We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely go back.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of India House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
India House Hostel
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I would definitely go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed with a friend in a private room with private bathroom and it worked out very well for us. For $25/night each, it was worth it to have our own bathroom, little heater and air conditioning. Slightly away from the courtyard, it was quiet and private. India House is a great place to meet people, with their common spaces, home cooked meals and onsite breakfast. They have everything you need from fridges, rental bikes, cable TV and even a pond with fish! The dinners were not that good, but for $5, you get more than you can eat. Location is very good, you can just hop on the tram to down town. We met people from Australia, Europe, US and all over, and the friends we made there definitely made our trip. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the room Bacchaus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    130
    58
    32
    39
See reviews for
4
64
107
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a lot of character and was clean enough. The staff aren't that friendly or welcoming. There is always something going on here and there is loud noise at all hours of the night so if you like a peaceful sleep, this might not be for you. The showers/bathrooms aren't the best but there functional. The common room/living room is really charming and cozy but the people using it aren't that friendly and there is lack of seating. The location of this hostel is great though and they do offer home cooked meals which is nice. The hostel cat has fleas but is friendly and cuddly! Would I stay here again? Probably

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Whilst not as bad as some of the reviews it's still pretty tired and in need of a lot of Attention. Attention to detail is totally devoid here in terms of backpacker needs. Scratchy horrid blankets, tired shabby sheets so I can understand the bed bug comments. Toilets/ showers not the Best. Top bunks difficult to get into and worse to get our of unless u are an acrobat. On the plus side decent cheap food and mega handy for the street car to get downtown. Will I stay again?? Absolutely not....

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank kagsie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Excellent hostel, located a bit far from Bourbon and Frenchmen St, but has amazing atmosphere and character. Great for young travellers that wants to party in Nola. The cheap homecooked breakfast and dinner are convenient. Dont miss the nearby Parkway pub for poboys. Had an awesome time here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

India house is not so much about the place but the people it attracts and the atmosphere it creates. There's everything here for the backpacker:-clean communal areas, rooms, showers and toilets; a functioning kitchen with plenty of refrigeration space; great low-priced breakfasts cooked to order; staff who are knowledgeable and helpful; a tv room and chill out areas both inside and out and free wifi. The website is accurate and if you look at the photos you'll see that it is also a bit of a funky, quirky place. If you have minimalist, designer, boutique inclinations stay away. If you are a fun-loving youngster, ageing hippie, or someone somewhere on that continuum then this is the place for you. Yeh, it's basic, but it somehow fits in to the whole NOLA scene. It attracts a great crowd of people and it is one of the best hostels for meeting up with people and doing things together. Of course, It benefits enormously from being in NOLA and the mindset that I assume people arrive with. If the location seems some way from the French Quarter, don't be put off: it's only about 3.7km (2.3miles), but the streetcar provides an almost door to door service straight up Canal Street and fares are only $1.25, or less if you have a day card etc. If you need a taxi it's still inexpensive at around $10, but better still just stay out till the public transport resumes. The last car of the night is around 0315 and the first of the morning around 0530! There is a top quality Rouse's supermarket a few blocks away, nearby bars and couple of restaurants. The area otherwise is quiet, safe and residential. By way of assurance, I've walked many parts of NOLA, both pre and post Katrina, including areas I was advised against and at night time and never had any problems. People are very friendly and helpful. Having stayed at another hostel on previous visits, I would always return to India House in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at India House for three nights in early November. This was my second return trip back. IH is consistently a safe and pleasant place to stay. There are several long term residents who add charm and class to the place. My one complaint is that the shower curtains in the main property are gross. They should not be touching my body while I'm showering and I should not need to put them back in place midway through my shower. I can't speak to the other showers on site. Benefits still outweigh cons by a long shot.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLottiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hostel is great, if you are young and planning on a late night (which is probably most people who come to NOLA). Awesome backyard patio area for socializing - food available, refrigerators for your alcohol, picnic tables & benches to hang out. The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful! However, the rooms were not in the best condition. Super uncomfortable beds, wood floors were cracked, bathrooms were only somewhat clean. Overall, I would still recommend India House - mostly because it was cheap, fun, and great place to make friends if you are visiting solo. Plus, the streetcar is located across the street - quick ride to Bourbon & Decatur (which I recommend over Bourbon any day)!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 33 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#6 of 33 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#9 of 33 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#7 of 33 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to India House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Property: India House Hostel
Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing