We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finding a jewel in b&b's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finding a jewel in b&b's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Sweet Olive was a beautiful find. The hostess Nancy was most gracious with her insights on places to go and see and the best routes to get there. Her breakfasts were always a treat. There was a print out of menu each day. Her house had many interesting pictures and furniture that complimented her period home. Our room the Palmetto has beautiful tall palm trees painted on the wall. Nice and cosy and was kept clean and tidy as well. We felt so much at home! The specially made soap also added a special touch.

Green Features: Uses energy saving lights, suggests using towels more than once.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
163
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Sweet Olive in February. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. Nancy, the Innkeeper was sweet and helpful with ideas for restaurants and fun entertainment. She is also an awesome baker so breakfast was a delicious surprise every morning.

The location was decent; About a mile from Jackson Square and Bourbon st. fun and craziness, and several blocks from Frenchmans St., another good area for great food and music. And, right across the street from a cool little theater called Cafe Istanbul where we got lucky and were able to watch a live showing of one of my favorite radio shows "The Moth".

This place was a great find for us we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our family stayed in the Oak and Magnolia adjoining suites. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with great decor, but the best part of the stay was the owner, Nancy herself. From finding music to delicious food Nancy was very helpful and had great recommendations. The B&B itself is a bit out of the way of the main goings on (still within walking distance), but that worked well for our family to come back to someplace a little quieter after enjoying the city's fun. We really had an excellent time and will return to Auld Sweet Olive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We arrived earlier than expected and Nancy was more than happy to let's check in early. Nancy is a sweet knowledgable expert of the area, she personally showed us on a map of what streets to take and which ones to avoid. The inn was beautiful we stayed in the Cypress room the bed was just right! The shower was a little small but I am a big guy. Loved the homemade soap. Oh the breakfast each morning was very good and I fell in loved with the peach jam. I am going to get me some on our next trip to the big easy. All the excitement was just a short walk from the B&B the first day we walked all the way to the casino which about 2+ miles away. Just so much to see the locals are very eccentric on Frenchman street!! The neighborhood surrounding the B&B also is very unique we felt like we belonged. Everyone was cordially we felt safe walking late at night through the neighborhood. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to New Orleans!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Panthro2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My mother and I stayed at Auld Sweet Olive in the Marigny district in January and had the most delightful visit. Nancy is such a thoughtful and kind host, and did her very best to make us feel at home including providing us with some great restaurant tips and delicious breakfasts every morning. The B&B itself was really lovely, with lots of character and a great communal dining room table which lent itself to interesting breakfast chats with other guests in a relaxed, social environment and avoided all of the stuffy formality of hotels or other B&Bs I have stayed at. The last time I visited the city I stayed in the French Quarter thinking that this was the heart of the city, however it was so nice this time around to be away from the tourist fray and in a quirky, eclectic neighborhood where people from New Orleans actually live. One could easily spend the afternoon simply walking around the neighborhood enjoying the Marigny's array of unique, colorful houses, visiting friendly local cafes and ambling over to Frenchmen Street (10 mins away) in the evening for live music and cocktails. For visits to the French Quarter itself, this was a mere 20 minutes pleasant walk away. We thoroughly recommend Sweet Olive, for Nancy our innkeeper's hospitality, the loveliness of the rooms and how welcoming our whole experience was!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLW_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

It “only” took us a year to make it to New Orleans…I’d planned a birthday trip for my boyfriend in October 2012, but due to unforeseen circumstances ended up cancelling. Fast forward to October 2013 when I finally rebooked the trip and happily stumbled upon the Auld Sweet Olive. From my first interaction with Nancy, the Innkeeper, I realized what a special place I’d found. I asked if Nancy might be able to put together a birthday basket with some wine and other goodies for when we arrived. The only guidance I provided was a general type of wine and the price point I’d like to spend. The basket couldn’t have been more perfect. Pralines, beads, Mardi Gras favors, an umbrella (for Tropical Storm Karen that was making her way onshore), Saints gear and rain ponchos and of course, a fantastic bottle of wine. Nancy greeted us warmly, and instantly we felt like we were at a friend’s home. She is in her element as an Innkeeper, though admittedly, I suspect that Nancy likely succeeds at anything she puts her mind to. We were excited to see what was in store for breakfast, having read about Nancy’s deft hand as a baker. Eggs in the hole, scones, muffins, goat cheese tart, fruit, yogurt, nut breads, coffees, teas, juice...delicious. We dragged ourselves out of bed before 10am after some fairly late nights so as not to miss these treats! We chose the Olive Room which true to its photos and description was spacious, clean, comfortable and quaint. Loved the handmade soap and the fantastic bed linens and pillows! The private exit to the patio proved especially delightful for sitting outside in the mornings and for wine in the evening. The taxi service suggested by the B&B was great and inexpensive. The neighborhood was safe and artsy; we walked most everywhere including the French Quarter and the lovely and less touristy Frenchman street. I could go on, but suffice it to say we will be back to the Auld Sweet Olive and you should book your room today!…

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JADDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at sweet olive. It has an excellent location about 10 mins out of the french quarter and Nancy is great. She was very tolerant of our large family who had taken over the b n b and graciously met our needs.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelequalslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Property: Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2460 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7850
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Sweet Olive Bed & Breakfast is a charming 1850s Creole home nestled in New Orleans' Faubourg Marigny - right next to the French Quarter. Our guest bedrooms and suites, each with their own private bath, have been lovingly hand-painted by a local artist. Enjoy the gardens, the private courtyard, and our complimentary breakfast featuring coffee, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh-baked goodies and more! Think of us as your pied-a-terre in New Orleans ... a peaceful and romantic hideaway right by all the fantastic music, dining, and fun of the Quarter and Frenchmen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Sweet Olive b&b
Auld Sweet Olive Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing