We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar rush anyone?”
Review of Laura's Candies

Laura's Candies
Ranked #9 of 64 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Old New Orleans Candy Store
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sugar rush anyone?”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After dinner one night I wanted to check out one of the local candy shops. I found good reviews on this one so we decided to give it a try. After carefully looking through all the amazing looking tempting treats, I bought three different pralines. I'd never had pralines before and am glad I finally indulged! My favorite of the three I bought was by far the chewy option. It's a caramel flavor and consistency which is definitely one of my favs! I will have to go back next time and try to fudge. It looked and smelled incredible!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magicalkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    70
    13
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious pralines!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite place to get something sweet in the French Quarter! I love the chewy pralines, Mississippi mud, truffles and the regular pralines. They have been around for years and never disappoint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“AWESOME FUDGE!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Every time I visit New Orleans, I always stop at Laura's Candies in the French Quarter. They have delicious pralines and a great selection of various flavored truffles, but what I really like is the chocolate fudge. It is rich and creamy. There are also different flavors, which I have not tried, because I am crazy over chocolate! We have tried the truffles and pralines too, and they are very good!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arewenotmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding pralines and candies...unfriendly service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Easily some of the best tasting homemade pralines and candies I've eaten, but it's amazing how an unfriendly server can sour an experience. Go for the coconut and maple pralines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Best candy in town”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great candy store. Best Pralines in town is true. Many samples to try before you buy. Staff very helpful. Enjoyed our visit there.

Helpful?
Thank poppy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura's Candies also viewed

 

Been to Laura's Candies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing