We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel within walking distance of The French Quarter.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel within walking distance of The French Quarter.”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Loews was selected by a family as a place to stay for out of town wedding guests. The service was great and the staff pleasant and helpful, especially the concierges. It is a 10 to 15 minute leisurely and safe walk to the French Quarter from the hotel. The hotel has a large and well lit exercise room and pool. Very nice. We did not dine at the hotel but service in the busy bar was excellent and the waitstaff were very interactive with guests. The rooms were adequate; the bed comfortable; the bathroom clean and well provisioned. While this is a fine hotel it is not in a particularily scenic area of New Orleans, but that was not an issue for us. One final note: do review your bill. We were mistakenly charged $100 for valet parking though we didn't have a car. Management promptly reversed the charges.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    569
    182
    77
    52
See reviews for
472
570
90
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

As the weather was cooling off in NC, it was still very much summertime in New Orleans. We selected Loews because of its close proximity to the French Quarter and The Riverwalk. Before traveling to New Orleans, I called the hotel concierge for dining advice and she made reservations for us and had the details ready for us when we arrived. She even got a last minute reservation at Emerils where a month's notice is the standard. The staff was eager to take care of us and offered excellent suggestions for sightseeing and directions. We thought the room was a bit small when we arrived, but with so much to do in NOLA, we didn't think about it again the entire trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiedmontHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Me, my husband and 3 other couples stayed here for the weekend. When we arrived, the valet opened our doors, and offered to take our bags. They were very prompt in giving us a valet ticket and we went inside to check in. Some of the couples upgraded to a bigger room for like $20. Check-in was quick and easy. Once we got to our room, it was nice and clean. We requested a King bed but got two queens. We had a great view of the river and our room rate was really good so we stayed w/ the two queens. We met the other couples downstairs at the Swizzle Stick Bar, which is known for making a damn strong drink. They won't short you on the vodka!!

Anyways, the Seafood Festival was going on a 1/2 block away by Earnst Cafe so we went and ate the Grand Isle restaurant right next to Earnst and then people watched for a little bit outside. The next morning, was when I noticed that the TV was not a very good TV. They should update the TVs to match the rest of the comtemporary room. It was hard to watch some critical football games on that TV. I ordered breakfast from Cafe Adelaide, and it was delivered within 20 minutes. My husband went downstairs and ate from the Cafe Adelaide breakfast buffet for $20 less. For lunch we walked back to the Seafood Festival and tried some of the dishes the local restaurants were serving.

You can walk to the quarter if you want, but you will have to cross both Poydras and Canal, which can be a risky walk at night. The hotel is in a great location with the Casino being a block or so away, then there is almost always something going on around Earnst Cafe (a festival or street party of some sort), plus it's an easy walk to Saks.

Overall, the hotel was really nice and the staff was very classy. There was even a jazz singer nightly in the lobby. The view of the river from our room (#1901) was perfect! They also allow pets. When it came time to check out, the valet retrieved our car in about 30 minutes, but that gave us time to walk to Lil Dizzy's for a quick sunday brunch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvdatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Looked forward to stay here for long time and wasn't as great as I thought it would be although still nice.
Ate at the Swizzle Stick bar off the kids menu - was very impressed. LOTS of food. Plenty for adults too and decent priced. The restaurant was more pricey so didn't eat there.
Pool and fitness area were nice.
Room was okay but enjoyed the- FREE to borrow- movies at the hotel across the street more.
Also, had to pay around $28.00 per day to park

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelheart41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basking ridge ny
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

i do not want to down play Loews...but we have stayed here many times and if seems as if the fine tuning we really enjoyed has gone downhilll, and maybe it is just the hard economic times.

Our check in was smooth and the valet service still great. At check in I asked about the internet and was told the cost was 12.95 a day. I did need to use it immediately... so after checking in I did the payment and completed my business. We then decided to have a drink in the lobby. It is a great lobby and bar location. I noticed about 10 people on laptops..so I asked someone about it and they told me the internet is free in the lobby. Thank you Loews staff for sharing that with me.

I got up the next am around 7 am and head out of the room as not to wake my husband and daughter. I head down to the lobby for coffee which has always been set up on the bar with to go cups..only to find no cups. I ask the desk host at Cafe Adelaide and am told no the coffee is no longer complimentary as they now have cofffee makers in the room. I understand to a degree, but if you are the early riser and try not to wake others coffee is near impossible to make. He gave me attitude but said I could have it this one time...I had no cash on me.

The next morning I got up early again and did have the cash...the same host was rude and said the coffee is two dollars and pay me first. Nice first thing in the am.

On our final morning...we are leaving for the airport by 7 am...at around 6 I turn in the mini bar key and ask for a copy of the new york times and am told they are already all gone. I said it is only 6 am . I am then told you need to ask for it in advance. Once again thanks for the heads ups Loews.

All in all the finer touches seem to be gone...I still love the Hotel juse wish they seemed to love thier customers. too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol_a_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Great location - we walked everywhere including the French Market and Frenchman St which are on the east end of the French Quarter. Twice we had to ask for items usually restocked - wash clothes and coffee but we got a great deal at hotels.com $84 with an extra $29 for parking. Everyone charges extra for parking and street parking is hard to find. We had a huge room that overlooked the city. Watch out for the amenities in your room - everything is very pricey. Staff was very friendly and all were willing to help with suggestions on what to do and where to eat. Julio was our fav - always smiling and called us by name. Take an umbrella and carry it with you even if the skies are clear - it will rain! GO TO Preservation Hall and Mardi Gras World (It's NOT at Algiers Point any more, go to the info booth at the end of Canal St to get shuttle) Streetcars (not trolleys!) are great but not reliable transportation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theadolphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Hello all!

Let me start out by saying that my family and I took (are currently taking) a road trip from Colorado Springs through Kansas City, Nashville, Myrtle Beach, Charleston, SC, New Orleans, Dallas then back home. One big two week long road tip!!!

Anyhow, our stay in New Orleans started out with us pulling up to The Loews’ Hotel. We were immediately impressed by the valet that approached our car. He informed us that it would be $30 to have our vehicle valet but, it would be securely parked underneath the hotel in a safe location. The other option would be to park in the adjacent lot for about $20; we opted to pay the $30. I won’t boar you with extreme details about our stay but, I will list the very positive portions of staying here.

1. 1st class service
2. Easy and fast check-in
3. Luxurious hotel with amenities (pool, spa, gym, business center, internet, bar, ATM…etc) for a VERY reasonable price
4. Spacious rooms
5. Very clean rooms and hotel
6. No or can’t doesn’t appear to be in the staff’s vocabulary
7. Concierge service that obviously knew what she was talking about
8. Most importantly, a pleasant smile on EVERYONE’s face

A couple of examples:
1. My 13yr old daughter started her “woman thing” and didn’t have the necessary item(s) with her. I called the front desk to ask if there was a shop in the hotel that she could buy some “necessary items”. Before I could even finish, the lady at the front desk said “Just send her down, I’ll take care of her”. Wow…that’s service!
2. Every time I called the front desk they answered “hello Mr. Armstrong”. When I asked for a wakeup call they asked if I would like a follow-up wakeup call 15 minutes after the 1st call. NICE and I apparently needed it (Bourbon Street, need I say more)
3. When we entered our room there was a jazz CD playing on the CD/Clock Radio. A very nice completion of local jazz. The next morning I turned it on to listen to the CD again and it struck me that I should ask if I could purchase the CD. I called down once again (“Hello Mr. Armstrong), and I asked if I could buy the CD. Once again, I’m amazed the woman says to me “It’s yours for free Mr. Armstrong, I hope you enjoy it”….OMG I was blown away!
4. Willingness to immediately improve; the only thing that wasn’t perfect was the ring around the shower pipe needed to be caulked. When we checked out I brought this to the front desk personnel’s attention and they wrote it down and thanked us for letting them know.

We would and will recommend this place to anyone that is traveling to or through New Orleans….hands down the biggest bang for your buck. Don’t waste your time calling around to other hotels, just stay here. You absolutely won’t be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,010 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing