We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in a Bed&Breakfast for our Elopement weekend in New Orleans. First I was not entirely sure if I liked the idea since I am not too much into the furnishing and style most B&B tend to have. However, when we found Auld Sweet Olive online, I immediately liked the place and we did not get disappointed. It is beautifully furnished and not over loaded set in a quiet street. Nancy is the most wonderful, helpful and sweetest inn keeper. On our wedding day the rain came down in sheets, but very early in the morning Nancy offered us her house for the ceremony and photo shoot and literally saved the day for us! She even prepared a wonderful several layer wedding cake for us! The B&B is very peaceful and quiet, we always got very good sleep and the breakfast that Nancy makes every morning is delicious as others noted as well. It comes with several different homemade treats like Blueberry Scones, Banana Bread or the wonderful Eggs in Baskets. I liked the privacy, but yet Nancy is always there if you have any questions, such as recommendations on restaurants or places to visit. It is a nice walk to the French Quarter, but we also explored the Marigny and Bywater which offered some great restaurants (e.g. Maurepas). The best stay we have had in New Orleans so far! Highly recommended! We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Couryard Suite which is more like a studio. Lots of room, very quiet, access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
145
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This little cute spot was all we needed for our weekend in New Orleans. Nancy was such a nice host and accommodated all the requests we had. The house in itself is just beyond beautiful, and the rooms was located nicely and we felt that we had more privacy that you would normally expect. The walk to the French Quarter was very easy and enjoyable too.

Room Tip: There is only 4 room as this little oasis, we stayed in the Olive room, which was just gorgeous.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nancy tries to keep the B&B green, so you could decide for yourself if you wanted new towels everyday or not. We liked that this was optional.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was initially hesitant to stay in New Orleans, but the location of Auld Sweet Olive is ideal. An easy and safe walk to the French Quarters, easy parking and such quaint coffee shops, restaurants and shops made for a very safe and enjoyable stay. The breakfasts that Nancy makes each morning are delicious. We will be staying here for years to come and can only hope that Nancy continues to run this B&B.

Room Tip: Magnolia and Oak room are adjoining rooms for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RToellner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to NO, and our stay at Nancy's lovely and peaceful home was the perfect counterpoint to the constant excitement of this amazing city. On a quiet residential street, the Auld Sweet Olive B&B was a perfect choice. As others have noted, Nancy's home cooked breakfasts are a treat. Great NO coffee, different baked goods each day and yummy egg dishes. The house is warm and homey, but not cutesy or frilly. High ceilings, wood floors, and nice antique furniture. We stayed in the Sweet Olive room with its huge bed and glass door to the front garden. There is a larger rear garden as well. Perfect location for walking to restaurants and clubs on Frenchman St, the Mississippi riverfront is not far, and the French Quarter, Canal Street and St. Charles trolley were longer but doable walks. We parked our car in the neighborhood and didn't use it again. Definitely will return to NO for another visit and will absolutely stay at Auld Sweet Olive again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. Nancy is the perfect host, the house is very comfortable and the area around is so welcoming. As for the home-made breakfasts they need a review all of their own. We will definitely come back for our next stay in New Orleans.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank garkilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location, walking distance from Frenchmen street and French Quarter, reasonable price, very good food, the hostess was very nice and friendly! The house was beautiful and the room was very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A group of friends makes an annual trek to NOLA via the City of New Orleans, and this year we stayed at Auld Sweet Olive. This is a great place, good value, impeccable service. Nancy is a fine host, fully available and gracious. She clearly loves making people feel at home. Filling breakfast, well-furnished rooms, comfy sitting room and garden, lots of books and tourist literature available. A local cab company comes in 5 minutes--really convenient. Great place for the Fringe Festival and Frenchmen Street, a nice walk to the Quarter. We walked back later at night and felt safe, though also liked taking a cab after a long day out. Felt right at home, and had some fascinating conversations with the diverse people staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,225 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,815 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Property: Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2460 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7850
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Sweet Olive Bed & Breakfast is a charming 1850s Creole home nestled in New Orleans' Faubourg Marigny - right next to the French Quarter. Our guest bedrooms and suites, each with their own private bath, have been lovingly hand-painted by a local artist. Enjoy the gardens, the private courtyard, and our complimentary breakfast featuring coffee, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh-baked goodies and more! Think of us as your pied-a-terre in New Orleans ... a peaceful and romantic hideaway right by all the fantastic music, dining, and fun of the Quarter and Frenchmen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Sweet Olive b&b
Auld Sweet Olive Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing