We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elysian Fields Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$279
$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$392
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$207
$189
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$215
$194
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$343
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
$229
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$226
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
434
46
3
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
46
3
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman streetb bshort walkgreat hostsfront porchaveda bath productsfaubourg marignyfrench quartershrimp and gritsevery morningbed and breakfastgave us great tipsplace to staygreat musicfew blocksbreakfast is servedwithin walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 491 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just stayed at the Inn for 3 nights, and had a most delightful experience. (We had a room on the main floor with a king size bed). It was a very comfortable stay all the way around. The house is very nice and inviting. Nice amenities; coffee and tea stations always available, as is the handy ice machine. The breakfasts were very good and filling, and they had some WONDERFUL pastries each morning at the breakfast bar!! There is also a nice, large computer available in the main living room which is a great plus. The inn keepers are very pleasant and helpful, and not intrusive at all. I work in the travel industry and therefore constantly stay in hotels all over the world....and I must say that staying at a nice B&B such as this is a fantastic departure from standard hotels. Many thanks Jim and Leigh!

Room Tip: Our room on the main floor was very quiet. Was not bothered at all by any street noise, etc.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Couldn't have been nicer. Leigh and Jim are warm, friendly and full of local knowledge. Beautifully kept home with wonderful artwork, delicious breakfasts and inviting, comfortable bedrooms, with all the special little ammenities. Highly recommend this perfectly located home without hesitation. So happy to have found it. Have already recommended it to numerous people since I've been home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish-R-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed in New Orleans for 4 days, wished it were for 4 weeks. The inn makes you feel like you are in the 1860's but modernized. Jim and Leigh are just wonderful. Their hospitality and friendliness make you feel like you are at home. They are located just minutes from the French Quarter, a perfect location. We will definitely be coming back to the Elysian Fields Inn on our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked at Elysian Fields because we wanted to be a bit out of the fray of central N.O., and wanted somewhere homey and reasonably-priced, and we were very pleased. Driving down Elysian Fields Avenue, we were a little worried, the street is 4 lanes and a lot of the houses were dilapidated or closed and boarded up; the area looked pretty seedy and I thought "Oh no, what have I gotten us into?" But the Inn is just on the edge of (1-2 short blocks from) the tourist area proper and was really beautiful -- not fancified, just a great old house. We were met outside and our host took our car into the garage, our hostess is a music buff and used to run an art gallery, so she knew all about where to go to hear music and has hung the house with interesting pieces of art. She gave us good tips on where to eat and what would be possible to get into at that time on a Friday -- the house is just two blocks away from Frenchmen street, which is a little more sane and music-oriented than the main part of the French Quarter. You can catch the streetcar into the main part of N.O. at the end of Frenchmen street, it was an easy walk to the stop. Breakfast was great and it was indeed wonderful to come back in the afternoon to have a nap knowing you were in a neighborhood rather than in the zoo! Drawbacks were that we had a front room and the traffic did at times drive fast down the street, especially motorcycles; our friends had a room upstairs that did not have traffic noise but they said they were right next to the air conditioner, which went on and off all night. I think our hostess was a little frazzled on our second morning, which I can understand as everyone seemed to be down to breakfast at the same time (and I can't imagine giving the same information out about your town to new people every morning!) but unfortunately it made us a bit uncomfortable. All in all, however, it was a gem and we were very happy with our stay, and would definitely stay here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Elysian Fields Inn for just two nights in mid-September - would have loved to stay longer! The location was great, just a few short blocks to be in the French Quarter. The room and public areas of the house are beautiful and the little "extras" like Aveda bath products and eye masks for daytime naps are awesome. And Leigh and Jim were wonderful hosts. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone!

Room Tip: The upper story rooms were very quiet - no street, kitchen, or dining room noise at all.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews