We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

We stayed for two nights right after they opened the city after Hurricane Gustav. The Loews Hotel is exceptional. The facilities are nicely decorated, the lobby is beautiful and air conditioned. The hotel is also pet friendly and in a great location, close to RiverWalk and the French Quarter.

The front desk staff are professional and very helpful.

Our room was clean, nicely decorated and so comfortable. Great flat screen tv. The bed was firm and the pillows were great. The bathroom had both a tub and separate shower. It also had lots of room to move around.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great experience.

  • Liked — Great location and facilities.
  • Disliked — Sofa in the room was stained and old.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank faat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    588
    188
    80
    53
See reviews for
492
583
93
919
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AOL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We had tickets to see the Bucs play the Saints on Sunday, September 7th. We had airline tickets to fly Southwest on Thursday, September 4th and reservations for 4 nights at Harrah's (free rooms). Then Hurricane Gustav came up the Gulf and a mandatory evacuation was ordered for of all of New Orleans. On Tuesday night Harrah's called and said our reservations were cancelled and they didn't know when they would be ready to open. They were not at all helpful even though we were left with nowhere to stay.

I contacted Loews and got a room for 4 nights. Our flight was one of the first ones to arrive in New Orleans after Hurricane Gustav passed. We arrived at Loews about 3 p.m. to a skeleton staff of employees who were either back in the city after the evacuation or had not left. There was still a curfew in effect and very little open the first couple of nights that we were there, but Loews more than made up for any inconvenience. They put out a great (and very reasonable priced) buffet on Thursday night with what they had available since there had not been any deliveries in a few days.

It was the best experience we have ever had at a hotel! The restaurant manager, Daniel is a warm wonderful person could not have been more accomodating and efficient. Bartenders and wait staff Angela, Micheal, Michael, David, Lou, Talia are incredible. Nathan from the bell staff was terrific. By Friday we felt like part of the Loews family! We met people who lived locally and had no electricity when they returned home. We met family members of staff who were staying at Loews because they had no electricity at home. We had a great time (even though the Bucs did lose on Sunday). In spite of the adversities of hurricane evacuation the staff at this hotel were just amazing. What could have been a very miserable experience was turned into an outstanding trip for us. Thank you, thank you. You guys are the best! We will pay to stay at Loews the next time we come to New Orleans rather than stay at Harrah's. And, we will definitely be looking for Loews hotels when we travel.

  • Liked — Staff and it's Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayPRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Our weekend in New Orleans was made so much better by our decision to stay at the Loews Hotel. The staff was amazing, all the guys down in the lobby helped our group of 10 get unloaded and up to our rooms and then were equally helpful in getting us back in the cars for the trip home on Sunday. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet that we enjoyed on Sunday morning.....just what we needed after two nights at Bourbon Street. The rooms were big and clean and the King bed was amazing......best ever. Our view of the river from the 19th floor was beautiful too. Room service at 2am was very prompt, very professional. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in New Orleans. The casino was right across the street, so was Mothers restaurant and Bourbon street was an easy walk. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Very good service, very large and clean rooms and a great location.
  • Disliked — The bartenders were a bit grumpy at 1 am in the bar.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Once again after doing my research on Tripadvisor, I settled on the Loews. I will describe the positive things first. The room was very spacious. I became a member of the Loews "You First" program before going on my trip and I was able to get a room upgrade and all the benefits associated with the program. I recommend you look into it. The front desk staff was professional and had an overall good attitude. The doormen and bellmen were the absolute best ever! Especially Doug, he is the nicest hotel employee we encountered. I will agree with the description of the bathroom in the previous review. The hotel is in a good neighborhood, but the streets are isolated late at night. I recommend Mother's restaurant across the street. It is a New Orleans establishment in every sense of the word. The experience in this hotel was good overall, except... The not so good. Our room was not cleaned at all on Saturday. The housekeeper eventually came at 8:00 p.m. Which was of course too late really.I have a bit of a problem with that, I guess it's b/c I'm a wife and mom and like to be a bit pampered on vacation. I did get the turn down service offered the first night. The other thing that I found is that the hotel is kind of far from the Quarter. It's within walking distance, but kind of far and like I said the streets are isolated at night.

  • Liked — It is a very nice hotel.
  • Disliked — Distance from Quarter and housekeeping attention.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

I stayed a the Loews for business for three nights. Booked a deluxe king room. Note - the hotel does not guarantee the type of bedding just the level of the room.

When I checked in I was given the wrong level of room. It took two calls to get the room straight. The front desk was not helpful but the manager was very helpful and quick to fix the problem.

The bed was very comfortable with many nice pillows. The deluxe bathroom had a large walk in shower with a separate tub. More than enough towels . The normal rooms have an average size bathroom - nothing special.

The fitness center is small but adequate. There is a lap pool for exercise.

The hotel is within walking distance of the riverwalk and the convention center. We walked to the French Quarter though I would not walk home after dark alone. The hotel is directly across the street from Harrah's for those who like gaming. Cabs were very easy to get at the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front Desk Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alk222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasminefowers
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I, both in our mid-twenties, stayed at Loews New Orleans for a lovely weekend away in early May. We found the accomodations to be very nice. The people were friendly and the room was nice. It wasn't over the top luxury but it was definitely above average. The bar down in the lobby is worth checking out and we had the breakfast buffet one day which was fantastic. New Oleans is a wonderful city! We liked that this hotel was a little bit away from the quarter (but still an easy walk!) since we were there for a romantic weekend. I had never stayed at a Loews before but I would definitely stay with them again based on my experience in NO.

Bon voyage!

  • Liked — Classic and nice, away from the drunkeness of downtown! ; )
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmineflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john's creek, GA.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Loew's is convenient to all the major attractions.Our room was large and comfortable.Valet, bell service and front desk attentive and efficient. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalmunzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,636 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing