We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK LOCATION BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarter House Resort
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK LOCATION BUT”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed overnight with a friend 4/9/2013 As Harrah's was booked . I found the location " OK " for daytime roaming but as a female I did not feel safe leaving after dark . The suite was nice but small and the living room backed up to the alley where service and delivery started at the crack of dawn , which proved to be very noisey . It was ok to have a kitchen , but who cooks on vacation. There was a very small pool and an even smaller hot tub . There was one gentleman in the HOT TUB his wife sat on the edge and just dangled her feet in the water as she could NOT fit . As for the POOL it is a 2 Person pool and it stayed empty . This is a non-smoking property so thefor you have to leave your unit and go out in the Court Yard to smoke . Having said all of this I would never PAY to stay here . I was GLAD I was able to check in at HARRAH'S the next day

Room Tip: Higher floors here less noise . If you smoke or like to swim or use the HOT TUB while on vacation t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnphatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    219
    50
    22
    11
See reviews for
156
284
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fryeburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Agree the location is exceptional, the units small but attractive, the staff helpful, amenities top notch. The BUT is the noise. We were in room 109, first floor just off the lovely courtyard. We were awakened every morning by guests coming into the courtyard for coffee, cigarets, etc. or by the cleaning crew. Every night we were kept awake by folks in the courtyard - chatting, drinking sometimes till 2 AM etc. - by all means, get some ear plugs if you are assigned to that particular room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent the week of March 29th at this renovated hotel in the French Quarter. Location is fantastic....we parked our car at the hotels parking lot ($20 a day) and left it there the entire week! Everything is within walking distance or a short bus/streetcar ride away. Unit was a one bedroom, small but adequate for two, mini kitchen, small living room and bedroom with king bed. The resort offered a delicious welcome wine and appetizer hour, a yummy breakfast and a New Orleans mini meal on three occasions. Swimming pool VERY small. Resort better for adults versus children, but then so is The French Quarter.. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very efficient. Check in and check out we're flawless. One complaint.....wireless signal (free) was very inconsistent. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokomisgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Quarter House in French Quarter, NOLA, YES, I would stay here again (only been there twice) if the prices could match my May budget. Perfect Locale and Safety, Security, Convienance are at the TOP of the list. Great little "resting" place with personable service. The rooms and pool/fountain are top of the line. A nice get-away from the Bourbon Street crowd and convienent to CBD, French Market, Garden District, and trolleys. Great vacation at the Quarter House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The Quarter House is located within short walking distance to all the must see places, bourbon street, cafe du monde, Jackson square ... It is also far enough from the craziness in Bourbon Street. There are countless bars and great restaurants within couple of blocks radius. The hotel (I won't call it a resort) has a cute little courtyard where guest services host a free Sunday breakfast, Monday lunch, and Tuesday afternoon snack. The gym is pathetically small and a bit dated. You need to turn in your ID at the front desk in order to get a key for the treadmill. All staff members were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MellowtravelerKao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Quarter House Resort is a quaint New Orleans hotel located in the middle of EVERYTHING! Room 303 could use a bit of sprucing up, but the unit was very clean and neat. The staff where friendly and very helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pboulanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arabi, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We reserved this room through RCI and the best thing about our stay was the historic lovely decor. Our room had a gorgeous chandelier in it and lovely paintings. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious.
The resort has a charming garden area with a pool and small jacuzzi. The staff was kind and they did have reasonable rates for overnight parking a few blocks away. I highly recommend you take advantage of the overnight parking. We ended up getting a parking ticket, as usual!
We enjoyed our romantic get-away weekend right in the French Quarter! I would stay here again. I guess I just give it an average rating because it doesn't have a lot of "extra" features.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,112 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
1,622 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarter House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter House Resort

Property: Quarter House Resort
Address: 129 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarter House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quarter House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarter House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing