We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarter House Resort
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
louisville ,ky.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with another couple and it was an amazing room.Andrea at the front desk is really nice and helpful.nice people that work there. Everything you need is in walking distance. It was a great place to stay for a week.we will always try to stay here when ever in New Orleans.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stoney473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    200
    46
    28
    25
See reviews for
136
261
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Came with gal pals for vacation. This place is 3 old buildings connected rather ingeniously and extensively renovated. Good location in FQ.
Our 2BR suite: Master BR and juniorBR were windowless. I had the junior, with a mushy soft bed without nightstands or a shelf/mantle/hutch. One lamp did not work. LR was large, well furnished, nice sofas. Slide-out drawer for TV was broken. LR windows were screwed shut, street below occasionally noisy. Thermostat worked. Kitchen clean and nicely stocked with dishes, glasses, etc. Bathroom clean, washer and dryer worked. WiFi ok, could be a little stronger. Our key cards were mis-programed and required replacement 24 hours before we checked out(we'd paid a coupe of months in advance). Housekeeping was also misinformed so we had to seek service a couple of times during a 4 night stay. The hot tub and pool were very nice, the area well-gardened, we enjoyed one night's champagne hour.
Overall nice but with a bunch of small gaffs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here with 3 others in June. We had a wonderful 2BR, 2BA luxury suite on the 2nd floor that overlooked the courtyard. The staff were wonderful and wanted to see that everyone was satisfied. There was a free brunch, free light dinner, and a free wine and cheese party, all with live jazz during the week.
The suite was beautifully decorated, in a classic New Orleans style. Our suite had a full kitchen, sans oven, and a washer and dryer. Everything was in good working order.
Each bath had a jacuzzi tub. There was even a stereo system so you could play music throughout the suite. The rooms were spacious and the bedrooms private.
We did use the pool to cool off, it was small but lovely. The courtyard is lovely too.
It was hot during our week long stay, so we would go out and about in the French Quarter and then come back to our luxury suite to cool off and rest.
The location is perfect-inside the French Quarter and close to get the streetcars.
New Orleans is my favorite travel destination and I've come here frequently. The Quarter House is the best place I've stayed and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8157travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
525 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our unit was small compared to other places we've stayed, but, hey, it's an old building in a great location, and they had to use the space they had. Also, we traded a lockout in Maui for a one bedroom unit so we certainly have no complaints about the size. Our unit was located on the 4th floor (top) so we had ceilings that matched the roof line, which I loved. The building itself is built in square with a courtyard in the middle. The courtyard has some metal tables and chairs and a "pool" that is small and almost decorative, but there were people in it often as we passed. There are two elevators that we saw. One for the front of the building and the one we used for our unit which was in the back. The tall ceiling in our main room (kitchen/living room) made the place seem larger. There was a full size fridge, large stove and the kitchen was well stocked. There were a few things that were odd - the eating table was in the bedroom, the TV in the living room sat at the end of the sofa so you had to look at it sideways (but there was also a TV in the bedroom). The small bathroom had 2 doors at right angles to each other. One from the front room and the other from the bedroom. If either door were open, you couldn't open the other. The unit had only one small window that was in a narrow, short hall that was to the side of the bedroom and looked out on to a street that several buildings backed onto - not a great view. It was a great place to store suitcases. The bed was very comfortable. The location was quiet. The staff was great. There was no bathtub, just a shower, but that suited us just fine. I haven't taken a bath for years. They offer daily maid service, but we can make our own bed and prefer not to have people coming in all the time, so had someone only once in mid-week. They have a few things scheduled for their guests during the week, but we weren't aware of them ahead of time, so had already scheduled things. On Sunday from 9 to 10:30 AM they have a Continental Breakfast. They "opened" it as we walked by on our way to church and it looked very nice. There was fruit, bagels, sweet rolls, and I think I saw a pot of oatmeal, maybe not. The hand-out says it's accompanied by jazz music. We didn't see/hear that. They also offer a free tour of the French Quarter on Sunday morning. Monday they had a free lunch. We had a swamp tour. Tuesday from 5 - 6 PM they had a Mardi Gras Party in the courtyard with live jazz music and, I think, wine and cheese. We spent Tuesday at Chalmette battlefield and then went up to see 2 plantations and got back late, after we had stopped to have dinner, and the party was over. They have coffee near the lobby all the time, and a computer for use by the guests. It sits on a table so you have to stand to use it. They are happy to help with the printing of boarding passes for your airline. This is in a nice area. It's right around the corner from the Marriott, just about 2/3 of a block from Canal St. It's just a short walk to Bourbon St. one way, and the River is just a short walk the other way. We would stay here again if in the area. The location can't be beat.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any "bad" rooms. This is a quiet area. You may want a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Lots of pluses some minus - LOCATION is great - right in French Quarter but not noisy despite Gentlemen? Club right next door. Both of the men in our group were approached despite being with their wives or teen-age kids

We had two units and both on first floor which was disappointing. No view - and no windows in any of bedroom. Window in our 1-bedroom unit looked out on courtyard of hotel, window in 2 bedroom looked out to a street with drunks about. Because window curtains were mostly kept closed, time of day confusing - no natural light in units.

AMENITIES - kitchen set up great, full refrigerator etc we had stovetop - 2 bedroom did not but didn't do much cooking so adequate. Both rooms ended up with mouse (or mice) visitors. Staff offered to move us but toward end of week so we didn't move. Disconcerting but from country and understand in a City like NOLA with property like this (old and rambling) very hard to control especially on first floor.

Timeshare property but no hard sell. Also, maid/housekeeping available daily if sign put out in time. There were washer&driers in both units which we liked. Dried towels if missed maid etc

Building: it's OLD but they have tried and to large part succeeded in making it quaint. Most furnishings antique style - seems to fit.

Other: our one-bedroom had queen bed that filled the room - small nightstands and my husband banged head on mirror getting around bed. Needed chair etc but NO ROOM - closet had shelves for clothes but no drawers. Not what we'd expected.

STAFF - helpful & friendly - no rocket scientists tho

AGAIN? Perhaps - we were on exchange from 5 star resort in Hawaii - felt we didn't get good return for our trade but if we'd had higher room with windows it would be do-able.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajudy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Such a nice place for a vacation. Just returned from a week stay at the Quarter House Resort. Since we were four people and had two bedrooms and two full baths each couple had privacy. We could relax in the morning and make breakfast or sometimes lunch because of the kitchen. Housekeeping did the dishes, ran the dishwasher and did a good job cleaning everything daily. Having a washer and dryer was bonus. Didn't have to do laundry when we got home. Everyone working at the front desk was helpful and nice as well as Maintenance who came immediately once a problem was reported.
Location is outstanding because we were within walking distance to most places. All four of us agree that when we get back to New Orleans we will definitely return and stay at Quarter House Resort.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms near pool or on the street side. Inside rooms don't have a lot of windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, FL, US
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family has been visiting New Orleans every year for 20 years. We always stay at the Quarter House, which is right in the heart of things in the French Quarter. It is always so nice to come back to our home away from home after a morning or afternoon of rambling. The staff members are always friendly and helpful. I always count the days until summer comes and we can return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,910 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#97 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#74 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarter House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter House Resort

Property: Quarter House Resort
Address: 129 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarter House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quarter House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarter House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing