We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #7 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
“We highly recommend Elysian Fields Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn. This was the 1st time we had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. It was very good in all respects. The Inn is historic, built in 1863, and immaculate. The owners, Jim and Leigh, are friendly and cook a wonderful hot breakfast. And the location is very convenient. It located 5 blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. We will definitely stay at the Elysian Fields Inn on our next trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room next to the street, so there was some street noise, but not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    42
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
32
203
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here last Easter for 1 week. They were fully booked during the French Quarter Music Festival, so we had to move elsewhere, There was large group of friends staying there at this time. We meet them our first night & they included us in their group. We really liked that we were close to the music scene on Frenchman st, it was only a 5 minute walk back to the B & B. it was a 5- 10 walk to the French Quarter. Our room was on the second floor, it was quiet, The house has 2 nice decks, one out front & one in the rear. The owners were good with allowing guests to keep wine. beer etc in the kitchen frig, we also kept cheese etc there, The breakfast/relaxation room was a good size with one computer for guests to use. We really like being close to Frenchman St and visited there most nights to take in the music. We stayed there one week, they didn't change the sheets after 3-4 nights, like we have seem at other hotels. Breakfast was a little disappointing, I am not a big eater but I found their breakfast on the smaller side. They provided danish on the counter to help fill you, I would rather see a more healthy option. At the end of the day I would stay there again if I was going to New Orleans.

Room Tip: the second room worked for us/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 good nights in Jim and Leigh's Elysian Fields Inn, enjoying our comfortable room and the nice breakfast they cooked just for us (the breakfast was preceded, if we wanted, with fresh coffee and yummy treats from the next-door bakery). We simply left our car in the Inn's garage and walked all over the French Quarter, finding Jim and Leigh's advice on restaurants and current things to see in New Orleans was very helpful, and their maps too. Back at the Inn, it was great to be able to make myself a cup of tea and use the guests' computer for e-mail and even computer games!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claireliserosenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great old house in a hip and up-and-coming district of NOLA (the Marigny). The room was nice and breakfast was tasty. The proprietors (Jim and Leigh) were awesome and super helpful! Also, Zeke, their giant dog is freakin' awesome!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maddoggy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went to NOLA on business and found my stay at Elysian Fields Inn very pleasant and accommodating. My mornings started early and Jim always provided me breakfast to start my day off right. I felt safe in the neighborhood. It was within walking distance to the French Quarter. However, as with every city, you must always be on your guard if walking alone at night. My room was very clean with no signs of unwanted bed critters. The bathroom was extra clean. I felt safe taking a shower without shower shoes. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMasseyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A wonderful location, so safe for 2 travelling ladies. Offering 2 single beds was just what we wanted. location perfect and the hosts Leigh and Jim and the dog were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Away from the noise of the French Qtr. but close enough to walk there.
New Orleans has so much to offer than just the FrenchQtr and we hope to return another time.
Music was fantastic and nearby Frenchman Street offered great food and entertainment so close to "home"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivvy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Elysian Fields Inn is a great B&B! Leigh, Jim, and their dog Zeke offer the best hospitality. Very nice location close to everything. Safe to walk from the B&B to Frenchmen St. and French Quarter. The rooms are lovely, comfortable beds, superb breakfasts, and the owners are so warm and helpful to everybody. We will come back again and will tell our friends about Elysian Fields Inn. Thank you Jim and Leigh for making our 1st stay in New Orleans so pleasant!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,221 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,133 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,134 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing