We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience, Quietness, Security”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Can't say enough about how beautiful this old house is. The convenience of the street car, the peacefulness of the property in the evenings and the delicious breakfasts combined to make this a most enjoyable vacation. Also the knowledge of the resident manger about New Orleans' restaurants and places to visit was most helpful, and he entertained us with his outlandish stories about the city. Wanted to bring the dogs home. For the money this place is better than you can ever expect from a hotel chain that costs much more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Sorry I miss you guys. I am very happy Brent took good care of you while during your stay. Give me a call, I will be happy to send the dogs up for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 951 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Myself and 7 friends stayed in the beautiful B&B during Jazz Fest
Larry and Brent went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable
Streetcar 1/2 block away great restaurants and FQ very close 5Star for sure
Delicious breakfast every morning. Porter and Jackson (resident dogs) kept us
feeling like we were at home. Thank you again Larry Hope to be back one day

Room Tip: all rooms are great. We stayed on the 3rd floor so a few stairs but good excercise
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourteraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thanks for the very nice review. we just got home from our trip to Canada and we loved it. I hope you guys come back for Jazz Fest next year and any other time you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Larry and Brent were exceptionally gracious and helpful. Their breakfasts were unparalled, their knowledge of the area unmatched, and their house's furnishings unrivaled. The house is 1/2 block from the streetcar into the city or to the city park and cemeteries in the other direction. Numerous restaurants are within a very easy walk. Our favorites were Rue 127, Redemption, and Cafe Minh. All had delicious food and excellent service. If you want traditional New Orleans dishes and a place "where the locals eat", go to Mandina's, also an easy and pleasant walk away. You can't do better than the 1896 O'Malley House B&B for friendliness, convenience and comfort, and since it's in mid-city, you won't be surrounded by the hordes of tourists who are packed like sardines downtown. Larry and Brent, you rock!!

Mike & Cathy T.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Mike and Cathy,
Thanks for the great review. I love you talked about all the near by places to eat. We really do have a lot of good ones. We really enjoy meeting you guys and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We just spent a very relaxing enjoyable week at the O'Malley House. The place is beautiful and it is in a great location. Larry is a gracious host with a lot of local knowledge. This was our 3rd stay and we will be back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Kevin,
Thank you for the very nice review. It was so great to see you guys again. We had missed you guys, don't make it so long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just stayed here for a bachelor party. Rooms are big and beautiful with very comfortable beds, nice furnishings, and solid washrooms (pls great shower pressure if u like that). Delish breakfast every morning. FREE local beer and wine, plus some snacks. Very helpful and friendly staff. Don't know what else you can possibly want!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Kyle, it was great having all you guys stay with us. Please you guys all come back soon, there is a lot to see in NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you get the chance --stay here. Like all the others say this place is a gem.
Very friendly, great location, rooms are great. They go out of their way to help make your stay in NOLA memorable. The house its self is worth a look

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8084P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Mike thank you for the very nice review, we hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is our third stay at the O'Malley House and it was 5-star as always! Larry and Brent make you feel like members of the family!

Located in a great Mid-City location, just a block from the Canal St. Street car and within walking distance to many excellent restaurants.

The House is very comfortable, from the living room to the backyard courtyard to the front porch. Our suite was immaculate and ultra comfy with luxurious robes and toiletries. Free beer, wine and soft drinks are available for guests.

The breakfasts are always delicious, with fresh fruit, muffins, buiscuits, orange juice, coffee and a gourmet entree each day.

We love the 1896 O'Malley House, and plan to stay here the next time we visit the Crescent City!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANandTRICIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

You guys are great and we look forward to seeing you each year at Jazz Fest. Thank you for everything. We can't wait to see you again. Have a great year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 165 in New Orleans
4,425 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 165 in New Orleans
5,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
759 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
486 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $115 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing