We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I thought Harrahs of New Orleans was fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I thought Harrahs of New Orleans was fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed Labor day weekend, I booked way in advance so I got a much better rate. They had storm issues during the week and I was afraid we were not going to be able to stay there. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. We are a total rewards member and have stayed at alot of different Harrahs and this one so far was our #1 pick. It was just beautiful from the lobby to the elevator to the room. This was our third trip to New Orleans and the first one where we could find a reasonable rate to be able to afford to stay at this hotel, and it was well worth it. The bathroom is huge, the colors used in the room was so gorgeous. The hotel is centrally located so you can walk all around the downtown area. We have won at the casino the last two times we have been there and it has a mardi gras theme and is so beautiful. Also I love that when you put your players card in you can order a drink from the slot machine and do not have to flag a waitress down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xaviersmom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,795
    894
    229
    91
    65
See reviews for
823
1,651
315
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Granddaughter and I visited in August 2012. The rooms are beautiful, the views from higher floors is special and the staff were very friendly and helpful every day of our 4 day stay. Location is great for touring the French Quarter. We took the streetcar which is only 1 block away to get to the Jackson Square area and the French Market areas. French Quarter starts only 1 block away if one would just want to walk to the sites. And in the evening there is an underground walkway from the hotel to the casino so it's very safe to come and go. We loved the hotel and will definitely stay here when we visit again.

Room Tip: I like the higher floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinLadyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at many of the Caesars Entertainment properties and this one ranks right there. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and always said hello as you ere coming and going. Bathrooms have a nice shower along with a tub. A great location that's walking distance to a lot of great restaurants and the French Quarter. The casino is every bit as large as a Las Vegas casino. Unfortunately the slot machines do not pay, AT ALL!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel was very nice, hotel employees beyond helpful, room was great with great riverview overlooking July 4th firework show. I
The casino was tight but thats normal. I did go through the tunnel to get to the casino which they say is safer but when you are alone in the tunnel by yourself at anytime, one wonders about how safe they really are walking alone. Yes, I am sure there is security but just the idea how fast can security get to you if you are assaulted or robbed in the tunnel. I started just walking out the casino door and across the intersection to get to the hotel.

I did have an experience with a homeless man, I assume he was homeless with his pillowcase full of whatever playing the slots beside me. I won a small jackpot and he started cursing me out. I notified a slot attendent and the man had taken off. She said, next time just push the help button if he does it again. I thought, that doesnt solve the problem the man is still in the casino bothering people. I went to the other side of the casino and there he was again. He came up to me and said something about you gonna win another jackpot which should be mine. I just left and went back to my hotel room and next morning was glad it was time to go home.

I didnt like the way I felt, unsafe inside the casino and in the tunnel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KraZynTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently attended a conference at Harrah's Hotel and Casino in New Orleans. Overall, I will say the stay was fine. The staff were very friendly and remembered me by name every time I walked through the lobby. The room was nice and comfortable. I had the pleasure of being upgraded to a suite so my room was a nice little escape. I was an early check-in and somehow the room had shown in the computer as ready but when I went in the room, it had not been completely serviced (i.e. dirty washcloths in the shower, last customers soaps still in the shower, trash items not emptied). I called the front desk and within minutes the housekeeping staff was there and had the room serviced for me.

The convention center space looks very nice for the conference that I was attending. However, the internet was painfully slow throughout the convention center. The rooms we were in had a projector that was not functioning properly and could not be focused. While the staff was very gracious and replaced it with a newer one, the inconveniences slowed the pace of the conference and got it off to a bit of a rocky start. If they update their network infrastructure and audio/visual equipment it would help the rating on this location tremendously. As a business traveler I rely on my ability to communicate via the internet and this was very much an issue here. It just didn't seem like a Harrah's standard of service.

As far as the location goes, all I can say is that you are within walking distance of great entertainment and great food. Bourbon street is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel, several great restaurants are within less than 5 minutes walk.

All in all, nothing just overwhelming with this hotel/convention center. I would stay here again, but if I was presenting I would make sure I had my own wireless hotspot and my own projector. Yikes!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpressly2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Excellent hotel stay. Very good location with lots of attractions nearby. Hotel well managed & maintained. Very good staff that are very helpful & friendly. Rooms are very nice also. The business center has free computers/printer that can be used 24/7

Room Tip: Upper floor riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. The employees were very friendly, each time we passed the front desk they would say have a good day. We like to gamble so stopped in the casino often on way back from wandering the French Quarter. The hotel's proximity to the streetcar stop came in handy also. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#4 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,114 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing