We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopping New Orleans Tavern for drinks and hors d'oeuvres”
Review of Bouligny Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bouligny Tavern
Ranked #519 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Neighborhood: Garden District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Garden District
Wadsworth, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hopping New Orleans Tavern for drinks and hors d'oeuvres”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stopped in at Bouligny on a Saturday night about 7:30 PM. The bar was full, as were the shotgun house row of side tables. The maitre d' asked if we desired a table, but we declined as our New Orleans dining options were in flux – which on further review a mistake. The bar staff’s field of vision was limited to the seats at the bar, which delayed our drink order. Once we were able to secure chairs at the bar, we were also able to score couple of well-made Old Fashions. The crowd consists of what, back in the day, would be considered yuppies – late20s, early 30 year old local movers and shakers.
We decided to get a table and score the appetizers. This was a good move, since we were divorced from the (in New Orleans standards) frenetic bar. The tables afford a view of the bar, either directly or via the marble mirrors. We were privy to local conversation from closely aligned tables.
For our hors d'oeuvres, we enjoyed the short ribs, langoustine, marrow bruschetta and Fritto Misto, a tempura style dish. The most memorable appetizers were the Fritto Misto and the marrow bruschetta.
Should you go to Bouligny during prime time, score a table, order a couple of drinks, some hors d'oeuvres and soak in the New Orleans culture.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aperitif69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great drink stop”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We like wine bars or a place for a glass and snack late in the day and this spot was perfect. Nice selection and service. Patio or on street seating outside; nice bar inside. A hearty recommendation!

Helpful?
Thank Monty002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool Environment”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very very cool bar... Has a great look and feel to hang out with friends or on a date. Delicious drinks, good prices and even though we didn't eat-- the food looked amazing. Definitely will come back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank vvadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience in the Garden District”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife was in town for business and I flew in to join her and took her here for our date night in New Orleans. It is probably a 20 minute taxi ride from downtown but it was a pleasure to get out of downtown and relax in this tavern and eat delicious food and great cocktails. Loved it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This is One of the Coolest Lounges in NOLA”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Magazine Street is often overlooked by visitors to New Orleans but it is home to some of the best bars and restaurants in the City. One of these "Hidden" gems is the Bouligny. It has a very edgy, cool vibe that makes it a magnet for the locals. The food is fantastic but understand that it is a small "tapas" style menu. The only real item they have that could be considered a meal is their 7oz burger. This is by no means a criticism, the food they serve is top notch.

The vibe at this place is very hip and stylish, so dress the part. As with many establishments in NOLA, the bartenders here take their craft seriously and they have concocted some unique offerings to broaden your horizons. The bar's location is off of the "tourist" path (meaning its not in the Quarter or right on St Charles Avenue Trolley Line) but it is worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouligny Tavern also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Bouligny Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing