We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Harrah's in USA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 24, 2008

What a terrific job all of your employees are doing at Harrah's in New Orleans. We have stayed in many Harrah's including Atlantic City and Las Vegas. You are the best. Your staff could not have done anything more to make us feel welcome each time we entered the hotel. Our room was wonderful and the sweet dreams treat delicious. Our room was always extremely clean and well equipped. The casino staff were outstandingt. Drink service was readily available, which is not so true in other casinos. The buffet was very good and the wait time was great. We found all the people in New Orleans to be friendly, kind and considerate. Many the hurricane has helped these people to live a more kindly life. Whatever it is we were truly blessed to have enjoyed this vacation with you fine people.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sully67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5,568 - 5,574 of 5,624 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2008

My friend and I (who are frequent Vegas/AC visitors) spent 4 days/3 nights at Harrahs and just wanted to let others know that the hotel is very nice - the rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are large with a huge tub and separate shower with great hot water and very good pressure. Beds are very comfortable. Linens nice and soft. Housekeeping kept the place clean and it always smelled fresh. Service at the hotel from the checkin desk to the doormen were extremely helpful and very friendly. As far as the casino, I'd say it was a good size and we didn' t find it too smokey - but then we were there during the week so therefore you don't get the weekend crowds. Large assortment of slot machines in all denominations - plenty of tables were open during the day and they opened more during the evening. We dined out - at Emerils in the CBD and K-Pauls in the FQ - both excellent. Had some very good dishes (only 1 we didn't care for too much out of 8) at Bambu (Asian food) in the Casino. The one thing we weren't used to was having breakfast cut off at 10:00 am - everywhere. But, you could order it thru room service until 11:00 am - and that worked for us. All in all, I was braced for the worst but was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casinovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

With the many choices of hotels in New Olreans, do yourself a favor and stay anywhere but here. Just returned from a trip to NOLA visiting friends and family and stayed at the new Harrah's hotel because we heard good things. Will Never stay there again! Rip off from the begining. We had reservations at the Ritz Carlton and changed a week before because our friends said to try the new hotel since we gamble and because of the proximity to the casino. We were very wrong. The rooms were small and the same price as the Ritz without the service or ammenities. There were no robes, no water in the room, no minibar in the room (even though the website said there was) and no turndown service at night. The restaurant that we wanted to try in the hotel by Todd English was closed for good and there was no where to even get a drink in the lobby. In fact there was nothing in the lobby except the reception and elevators. If you wanted any food or drinks you had to walk through the neverending tunnel to the smokey casino. When we ordered room service for 2 bottles or small (tiny water) they charged us almost $8.00 and included a 20% service charge. In fact 20% service charge was on everything from room service even though after waiting nearly an hour for a bottle of wine- I would've only given them 15%. When complaining that there should be robes and water in the rooms for $500.00 night we were given 2 small bottles of water and 2 robes, however the maid toke the robes the next day and were never replaced- either was the water. After gambling for 4 days due to rain and losing a considerable amount of money we were told that we would be comped 1 dollar for each of us!!!!!!!!!! Oh yeah- I forgot that the valet parked my friends car and broke the stick shift because it was forced out of park instead of using the button release and they said they wouldnt pay for it and we should get a lawyer!!! They wouldnt even pay for the towing. They claimed it was broken before it came even though they drove it up to the garage?? Huh? If it was broken how did you drive it if it was undriveable after??? I have never experienced a worse time or experience for the money. I used to live in New Olreans and travel there 4 times a year and stay at many different hotels, the Hilton down the street is a much better choice for half the price, I bet just about anywhere is a better choice. DON'T STAY AT HARRAH'S!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

I really enjoyed my stayed at this Harrahs. I had a corner suite which was very nice. The room was very clean. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and a separate shower stall. The bath towel were very soft. The hotel service and food were great. The people were great. I plan to go back and stay at Harrahs.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyladymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I received a free trip to New Orleans from harrah's and thought I bet this will not be the so great, trip included round trip tickets and hotel stay for three days and two nights. Best Hotel room in the world, was not regular size, nothing cheap in the room, luxury room. Suite is what they gave me, very impressed with the hotel and the good folks that work there. Was very happy with the exprience just wish it had been for a few more days cause there is a lot to see in New Orleans. Thanks from Donna out of St. Marys, Ga

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princessSt_Marys_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

The Harrahs hotel in New Orleans is one of the nicest Harrah's hotels that we have ever stayed in. The rooms are huge with a very comfortable bed. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and willing to help with any question that you may have.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasVegas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

My adult son and myself arrived at Harrah's New Orleans Casino (hotel), several hours before the posted check in time. We parked at the adjoining Harrah’s garage (501 Convention Center Blvd). It was about a 2-minute walk, vehicle to front desk. Hotel guest or not, parking in the Harrah's garage is free for each 24 hours with 1/2 hour of play at Harrah's Casino.

We were greeted by a hostess every time we entered or left the hotel, wishing us a good day, etc. The front desk always had plenty of personnel ready to accommodate the needs of guests. Although we were early and our room was not ready, the front desk clerk took our cell phone # and offered to call us when the room was ready.

We also had a great conversation with Bob, the concierge on duty then, telling him he looks like Woodrow Wilson. He assisted us with printing boarding passes and was knowledgeable of the area. Before we had time to leave the lobby, we were notified our room was available.

Our room was on the 20th floor, classified as a luxury room. The elevators were fast, plentiful, and of course required a room key pass to access our floor. Our view was of the CBD/Warehouse District, and of the Mississippi River Bridge, very nice. The two beds were comfortable, and the room was spacious. The bathroom has a separate shower and bath, and a door separated the commode from the shower & sink area. Towels, etc were all new.

The room was tastefully decorated. Although the TV was flat screen & HD, we never turned it on. Oddly enough, our voices would echo if we faced the entrance door of the room due to the length of the room foyer, and its tiled floor (the bedroom area is carpeted). There are lots of surveillance cameras throughout the hotel, and security is excellent.

One can access Harrah's Casino either by a walk through tunnel from just outside the hotel, which goes under Poydras Street, or just walk across Poydras Street. The restaurant "Richie" is within the hotel itself. Harrah's Hotel is the center point for the growth along Fulton Street, where other dining and entertainment choices can be found under the Harrah's shadow & tied into their Rapid Rewards & comp system.

Check out was even easier than check in. Throughout, Harrah's is a first class property.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Zoke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,806 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 166 in New Orleans
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
5,873 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,997 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $236 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing