which we were often the only ones using). The house had a lot of character - beautiful floors, attractive furnishings. It was also a little creaky and occasionally rough around the edges (on a night of huge wind gusts I have to admit that the rattling windows did mean that I didn't sleep much - though it didn't effect my partner!). The service is excellent, though we were out too early and home too late to taste the cooking downstairs. We loved the lived-in, neighbourly feel of the Marigny and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smellymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We just stayed for our fourth time at the Balcony Guest House. My husband urged me not to give away our secret, but it seems only fair to Zak and the others who make it such a wonderful place to stay. If you love wine, you'll appreciate the retail wine shop downstairs with a wonderful selection of wines at reasonable prices. The rooms have refrigerators and nothing is better than chilling on the balcony with a glass of wine. Breakfasts are fabulous, but you can't be in a hurry -- this is New Orleans afterall -- the trains don't always run on time. Staff care about whether you are happy, and it's a lovely place. You have to appreciate the Marigny neighborhood, and not mind a little noise from Mimi's down the street. In my mind, a small price to pay and totally in the spirit of New Orleans. Balcony Guest House is a wonderful place for people who want an authentic New Orleans vibe, who aren't looking for a quiet, sterile resort and are ready to feel a part of the local spirit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

A group of our friends went to Mardi Gras 2011 and we stayed at the Balcony Guest House. What a great experience! They served us a delicious breakfast every morning, even when they were closed down for all other business on Fat Tuesday. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The employees friendly and really just made the experience great! The location is about 1 mile from Bourbon street but we would definitely stay again! Oh did I mention they have a full bar downstairs too and a complimentary drink when you arrive. Can't beat it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msferguson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 141 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#40 of 141 in New Orleans
125 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $115 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Silk Road NOLA restaurant (ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the Mississippi River. Historic, alluring and relaxed (Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing