We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is just too cool!”

The Spotted Cat Music Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spotted Cat Music Club is the Quentessential Jazz Club of New Orleans. Located just steps from the French Quarter, in the Faubourg Marigny District on Frenchmen St. "The Cat" has been a local favorite for live New Orleans music from Jazz, Blues, Funk, R&B and Klezmer.Internationally acclaimed as a TOP 150 Jazz Club and featured in numerous Films and print media, "THE CAT" features local musicians bringing the best the city has to offer!
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great name for a place, fantastic music. I just wish there was more seating but understand why there is not. But getting to listen to great music for the price of a drink is impossible at most place in the world. If you are in New Orleans, get yourself to Frenchmen St. and definitely take in a set at the CAT!

Thank RMarshall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas E, Owner at The Spotted Cat Music Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"drink minimum"
in 102 reviews
"frenchman street"
in 125 reviews
"no cover charge"
in 83 reviews
"small club"
in 15 reviews
"washboard chaz"
in 15 reviews
"jumbo shrimp"
in 12 reviews
"swing dancing"
in 11 reviews
"standing room only"
in 34 reviews
"piece band"
in 12 reviews
"limited seating"
in 22 reviews
"hole in the wall"
in 16 reviews
"great band"
in 12 reviews
"live jazz"
in 24 reviews
"traditional jazz"
in 11 reviews
"bourbon st"
in 41 reviews
"french quarter"
in 42 reviews
"bands"
in 140 reviews
Filter

948 - 952 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

....and I got it. All the boxes ticked. A great band playing. Good drinks. Great place to start or end the night. Everything I expected NOLA to be.

1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas E, Owner at The Spotted Cat Music Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Dixieland jazz, no cover. 'Nuff said. Come here. Period.
One drink minimum. Very few people stuck to that limit ;-)

Thank aerostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas E, Owner at The Spotted Cat Music Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Be sure to go to Frenchmen Street if you're in the mood for jazz and be sure to spend some time at the Spotted Cat. Lots of positive energy in the room, fun to watch the dancing or get up there and try it for yourself. We had a great time. One of the highlights of our visit to New Orleans.

1  Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas E, Owner at The Spotted Cat Music Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My first night, i wandered up and down Frenchman Street, this was the place that called me in...Shotgun Jazz Band was playing - very upbeat, jazzy jazz which inspired swing- dancers to put on a floor show for us...bought their CD. When i think of NOLA and jazz - THIS was exactly what i imagined and was not disappointed - it is small, think more bar than club, plastic cups, cash only - not fancy, wear whatever you feel comfortable in and jive away...now, different bands play every night, and i lucked out; i met a couple who'd been there the night before - on a Saturday - and they were disappointed...i had the time of my life and danced home!!!!
Also, at most of the jazz clubs, particularly the ones with no cover charge, the bands rely on tips/offerings from the audience to get paid..give generously to the ones who moved your soul...

Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas E, Owner at The Spotted Cat Music Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Cat Music Club also viewed

 

Been to The Spotted Cat Music Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing