We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Stay”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very nice hotel & located in a very good place. The rooms are excellent & the property is well maintained & managed. Easy parking & next to the Casino.

Room Tip: Upper Floors Quarter Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,228
    1,003
    269
    105
    73
See reviews for
970
1,873
368
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed for a conference at this hotel. It is within walking distance to the French Quarter and right near the Riverfront. It is connected to the Casino, of course, and the Casino is nice.

The lobby is not huge, but the staff is friendly. I had reserved a king room. I was told on checking in that they did not have any more king rooms. I was told I had no choice but to take 2 queens as there were no upgrades available. At least they gave me a higher floor facing the river.

The room was nice. The TV, fridge and safe are well hidden in a closet like area facing the bed. Next to it is the actual cost. The room stayed cool and you could hear very little noise. Housekeeping did a good job. The bed was very comfortable. The only downside is there is no desk at all. Bathroom was large with a stand up shower and a nice tub as well.

Plenty of places to eat. Either walk to the French Quarter, of course, or there is plenty right there either in the Casino or near the casino. Mother's is just a block away, too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to book the hotel for the 3days weekend during recent Mardi Gras....what a crazy time in Nola!

Very nice, clean, good location for visitors to New Orleans, walking distance to the French Quarter, the famous, crazy Bourbon Street & minutes away from the pier, and the famous Cafe Du Monde. If you are not a gambler, but a shopper like me, the mall, and Saks Fifth Avenue is right across the street! Location wise, can't not beat!

Friendly & courteous staffs, greet you everytime you pass by, any question you might have, they are there to answer to the best of their knowledge. Rooms are roomy, clean, no bad smell, even house keeping staffs are nice & friendly. We were upgraded to the suite due to our "high roller" friends that were with us! The suite was awesome! Very spacious...beautifully decorated, all the essentials you need for your stay. Bed is comfortable, sheets are very clean & nice, smell great. Bathroom is huge, shower is huge & strong water pressure. Remind me of all the nice hotels that I've been in Vegas. If you play a to a certain limit, the casino sure will fix you up good w the hotel...Lots more benefits... I used the free business center, free internet, free printing....

Ruth Chris restaurant is nothing to ride home about since we are from Houston w. lots of good steak houses. But if you want a nice meal, try the Besh Steakhouse in the Harrah casino, all the dishes were delish...deserts are wonderful, price is a little pricey, but where else is not in this city? The Bambu restaurant serves great Asian dishes, to my standard since I'm Asian & have tried all great Asian dishes in Houston, still, this place is very good. They even have real shark fins soup, which is a bit expensive, but of course, when they serve you the real thing, it's $60/bow serving 4person.

Do not wast your money on the buffet in the casino! So bad! Omg...no word to describe...Please do not eat here!

Overall, great hotel to stay during your visit to New Orleans, if you are registered or play with the casino, you are for sure will be getting lots of their perks (upgrade rooms, free parking...) Had a great time here :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Staff was terrible to deal with. There are much better hotels in the area with a nicer staff than Harrah's that are more affordable! Hands down the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at in New Orleans. Do your homework and you can find much better.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you ask for. You get what they give you whether you like it or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Beautiful room and lovely staff! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I've stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very nice. The location is great. It's a easy walk downtown and to the French Quarter. The streetcar line is also close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yadkinvalleycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Off of Fulton Street, I was very impressed with the Harrah's Hotel. The staff was very courteous and friendly ... they greeted you each and every time you walked through the lobby, inquiring about your stay and asking if there was anything they could do for you. I was pleasantly surprised with a Praline on my pillow the first night. It was the first time I had one, and wow ... I was hooked. The room was very clean and the hotel is in walking distance of all the great spots you need to see in New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,008 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing