We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“With friends like you!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“With friends like you!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the end of March, Larry the owner and Brent the manager/cook couldn't have been more hospitable. They were attentive to all our needs. The B and B was beautiful and the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing as well. Our hosts spoiled us from the minute we checked. The B and B is central to transportation and attractions. Highly recommend this B and B. Thanks Larry and Brent. You both were amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much, You guys are such a fun group of people to hang out with, this is why I love owning a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    43
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
106
376
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The home is perfectly restored down to every detail. The service was perfect in every respect. Larry was a perfect host. Brett, another perfect host who prepared a perfect breakfast each morning. Thank you both for a perfect visit to New Orleans !!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vino2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
You guys were just the perfect guests. I hope we can visit your B&B sometime soon. Please come back anytime. Thank you for the perfect view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our stay was short but sweet. The suites are comfortable and private. Breakfast was delicious every morning. The location of the B and B was perfect for us just far enough away from the French quarter to relax yet close enough to jump on a street car and be down by all the action in minutes. Local restaurants within walking distance for late night meals and a few markets also within walking distance for all your needs. Larry and Brett were the perfect combination of southern hospitality and professionalism !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
You guys were all such fun. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review and I love the pic of the courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Larry and Brent, who I will refer to as hosts rather than owner or manager, were amazing and terrific. The bed and breakfast left us feeling absolutely spoiled and relaxed. Every single thing about the home was amazing, from the host-prepared breakfasts, the recommendations for activities, the beautifully-appointed rooms and the captivating and oft-humorous conversation left us feeling pampered. The 1896 O'Malley House is a bargain at any price and afforded us a great opportunity to see New Orleans. It's right on the street car line and anything that can't be reached via the street cars is easily done via taxi. This is the perfect location for a romantic and low-key visit to a great city. Enjoy the Quarter, love the Quarter but also be able to relax away from the Quarter. Thanks for everything our hosts Larry and Brent (and staff) as you gave us a memorable anniversary trip and we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the O'Malley Suite (room #2) and it was fabulous but ALL of the rooms are special a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurdueBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
You guys were an absolute joy to have stay with us. You guys really took advantage of all the great restaurants, that is always good to see guest do that. Wish the weather had been a bit warmer for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The owner and manager were very helpful and accommodating. The house was immaculate and extremely clean. Breakfast was different each morning and had an artistic touch to each plate. The hosts were always available for advise on what to do and where to eat in NOLA. The courtyard is a great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Free beer and wine was a nice touch for a quiet, relaxing night. My partner and I will absolutely be returning here later this year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank decljust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. It was great chatting with you in the courtyard and I am happy you made good use of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the 1896 O'Malley House, truly a 5-star establishment. We would recommend it to everyone. --We are a family of four, our children are both young adults who loved O'Malley House as much as we did.

Getting to stay overnight in one of New Orleans' architectural gems was a real treat -- made all the better by the attention to detail the proprietor Larry has given to the restoration, decoration, and upkeep of this magnificent home. The beds were firm, linens clean and plentiful, the decor so tasteful, and beverages available 24/7! Breakfast was always on time, fresh, beautifully presented and served on china in the formal dining room. Each morning we enjoyed the company of the guests while eating breakfast, and spent most of that time laughing. A great start to the day.

The location of the O'Malley House was perfect for us. It was centrally located to everywhere we explored and was only one block to the charming (and very reasonable) street car, which we used to go to the French Quarter a number of times. Though I could continue longer, I want to acknowledge the house manager, Brent, who makes you feel so welcomed, upon your arrival gives you a good introduction/tour of the house, and is very helpful in making sightseeing and meal arrangements. Kudos and thanks Larry and Brent for your Southern Hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were spacious and elegantly appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HPExplorers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
You guys were a blast to have as guest and we would love to host you on your next trip. Thank you so much for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Thank you Larry and Brent - We had such a great time during Mardi Gras! ! Your house is beautiful and your breakfasts were the best~We met such nice people there and made some new friends also. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Mardi Gras is a great time to visit the city but you should come back and see the real New Orleans sometime. Thank you so much for your very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,803 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing