We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine location and romantic hotel made a great week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Ranked #82 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fine location and romantic hotel made a great week”
Reviewed October 23, 2004

We came to New Orleans for a long weekend and wound up staying the week! This hotel has 20 or so guestrooms and is unique and charming. We had a fresh, neat room with a nice bath and bedding. Do not expect a cookie cutter chain hotel but if you can break away from that, you'll have a great time. Location on Royal Street can't be beat. Staff is friendly.
Bo R. and Linda T.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    148
    61
    44
    54
See reviews for
94
194
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2004

We enjoyed a fantastic long weekend at the Andrew Jackson Hotel. The staff was very knowlegble and our room was clean and neat. Best of all was the location...in the center of the French Quarter. We give our stay two thumbs up.
Terry and Frank
Seattle, WA

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2004

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January of 2004 for the long MLK holiday weekend. It was by far our worst experience ever staying in a hotel. The room was beyond disgusting, the carpeting was filthy, my white socks were black within minutes, the bathroom was so small you could barely move in it. We were guaranteed a king size bed but upon our arrival we were told there wasn't a room available with a king size bed only a queen but they still tried to charge us for the king size room. The website bragged about what a wonderful courtyard the hotel had, it was just as filthy as our room was. And there was a homeless person sleeping in the hotel lobby every night. While the location of this hotel is great it's not worth wasting your money on this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracylynn2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2004

I have stayed at the hotel 3 times this year and will be returning soon. Have been in a room with a queen sized bed and sofa, one with twin beds and one with 2 double beds. Some were newly painted, some needed a little work but none were dirtyThe rooms are not large and the furniture is miss matched. but staying in an older small hotel in the French Quarter I did not expect or want a cookie cutter modern room. Not every room has it's own air conditon control but all had a ceiling fan. Most of the bedrooms have been refurbished. Hopefully they will get around to the bathrooms but with shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, mouthwash and tissues provided, I didn't really have a problem with the decor. Yes if you walk around in the room without shoes your socks or feet will get black so bring a pair of slippers. The staff is fantastic always giving a hello and a smile. The doughnuts, bagels and cereal provided in the morning were fresh and tasty. The coffee hot and bitter the way it should be. The courtyard has limited seating but the guests were friendly and shared tables.

Helpful?
7 Thank FrugalTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2004

We stayed for memorial weekend. Really the only benefit of this hotel is the courtyard and location. The courtyard is charming and authentic; the location is perfect in the french quarter. The hotel itself leaves much to be desired. Dirty and old. That's the only way I can describe it. We had a standard room that had just enough room for a bed.....but barely. Bathroom was falling apart. This place should be a museum....not somewhere to sleep. Didn't have a very pleasant odor either. The staff, however, was nice. There's better places to stay if you're traveling to new orleans.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2004

I have to say that the Andrew Jackson hotel is quite charming, and the front-desk people were so helpful and friendly. Yes, the bathroom was run down, and the shower had absolutely no water pressure (just a trickle)...that is until we asked to have someone look at it. The next time I got in the shower, it was terrific! Also, I left some personal belongings behind last weekend, and I got themmailed back to me within a few days!!! The temperature was great for us (no control in the room was my only issue with that). The major problem I had with the place was with the carpeting. I could never walk in the room without shoes on. If they could improve the floor situation, I would recommend the hotel. Where else can you get such friendly service at such a good rate?

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2004

The one review that says the breakfast was hard donuts, lousy coffee, filthy rooms hit it right on the head here. This was my 20th anniversary and I was assured that this would be a great room overlooking the street. Room greeted us with beer can and cigarette butts on the balcony. Room was so filthy that I requested new sheets. Take off your shoes and the socks turned black INSTANTLY. The next morning painting and wallpapering took place.. called three times in advance never told about this. Did move to sister hotel which was slightly better, BUT only slightly. Shower terrible, bathroom door didn't close..the only relief we got from the room was when we left. Thank goodness New Orleans was great -this place is the worst!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#137 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Jackson Hotel

Property: Andrew Jackson Hotel
Address: 919 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2792
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Jackson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street, the Andrew Jackson Hotel features fine Southern Hospitality and charming French Quarter accommodations. The Andrew Jackson Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features 21 quaint guest rooms and suites. Our distinctly decorated guestrooms offer Old World charm and modern conveniences. Enjoy one of our spacious guestrooms or suites overlooking the lush tropical courtyard and French Quarter fountain. Our Royal Balcony Suites feature expansive views of Royal Street and the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andrew Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Jackson New Orleans
Hotel Andrew Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing