We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could have been better.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good but could have been better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We checked in around 1PM on 3/3/14 and out room was not ready. We gave the front desk our cell phone number to call when the room was ready and checked our bags. We got the call the room was ready around 3:30 PM and came back to the front desk. I had reserved a premium room but we were told non were available considering the room was comped I didn't complain much but I was disappointed that they didn't honor my reservation. The room, #906, itself was decent. It had a love seat and a chair with a coffee table. A desk and chair set, a flat screen TV, a room safe and refrigerator. The closet had several hangers, a robe as well as a ironing board and iron. The bathroom was a decent size with a seperate shower, a deep tub, a coffee maker and a wall mounted hair dryer. The view was of the parking garage which was another disppointment. we had a problem with our sink making odd sounds even if not used for hours, we would hear loud dripping sounds coming from the drain, gurgling noises and at times it backed up water into the sink from somewhere other than our room which was not the least bit pleasant. I called to get this fixed and it never did get repaired.
I found every employee we spoke to were very pleasant and everyone would welcome you back and ask you how you were. They seemed to go out of their way to be pleasant.
The hotel is about a half mile from Bourbon Street and the streetcar system is right across the street from the casino on Canal Street.The casino is a block away from the hotel and you can enter at street level or through an underground hallway. There is a Ruth Chris Steakhouse on the first floor of the hotel and several dining options in the casino part of the property.
I'm undecided about whether we would return. I like getting the type of room we reserve as well as some type of view from out window. What would bring me back is the friendly staff but with a couple of changes the stay could have been much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrysnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,950
    954
    250
    96
    70
See reviews for
882
1,729
337
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was my third time staying at Harrah's New Orleans. Since this visit was over Mardi Gras, I thought the volume of people in town and especially at the hotel might impact their great customer service. I was wrong. The staff at Harrah's is totally committed to providing guests with a great experience. Every time you enter or leave the hotel, you are greeted by an employee who wants to make sure you know you are valued. The rooms are clean, well furnished and the bathrooms are spacious with a separate toilet area. The casino is lively, has a huge assortment of slot machines and tables and very friendly bartenders. Every slot machine has a "beverage" function that allows you to order beverages without having to wait for a server to come around. What a great idea! I hope Caesars Entertainment will consider adding this feature to their slot machines in Las Vegas. Harrah's has a wide variety of restaurants and the food is very good and reasonably priced. I'm looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is really nice and in a great location. We were there for Mardi Gras which was really a blast. They were so helpful and really nice about everything you needed. But if you do not have a host at Harrahs you will not have water or anything in your fridge. The worst thing is the bath products they are cheap and nothing special. I really like to have nice shampoo and conditioner. With that being said the beds are great and lots of great pillows. The casino is a whole other story. Do not go here to win a jackpot!! They have to many people there for just a visit from other cities. It is not a local place. We still had fun and the host were awesome!! Just do not go expecting to win big.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greattaste50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have stayed at a few Harrah's properties around the country and this is one of the best. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. Every employee we came in contact with met us with a smile and a kind greeting. The concierge desk was very helpful with information and setting up activities. Harrah's N.O. has quite a few dinning options available if you are not in the mood to venture out for a bite to eat as well. We were comped our room but others in our group paid full price and they seemed equally satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jppatchoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very comfortable especially for free, they reminded me a lot of Caesars in Las Vegas, pillows are not as fluffy as I prefer but over excellent hotel. Ate at the buffet and restaurant which the buffet was good, restaurant amazing

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property, well maintained. Extremely courteous employees, and a great location. Room was very large, well appointed and well kept. A bit of an old school tv but still decent size and picture. We will definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank trailmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed at Harrah's after receiving free hotel nights from the casino. Had a great experience from the second we pulled up. Had doors opened for us matched with a greeting every time we entered and left. All of the staff were courteous and respectful. Concierge service personnel were also really helpful with any of our questions. Giant rooms and bathrooms, we ended up with a view of the building across from us as well as the business district which was still a sight to see. We stayed in a non-smoking room with a king size bed and a giant bathroom with a glass shower and huge tub. Overall, definitely recommend this to anyone that has the opportunity to go! Plus, it's a block away from Canal St. which leads right into the french quarter. Everything was in walking distance or a trolley ride away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing