We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the plastic lining!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarter House Resort
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and in-laws for about 5 days in September. The staff are lovely, very helpful and are very knowledgeable about the area. We stayed in a 2-bedroomed suite which was small for 4 people but adequate. It is in an excellent location for seeing the sights and for generally looking around the French Quarter. The décor is in keeping with the area in which the accommodation is situated. I have 2 complaints - firstly, we were allocated a room without any natural light and my wife likes to have a room with a window. However, we put up with that because of the short length of our stay. The 2nd complaint is that the beds were lined with plastic sheeting, the type you would expect on incontinence beds! I have to admit that there were many older people (which may explain why there was plastic sheeting) in New Orleans at the time we were there but that may be down to the fact that when we were there, it was during school time. However, whilst the beds themselves were very comfortable, the plastic was very off-putting and detracted from our overall comfort. Had it not been for these 2 complaints, it would have had a 4 or 5 rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and for beds without plastic sheeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 723 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

One bedroom was spacious, clean, comfortably furnished. Plenty of room for extra guest in living room on sofa bed. Better than average bed and bath linens. We appreciated in-room safe and flat screen televisions in living room and bedroom. Courtyard is lovely. Staff is friendly and helpful. They were always deep cleaning public spaces. We didn't get back from our daily touring in time to do Monday dinner or Tuesday wine and cheese but Sunday brunch with mimosas was nice. Perfect safe location in the center of the French Quarter just three blocks from Bourbon Street. Our best RCI exchange experience to date.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank TravelCouple22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I rented a one bedroom suite, and was advised it would sleep 3 comfortably... This was not a accurate, as the room is alot smaller than anticipated. Once the sofa bed was pulled out in the living room area, there was literally no more room. When they finally arrived with the roll away cot for the 3 guest, it was much larger than I anticipated and had to go in the kitchen area. It was very cramped for 3 individual guest. One Couple and a teenager perfect. If you want to be comfortable as individuals; I would suggest the 2 bedroom suite.
The Location was awesome, and the staff was very very friendly; the room was clean except underneath the sink, which has THICK COB WEBS. The drainage in the hotel is not that good; you will need shower shoes, as the water does back up as you shower. Which I hate. But other than that, I would stay there again. We paid $300 per night; which was extremely high to me. but I would consider returning if the price is right. Traveled to New Orleans for 2013 Essence Festival

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CORPORATEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Quarter House Resort in New Orleans is in the best location. You can walk to everything downtown and there are tons of clothing and antique stores a block or two away. The rooms are very clean, the decorations make you feel like you're in the late 1800's which fit right in with the city and the old esque feel. The concierge are very helpful, nice and will reccomend you anywhere you would like to go. We were not involved in the events that happened at the hotel but the people looked like they were having fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 5 other ladies and had a blast. The two bedroom suite was perfect. Just like an apartment. Great storage space and location cant be beat. Love the extra safety measure of having to scan your key for entry at night. Sound system came in handy when we were all getting ready for the night. Can you say pre party??? Lol. Pool is very small and can only be used for a cool off, not big enough for swimming. Staff was always friendly and helpful. I would book this place again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shamonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place is great. We arrived very early (around noon) to check in to our 2 bdrm unit. Fortunately, we had no issues checking in early so we unloaded our luggage and went to pick up the rest of our party at the airport. When we arrived back at the property, an attendant helped us unload more luggage and our experience began. This place is situated perfectly in the quarter, as it is right off Canal St. and only 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. We actually checked in to two adjoining 1 bedroom suites, so we had 2 kitchens, 2 living rooms and 2 bathrooms. It worked out very well as we had 5 in our party so 2 shared each bedroom and I was able to sleep in one living room while leaving the other living room area and kitchen for common use.

The highlight of this place has to be the architecture. Beyond the lobby is a great little courtyard with a small heated spa and very chilled pool. The pool was great after a long day wandering around the quarter in the insane humidity that rivals South GA. Beyond the courtyard are a couple of small hallways that lead to different wings and another small courtyard. The narrow halls sport a decor that speaks of the past and most of the rooms were named (ours was L'hermitage). There were also several wall hangings that told of the rich history of New Orleans and the property.

I've seen several people complain that this place isn't family friendly (kids and such) but I wonder what part of the French Quarter IS family friendly. I mean, everywhere you go there are bars, boobs and all sorts of debauchery. Of course below the Quarter House at street level, there are a few bars, one of which is a gentleman's club (aptly named The Harem)... and another one right around the corner. I found it rather convenient to have so many bars close by. (Skip Sneaky Pete's and hit up Back Space) Also, Daisy Dukes is at ground level as well and they have the fantastic bottomless bloody mary to go along with their fairly decent menu.

This review is getting pretty lengthy so I will just say that this place is a great place for a stay in the French Quarter. Perfectly situation and well appointed. The staff was nice ... the parking was ridiculous (but expected in that area) and the local attractions are beyond compare.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jonathan029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After a 14 hour drive, the staff check us in and got our bags in the room. We stayed in what they called the penthouse- 508. The bathroom jacuzzi didn't work but in the downstairs bathroom off the living room. The TV station kept going out so we only had two channels and they never came to fix it. The ceiling in the master bathroom was leaking from the ceiling peeling, and they have no oven. You have to pay $20 - 46 a day for parking if you driving in which was never told to us. Skylight don't work in master bedroom. However, the place is very quiet and the setup is nice. Alot of units for sale for cheap price. Climate control individually in each room. Breakfast is continental- cold food only on Sunday which wasn't told to us. But Bourbon Street is three blocks away so you can get to the party areas quickly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,701 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,370 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarter House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter House Resort

Address: 129 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $174 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarter House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quarter House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarter House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing