We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, needs work with "little things"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter. Cabs were easily accessible, too. The bell staff is especially attentive, anticipating your every request. The front desk staff was efficient and helpful. The concierge was also excellent.

My room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. I could have easily spent more time in bed. A chaise, rather than an upholstered chair, was impractical. The bathroom was fabulous -- large, with granite countertops, a bathtub and separate tile shower. The sink faced a large window. The towels were thick.

I was attending a conference in the hotel. The food served for breakfasts, lunch, and breaks tasted good and looked great. Service in the hotel's bar, even in a larger group, was excellent.

Now for the negatives. I ordered a salad from the room service menu, confirming ingredients twice with the order taker. The salad I got was not what was described. The ingredients were different and I was disappointed.

The deadbolt on my door didn't work. I called the front desk and a worker was at my door within minutes. He got it to work for him, but it worked for me only after too much effort. I had trouble as the worker was leaving my room. He was convinced the lock worked and left. I struggled with it for the duration of my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your taking the time to do so. It is our goal to provide a flawless experience from beginning to end. I apologize for the discrepancies with your room service order as well as the lock issue experienced. It is always our goal to make things right when opportunities occur. I would love to opportunity to speak to you in reference to these issues and personally apologize. Please contact us at neworleanscustomerservice@loewshotels.com with your contact info so we may ensure we rectify the matter. We hope to have another opportunity to make up for these unfortunate opportunities.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
There are newer reviews for Loews New Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,944 - 1,950 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, good location and with huge rooms. However, some more attention to small details would be appreciated. The hotel seems a bit "cold" at times. Breakfast is expensive and not very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javitxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We will be sure to use your feedback to ensure our service levels and quality are up to our standards and your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to have your with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to demonstrate the service and quality levels we are known for.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife & I were guests at the Loews New Orleans last weekend . We loved it. The service, front desk staff was excellent. The word no or can't is not in their vocabulary. Wait ! The concierge James, WOW . Anything and everything is in his roster. I asked about tix for the WWII museaum , and POOF 2 comps were in my hand. The bar in the lobby is a happening place for a drink in the evening. We had a very nice room overlooking the Mississippi . Great central location. 2 blocks here , 3 blocks there . Near water front . Must get coffee from PJ's down the block ! Can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: overlooking the river
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take great pride in providing a high level of service and we are delighted you were able to enjoy your experience with us. We will be sure to share your comments with James as well. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our property.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

FIrst off I love the location - it's close enough to walk to everything in the French Quarter, but also out of the way of the many drunks and loud folks that are roaming Canal and the French Quarter. I also appreciated that I could easily walk to the Children's And World War 2 Museum. Hotel is clean and staff is super friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarlicWineCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. We take great pride in catering to the business traveler as well as the family traveling on leisure. Our location is perfect for experiencing all New Orleans has to offer. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here over New Year's 2013 and it was a perfect location to share NOLA with a first-timer. Walking distance from the Quarter, the French Market, the Aquarium and the streetcar. The room was big enough, very clean with a comfortable bed. Room service was fast and delicious. And the little lobby bar was great (try the mussels!).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the great attractions our great city has to offer. We are perfectly located to all New Orleans has to offer. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and look forward to hosting your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Arriving late after a brutal travel week, the Loews was a true oasis of peace. Efficient check-in, restaurant reservations, room upgrade and transportation coordination were all handled efficiently. There is no reason to stay anywhere else in New Orleans but Loews.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us. Our concierge team can be counted on to point you to all the hidden gems New Orleans has to offer. Next time be sure to visit Cafe Adelaide while with us. I am sure you will not be dissapointed. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stay at the Loews Hotel in New Orleans often and the staff is the most personable and helpful of any hotel I've ever stayed. I truly feel like I've arrived home and am greeted by friends, from the moment I pull up starting with being greeted by the valet parking staff, to the check in staff, concierge and of course the staff at the Swizzle Stick. Truly a home away from home.....and my spot ANYTIME I am in New Orleans, or just need to get away and revive and rejuvenate.....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share. We take great pride providing a uniquely high level of service at the Loews New Orleans. We are delighted you were able to enjoy your stay from arrival to departure. We will be sure to share your comments with our team members. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 165 in New Orleans
7,417 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 165 in New Orleans
4,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 165 in New Orleans
1,458 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 165 in New Orleans
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $156 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing