We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always a Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Always a Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel staff takes very good care of its guests. The hotel is in good location to the French Quarter. With Ruths Chris, Mannings, and several other Restaurants down stairs it even adds to the exprerience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thuy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,450
    801
    202
    78
    63
See reviews for
733
1,440
276
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkville, MD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel was great!
-Very Clean!
-Fast Service!
-Close to major attractions!
-Next to the casino!
-Great view from hotel room
-Clean Bathroom
-Friendly staff
-Easy valet

Everything was clean and looked brand new! I would highly recommend this hotel for the price and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mastershakess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wow ~ as soon as you walk in the lobby you are surrounded by marble, lots of glass, and gold & stainless steel trimmings... so bright and gleaming! The front desk & concierge are very welcoming and eager to please (although, just like another reviewer commented, "they are sometimes lacking in facts"). Beautiful rooms; one side of the building has the view of the river. Compared to Marriotts & Hiltons, their beds are probably one of the best I've slept in at this caliber of hotels with crisp bright white linens. I love the bathrooms... it's fit for a king; marble-floored bathroom is huge with large tub, glass surround shower (a bigger/wider/stronger and pulsating showerhead would be better) and separate enclosed toilet. Nice big thick fluffy towels & toiletries provided. Flatscreen tv and small refrigerator. Try their buffet: it has great selection and assortment. We also stayed at the neighboring Hilton the week prior, I prefer the rooms at this Harrah's Hotel much better though. 5 minutes walk (depending how fast you walk) to either Riverside along the water and French Quarter. Don't miss the chickory coffee & beignets at Cafe du Monde! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay here would have been perfect except for one thing. The carpet was extremely dirty. We felt like we might catch something if we walked barefoot on it. The room should never have been released to rent. Although we had made reservations seven months in advance, they had a difficult time finding us a non-smoking room so we didn't complain that first night. The next day we talked to the housekeeper. She arranged to have it cleaned the next evening while we were out. It looked better but the carpet should be replaced

The good things-the room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was really nice. It was very large with a separate room for the toilet, so nice when sharing a bathroom. It had a large tub and a separate shower.

If you join the Harrah's Awards program, you get free wifi in your room at no cost.

The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcclureliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LACA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Attention to detail is everything................................this is where Harrah's falls short. I spent a week in NOLA with 5 other friends in 3 rooms. On the 24th floor we heard no complaints. This is also the room booked with the players card. Two robes plenty of towels and washcloths and the bed was made daily. On the 9th floor our visit was not quite as wonderful. Our room was not ready when we arrived (at 5:30pm) On the plus side the room are beautiful and the bathrooms splendid with a hugh soaking tub and separate shower. Unfortunately, we had no wash cloths, only 1 coffee mug and no regular coffee upon check in (and the coffee for the room SUCKED!). Day 2 we came back from wandering at 4:30 to chill and get ready for dinner to find our room had not been made up yet. So we had to pass on made beds in favor of showers before dinner. Day 3 my room mate had her bed made, I did not. WHO MAKES ONE BED AND NOT THE OTHER????!!!! Day 4 Good. Day 5 my bed was not made up????WTF? Our friends down the hall have robes, we don't. Our friends on the 24th floor have a Hotel notebook with room service, breakfast buffet info, we don't. Our toilette rocks when we sit down AND we ran out of toilette paper. Shouldn't the housekeeping staff check to make sure you have a back up roll? Maybe 3 stars is too generous????????

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeaniemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisaiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a wonderful suite overlooking the River. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. It was a beautiful day in New Orleans and our view was outstanding. Harrahs makes you feel at home and recommend this property highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajuncouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose Harrahs because I got a discount with my Players Card.
It`s a good looking hotel in a convenient location down by the Riverwalk Mall. Most of what you want to see in New Orleans is within walking distance.
I paid a bit extra for a river view and it was great watching all the ships coming and going from our window. The room itself was very good with a well appointed bathroom.
Don`t expect to get into your room early tho`. We were kept waiting for quite a while despite being told that the room was in the process of being cleaned and would be ready at any minute.
Staff are enthusiastic and friendly, although somtimes lacking in facts.
Good choice whilst in NOLA if you can get it at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Worth a bit extra for a view of the Mississippi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabbsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing