We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 11, 2014

On our first visit to The Big Easy I believe this was the right choice for a hotel. Located close enough to walk to the clubs but not in the party zone. The staff was very helpful in finding the best local restaurants and suggesting things to do. I do wish however the room request we made/reserved had been honored.

Room Tip: Arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,837 - 4,843 of 5,525 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

During my visit on Mardi Gras we stay in this hotel and it was the best decision ever! The fun never stop! Clean and updated rooms, good service, awesome food, and great casino! But YOU NEED TO MAKE A RESERVATION DURING MARDI GRASS AT LEAST 6 MONTHS IN ADVANCE. The place was packed! And is about 10 min walk to Bourbon st and 5 walk to the parade. So, you save in parking, also just located next to the river walk and the convention center! We had a blast! We walk out for a great Mardi Gras celebration and return to a Vegas experience, we are coming back next year for sure! See you there!!

Room Tip: Reserve in advance for Mardi Gras season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have stayed at Harrahs on several visits to New Orleans and it is top notch! The hotels ans the rooms are gorgeous, bathrooms are amazing. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend them to anyone going to the area.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room that is higher up and facing the Mississippi to enjoy the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MistressReagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I really enjoyed Harrah's. Service excellent, big clean rooms, fast elevators, huge shower.
Central downtown location easy walking distance to French quarter, museum districts, shopping. All day street car pass just $3 and main depot is just a couple hundred feet from Harrah's.
Played penny slots just 30 min a day to get free parking.
Will be back again!!!

1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TotalServiceHNO, Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Jeff H,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Harrah's New Orleans
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went to New Orleans a day earlier than expected so our French Quarter hotel didn't have a room the first night, but Harrah's was able to accommodate us with about a week's notice. The location was more convenient that I expected, especially being there two trolly lines meet and the friendly staff helped me understand the trolley system which made sight-seeing a breeze for the entire trip (thanks for that!!!). The facilities and rooms were very nice and I enjoyed the visit there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great luxury hotel in downtown New Orleans. The rooms are large and well decorated, the place is remarkably clean and quiet, the help is super, and the parking is free if you spend a few bucks gambling during the day. Can't beat that combination. I especially liked the large bathrooms, the really comfortable beds, and the first class service. We also had a great view out our window of the river and downtown.
We ate at their buffet several times and the food selection was good and served at the correct temperature.
Would not hesitate to go back there again as it really is a classy place. A lot of the hotels in downtown New Orleans are getting old and tired, but Harrah's is really top shelf.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The one thing I hate about staying in the newer hotels is that I can hear EVERYTHING people are doing next door. This hotel did not have that problem, it's built like a fortress. The rooms must have been newly renovated because they were fabulous. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I did not eat at the restaurant because I came to NOLA to experience the french quarter. It's about 3 blocks from the FQ so it's far enough from the noise but not to far to walk there when you get ready. I stayed in October so the hotel was pretty empty. The cleaning staff? Well let's just say I got one with an "attitude".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,649 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $214 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing