We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected value”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Normally, you might expect a 4.5 star, central tourist disctrict hotel to be very expensive. However, check for deals! On a business trip to the NOLA Garden District, the closest hotel to my destination was a 3-star limited service brand for $149 per night. A little checking revealed the Luxury Loews hotel on Canal ( a short historic streetcar ride away) for $125 per night including a $50 food voucher, so breakfast and one happy hour was free. My room was freshly renovated and had all the standard Loews amenities, which are carefully geared to the busness traveler. Think Ritz with up-to-date interior design and with sincere, great service. It was a super hotel and can't wait to go back (on a deal.)

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. A river view might be nice, but the room interiors are so nice I am not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnoveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    581
    186
    77
    52
See reviews for
481
579
91
907
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay /Nov 10-14/11/ at Loews very much. It was close to everything - French Quarter, River walk, French Market. Rooms are very spacious and very quite, - extremely comfortable beds. We used indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzis a couple of times. Nice relaxation in the middle of the day after lots of walking. And especially we liked a coffee maker - Keurig in our room!! As a coffee "addicts" we had this exceptional coffee very morning right in our room in our pajamas and white robes. I will recomend to evryone to choose this hotel when in NO.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balmoral99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We enjoyed the view of the river. We had 2 queen beds in a very spacious room and ultra quiet! The workout room is very adequate and we also enjoyed the heated indoor pool. Just a few blocks from the French Quarter and Magazine street this hotel is very well located in a safe area of town! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quedeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Even though the signs in the elevators tout this as one of the "50 Best Large City Hotels in America" , I wouldn't go that far. It was clean, the bed was WONDERFULLY comfortable, and it was very quiet. The location is great especially if you like to gamble with Harrod's casino just across the street. Room service was very slow. There is no gift or sundrie shop on the property. Staff were helpful and friendly. So, overall very nice, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Highly recommend this high rise modern hotel located within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk. King deluxe riverview room has a great view of the Mississippi River and Harrods Casino. The room was nicely appointed with a sitting area, king pillowtop bed, large flat screen tv, and business work area with desk. The bathroom is beautiful and modern. The only issue with the room was the lack of complete cleanliness of the carpets.
The staff couldnt have been nicer especially the employees of the bar and restaurant. With all those guests it was amazing to be greeted by name each and every time. The restaurant food quality was above average and the service top notch. For my visit I received a substantial and complimentary food voucher which was an unexpected and welcome perk.
I would definitely stay at the Loews again and highly recommend it to anyone wishing to be located near but not in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter although not completely free from Poydras street noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank takeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

After a disappointing stay at JW Marriott switched to Loews. Exceed all expectations with one minor comment. On check out. front desk person was chatting up the guest for close to 10 minutes when others were waiting to check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent three nights at Loews and had an excellent experience. Our room was beautiful and large as well as the bathroom. Great views of the city and location was within walking distance of many restaurants and the French Quarter for shopping, etc. We had a vehicle and enjoyed driving to the Garden District which is our new favorite area for shopping and food...how many times does anyone need to head to Bourban Street??? All in all, a great time and well taken care of by the staff of Loews.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,110 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,447 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,346 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing