We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #14 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lier, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I can highly recommend this hotel. Although i stayed here on business which made the location excellent as within walking distance from the convention center, i would definitely come here when in town for leisure as well. It's within walking distance from the French Quarter and 15min drive from the very nice shopping mall, Lakeside. Great service, deco and atmosphere. Not too big and hence personal approach from staff. Reception staff tends to be a bit arrogant though, but the restaurant, bar and meeting facilities staff totally make up for this.

The restaurant offers more specific Creole cuisine - big portions - very creative dishes and moderately priced. Good breakfast options from USD 12 onwards.

The meeting floors are superb and staff extremely flexible and helpful.

Rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms with amazing walk-in shower.

Hope to be back one day !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karine1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

It is our goal to ensure that, from arrival to departure, you enjoy your experience with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our location as well as the amenities we provide. We will be sure to share your feedback with our front office team to ensure they are meeting both your expectations and our standards. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    589
    190
    80
    53
See reviews for
493
585
94
922
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was very dissatisfied with a recent stay at Loews for a conference. At the price I paid for the room, I expect a high quality hotel. The bed skirt was filthy, the carpet dirty and worn, the furniture very threadbare. Room service arrived an hour and a half after it was ordered and the order was incomplete. I have to say that for the price range, it was the worst hotel experience that I can recall. I would never recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Activetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at our property. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us.

We would like to speak to you personally in reference to your experience. Please contact us at neworleanscustomerservice@loewshotels.com. We look forward to speaking to you.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a great hotel, slightly removed from the noise of the French Quarter, with a great restaurant and bar and a beautiful lobby. The spacious rooms have Keurig coffeemakers, minibars, and wonderful beds. On the 8th floor you will find a nice gym, a lap pool which we loved, and a hot tub and sauna. Harrah's casino is conveniently located right across the street!

Room Tip: Great views of the river from higher floors. The rooms that adjoin can be slightly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flebinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience with us. We are delighted you were able to enjoy a few of the many amenities we provide. Our location is perfect for work or play. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was born & raised in New Orleans & my family is there, although I've resided in NYC for many years. The Loews Hotel on Poydras is my NOLA home away from home. It's mainly about LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. While I've stayed in many 4-5 star French Quarter hotels in the past, that locale can be noisy & cumbersome if you plan to venture outside the Quarter for dining, socializing & sightseeing. The Loews is a 3-5 minute walk to the French Quarter restaurants, shopping & clubs, but unlike Quarter hotels, the rooms are spacious & quiet, facilities include a large gym, indoor pool, spa & Adelaide's, a notable Brennan family restaurant. But most importantly, my car is delivered quickly by the friendly valet & I can escape to other areas of the city without dealing with the traffic snarl that is the French Quarter. Insiders know that there is MUCH MORE to see & do in NOLA other than the French Quarter. Quick pros: directly across the street from Harrah's casino, easy walk to Canal Place shopping mall, NOLA Aquarium & all Warehouse District restaurants & attractions, closer to Superdome than French Quarter location. Cons: hotel is beginning to show wear & tear due to traffic, PILLOWS ARE FLAT & should be replaced. Overall, this hotel is a very good value for the price & is a fine location for couples, families & business travel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms w/2 queen beds are large enough for a family w/young children; bathrooms have both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Two of our greatest amenities are our team members and our location. As you mentioned, our location is perfectly located near all of the great attractions and restaurants New Orleans has to offer. We are happy to be your home away from home. We truly appreciate your comments and will share them with our team members. We look forward to hosting your next visit home to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Last week my husband and I spent 5 days at the Loews, New Orleans. We have been there 4 times in the last several years and as on the previous visits we were impressed by the friendly yet professional staff. Brendan at the front desk went out of his way to make sure that we had just the right room for our special week and always remembered us as we made our way in and out of the hotel. Servers Kristoffer and Stacy went above and beyond to secure restaurant reservations for us and seemed genuinely interested in hearing about our experiences. I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to be able to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Congratulations on your 25th Anniversary. We are happy that you choose us to create this special memory. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Brendan, Kristoffer and Stacy. Our team members are our greatest amenity. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My annual Thanksgiving trip to New Orleans where I had stayed previously but not in three or four years. Rooms were fine as before, with most including mine having a great view of the Mississippi. Staff was friendly and helpful as always. The bar is presided over my Lu Brow, one of New Orleans' finest bartenders and has an excellent cocktail menu of local ingredient based drinks.
The only two issues were: the bedside lamps had an in-line on-off switch which was invisible from any normal viewing angle--I finally had to ring the front desk for directions. Also, for whatever reason, the Swizzle Stick Bar was not serving food on Thanksgiving Day, even though it shares its kitchen with the excellent Café Adelaide, which was fully open

Room Tip: No rooms exist below 8th floor so noise is never an issue. Ask for a riverview room to see the vess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate it and will use it to ensure we are providing service that is both up to your expectations and our standards. Please accept my sincerest apologies for not being able to provide food in the bar while you were with us. Our goal is to ensure our service levels are as efficient as possible. I will pass along your kind words to Lu Brow. We look forward to another opportunity to host your visit to our city.

Sincerely,


Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The Loews hotel in New Orleans is the perfect location if you want to be close to the party, but just far enough away that you can take a breath every now and again, plus be near other attractions.

It's right between the French Quarter and the new downtown district with its nicer restaurants and clubs that party at a more relaxed pace.

Plus, you're right next to the Harrah's casino, the Audubon Aquarium, and Mother's Restaurant for the best shrimp po' boys around.

My hotel room was huge with a great view of the city. The bathroom was a normal-sized hotel room in itself with an expansive shower, separate bath, and nicely designed vanity area.

I traveled with my 2 Chihuahuas without a problem. They have a little patch of grass on the side of the hotel where you can bring your dogs, although it's not that big. Otherwise, I just took them for walks along the river each morning, which is a couple of blocks away.

I even hung out at the hotel bar one night and had a famous Sazerac, which was strong to say the least.

The hotel doesn't have a very large lobby area, but it's very nicely done altogether.

Love this hotel and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback.

We pride ourselves in providing the perfect location with great amenities as well as team members that provide a 4 diamond level of service. We will be sure to share your comments with our team members. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,211 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,552 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,391 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 163 in New Orleans
1,639 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing