We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cocktails and history”
Review of Drink & Learn

Drink & Learn
Ranked #42 of 223 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Drink and Learn (formerly the Cocktail Tour)offers visitors two different ways to experience New Orleans. Who knew history could be so much fun? Join cocktail historian Elizabeth Pearce as she regales you with the story of New Orleans, its people, and culture using some of its most famous (and infamous) drinks. Whether you join her for The Cocktail Tour or a Drinking Experience, you will come away with a new appreciation for America’s most interesting city. The Cocktail Tour stops at some of the French Quarters notable landmarks including Jackson Square, the French Market and St. Louis Cathedral. While you stroll, you will savor four iconic drinks of the city. Additionally, Drink & Learn offers Experiences that are perfect for those who prefer their drinking to be climate controlled and who see no reason to walk with a drink when you can sit and sip one. Featuring historic images and vintage film footage, The New Orleans Experience takes visitors on an interactive journey through the city’s history, one drink at a time.You much be 21 to attend any tour or experience.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cocktails and history”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a wonderful guide "Brian" when were were in NOLA on Friday October 26. We went to 4 different historic bars and tasted the signature cocktail from each place. My friend and I split them so we actually had half a cocktail at each stop, that way we could try everything and still find our way to dinner later. Easy walk, very nice way to spend the afternoon!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank patentgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun way to learn history in the French Quarter”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I frequently visit my daughter in New Orleans. She is a transplant from Michigan and always looks for something unique for us to do while I am in town. Since I enjoy history and walking this tour was the perfect way to spend an early evening. Elizabeth has a wonderful way of explaining the history of sugar as a commodity and it's importance to the life of early New Orleans which of course leads to a discussion of plantation life, the growth of New Orleans, architecture, food, people and alcohol. As it turned out, in talking with other people on the tour, my daughter and I found that the world really is quite small. She learned that she and another couple on the tour had mutual friends. Great tour not only for visitors but for locals interested in the history of New Orleans.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank coachbgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thanks Elizabeth, loved the tour.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was a very unique and fun tour. The drinks were very strong - if we could recommend anything it would be to come with a full stomach and to come sober. We had a large group on the tour (which made the situation awkward to begin with) and it was obvious that they had been drinking ahead of time. That would have been fine, but by the second drink on the tour they started being rude, would interrupt, and caused the tour to slow down (so we could wait for them). It is a drinking tour, but Elizabeth's expertise of the history and culture of New Orleans are the main focus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BoSoxChick1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The thinking person's cocktail tour”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We chose to take this tour last Friday based on TA reviews, and we were not disappointed. Elizabeth is so knowledgeable, sharp, and quick-witted, we hung on her every word. She even explained the history of jazz funerals just because we happened to see a wedding procession that looked like a jazz funeral. Her drinks are great, and yes, they are strong! I enjoyed this tour because it wasn't a bar crawl; rather, it was a historical walking tour by someone who REALLY knows what she's talking about, and with some famous cocktails thrown in for good measure.

Helpful?
Thank barney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yep! Great tour, Elizabeth!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter had assumed that the drinks would be 'weak' on a planned tour. She was WRONG! The drinks were as yummy, fulfilling and delicious as the tour! Elizabeth was obviously passionate about her subjects and shared with great enthusiasm. HIGHLY recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janebird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drink & Learn also viewed

 

Been to Drink & Learn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing