We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in New Orleans”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Without a doubt The Loews is the nicest hotel in New Orleans.We are locals and stayed at just about every hotel in and around the French Quarter and Loews is our number 1 choice..The workers always have a smile and aim to please you.The rooms are very modern and very clean.There are only 2 or 3 hotels that have a spa.My wife likes the Loews Spa.They have an indoor pool and hot tub.There is no way this hotel should not be in the top five hotels in New orleans......

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,531
    581
    186
    77
    52
See reviews for
481
579
91
907
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangor australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Good hotel in Busines/warehouse area. breakfast were Ok at reasonable prices. Parking costs are a bit high at $32 per day

Room Tip: dont bring a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I recently stayed at the Loews April 13-16th with my family. Now this hotel is located in the Warehouse District which is on the edge of the French Quarter...a good 15 minute walk from the heart of the action. But this place is awesome! The service from the door man to the valet to the concierge. There's no where else I would stay. The room are large and the view from the 21st floor is amazing. It was a great place to accomodate our children, 3 and 6 years old. Even though its a walk to the French Quarter it is worth it. The river walk is a block away and the Harrah's casino is right across the street.

Bottom line...this is where we will stay when we are in New Orleans!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjzubok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC Area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one night with family. It was the only hotel available in actual new orleans (that week all hotels were booked because of major conferences) and I refused to stay in the NO 'burbs. Hotel ranks high for customer service in my book--I called about 30 minutes before making it to the hotel to see if they had a room for me even though it was well before check in time--they did and promised to hold the room for my arrival. Upon arriving to the hotel we were greeted by the nicest bellman--Julio. He gave us tips on events happening in the city (we were there during the French Quarter Festival). We had a room with two double beds on the 15th floor--amazing view of the bridge and city! The room was a little stuff when we got in (perhaps because it was 80 degrees out) but we were able to crank up the air to a comfortable temperature. The location of the hotel wasn't too far from central business district of New Orleans or other areas like the French Quarter--about a 15-20 min minute walk. The location is best for folks who want to be close to the riverwalk or Harrah's casino, which is just across the street. My only gripes about the hotel were the charges for internet ($12 in room or free wifi in lobby area only) and the valet-only parking at $35. I tried finding cheaper parking near by, but there really wasn't cheap parking within walking distance I felt comfortable with getting to at all hours. Brightside--the parking is right in the hotel, so you don't wait long for your car to return. While the Loews wasn't my first choice, I did have a good stay thanks the staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

No frills, just nice and convenient for the convention center as well as the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed in Mid-march while in twon for a conference at teh Sheraton.

Room: had a "grand luxury" room - very large, with king bed, couch, sitting chair, two flat screen TVs, a great CD player, work desk and good lighting options. The room had individual climate control. The bath was large, with a separate tub and shower. Good water pressure and temp. Tub was slightly larger than average but not a real soaking tub. Room also came with bathrobes. There was a safe that fit my 14" laptop, but a 15.6” widescreen may not fit. The room also had a mini-bar and snacks. Spendy as usual but nice to have and much more convenient than room service. Overall decor was nothing special - functional, not opulent. Room seemed clean. This is not a historic hotel by any means. It is a good solid functional hotel.

Gym/pool: Pool is long enough for decent, albeit short, lap workouts. It is a saltwater pool, which is more environmentally sound, but some people don’t like that sort of thing. The whirlpool is a good size and was hot. There is a sauna as well, but you will need to fire it up well before you want to use it. I didn’t use the gym, but it looked nice. There is also a spa on that floor. Didn’t use that either.

View: The view is important to me as I like to kick back at the end of the day and watch the world go by out my window. I was on the 11th floor, which I think is the first floor of rooms, and I had an interesting view of the Spanish Plaza, Poydras St, the CBD, and of the line of people waiting to eat at Mothers. The opposite side of the building faces a high rise hotel, so views on that side are limited in some rooms. Windows are large.

Service: I though service was excellent all around. The concierge provided good tips on jazz clubs. The front desk was efficient. The bellhops were always ready to help out, and the doormen on task, fun and full of good suggestions. My room was cleaned before lunch each day. Staff was all very friendly. I’ve found that tipping well early on in the stay pays off in spades when traveling. I encourage others who seem to have consistent bad service experiences to try it sometime.

Location: Great for the convention center as it is close to the CC (5 minute walk) but not buried in the warehouse district, which seems a bit dodgy (or at least empty) at night. The area around the hotel is always busy due to the line of hotels across from Harrah’s, and from Harrah’s itself. It takes about 5 minutes to get into the FQ, and I walked from Bourbon, down Canal, to Peters and to the Hotel on two different nights by myself and felt completely safe. One block towards the river is Fremont Street – which is an odd attempt to bring the FQ into the warehouse district. It doesn’t seem to have been successful, though there is a Gordon Biersch brewpub and restaurant there which has good beer and decent food. They also make really good pizzas. I got one to go for watching a movie in my room one night. One block towards the warehouse district are two small local restaurants with good food at good prices. There is also a great local bar there with good brass bands.

This is my third trip to NO, and I have stayed at the Hilton, the Royal Sonesta and Loews. If you are going for pleasure, I’d suggest the Royal Sonesta – its in the heart of the FQ and has a great interior huge courtyard/pool/outdoor bar. If you are going for business, I recommend Lowes over the Hilton. Loews is much smaller, has easier access to Canal and to the FQ, and the rooms are nicer.

Hope this helps. Have a good trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auroraclubjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I was staying at Loews for a work trip- all of our business was at the convention center. It was a pleasant walk to and from everyday. Although we weren't near enough to the French Quarter or Treme to walk (maybe we could have with more sensible shoes) it was a quick cab ride. The service was excellent, from the moment the bellmen helped me out of my cab, to Danielle at the front desk, to the staff at the pool/spa facility. My room was OK--the bed was huge and a bit bumpy/lumpy but I slept just fine. My bathroom was a treat with a large soaking tub and separate shower with amazing water pressure. The noise was my biggest complaint. I was in one half of an adjoining room and could hear the party going on next door as well as conversations of people walking past my door. I also hate having to pay for internet access in my room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momsadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,109 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,446 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,345 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing