We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, near the conference center and close to the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #52 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, near the conference center and close to the French Quarter”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I selected this hotel as I was attending a large professional convention at the Ernest Morial Convention Center. The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to the convention center with good sidewalks and crosswalks. There are trolley cars that run along the Mississippi River that easily transport you from the convention center to the French Quarter. From the trolley stop it is just a short walk to Bourbon Street. You can also walk from the hotel to the French Quarter in about 20-30 minutes. Cabs are also a way to travel (they can get pricey). The front desk assistance at check-in was poor, which resulted in me downgrading the service rating for this hotel. I did not find the bed extremely comfortable (it was OK) and I stay in several hotels a month, If you can get this hotel at a reasonable price, it is a good value. This is a very clean hotel, located away from the noise of the French Quarter but close enough to get to without much effort. The hotel staff is usually very friendly, although they need to work on their efficiency during the check-in process and to understand that the check-in experience sets the first (and sometimes the lasting) impression of every hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    449
    111
    28
    13
See reviews for
203
313
44
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and we found the place to be really cool and a refreshing addition to the (usual) Marriott family of hotels.

Rooms are of good size, clean, comfortable and the hotel is packed with art and funky decorations, they actually have a self guided walk around the hotel to see the art on display. The fact that it is a renovated warehouse and the art on display, makes the hotel blend in with the whole neighborhood (Warehouse District).

Although the hotel is not in the "epicentre" of NOLA - you can walk to the Bourbon street area (10-15 min) or take the tram a few block towards the waterfront (at the Riverwalk).

There is a great restaurant scene right outside the the door, also the on site restaurant was rather good. Rooms service breakfast was excellent. The concierge was very helpful and the valet was efficient - but "expensive".

There is a small pool on the roof top and as some has mentioned it is rather small, but for a city hotel in the middle of NOLA it is a great spot for some relaxation - we went there every afternoon and it was obvious that some staff members needs to attend the area regularly as chairs, towels, waterbottles etc., was everywhere.

Next time around I would defenitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This is a handy location for walking to convention center or WWII museum. French Quarter is about a 15 minute walk. Emeril's restaurant is in the next block - 3 minute walk.
The hotel has Chihuly works in the lobby and other interesting sculptures and plantings throughout the common areas.
Restaurant and bar in the hotel are first class.
The staff was friendly, and the concierge lounge was well stocked and serviced.
Rooms are modern, with safes and fridges.
Very clean overall.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluffvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Spent a long weekend i n early Feb 2011. First the positives: Upscale decor and rooms, people side of the service was excellent. For example, I wanted to know if a local bar had wireless. The desk clerk coudn't reach them on the phone so he ran over to check personally, then called me back (more later on why he even needed to check on wireless somewhere else). Our hot water was sporadic. The hotel engineer showed up within minutes and changed out the hot water mixing valve. We were given a $40 voucher for the restaurant that night. Fitness center above average, but as is typical, poorly maintained equipment. No mirrors on the walls, a big miss for anyone slightly knowledgable about gym design. Nice roof top pool + hot tub. Now for the negative - INTERNET ACCESS STINKS!! First of all they charged me $12 or so for access. This is like biling for the electricity used during the stay, and marking it up 3000%. Then, it barely functions. I gave up on the wireless part and used the ethernet cable in the room, no difference in speed. I even ran a speed test on-line, came in at less than 10% of an average ISP connection. I couldn't bear the 1minute or so between web clicks so I gave up. Called the front desk, they said they were aware of speed issues and took the charge off my bill. The clerk volunteered their business center computer. I did use it to print out my boarding pass, same slow speed, took over 15 min to print it, and only allowed access to airline websites. This place needs a serious upgrade in internet service and to get with the times - stop charging for it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CulinarySnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

As veterans of Jazz Fest, I had always wanted to stay at the Ren Arts Hotel and a recent business trip offered me just that chance. This is truly a gem in the Warehouse District. From the remarkable fresh smells when you walk in, to the unbelievable art work, it is just the place to stay in New Orleans, especially for business. I strongly encourage you to stay here if you are at the convention center or instead of the W and Hilton. It has just the perfect combination of atmosphere and New Orleans enthusiasm. We had a small faculty party in the bar, and Desi was amazing. He set up a great New Orleans happy hour and to top it off a Mardi Gras parade went right by the front door. Don't keep clicking...just stay here!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allboys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

we spent several nights here in january 2011 and highlights included the rooftop jacuzzi and fantastic front desk staff.
the location is in the central business / warehouse district and while it's walkable to the french quarter, definitely plan on taking cabs if you don't have a car. the riverfront streetcar is located a few block away and there are quite a few good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajmmdcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissasnce Arts Hotel in New Orleans to attend a wedding. Everything about this hotel pleased us. The valet parking attendant was prompt and explained how much the parking was right up front and told us the best way to retrieve our car when we needed to.
The front desk staff was very welcoming and efficient and courteous. The lobby and common areas are filled with contempory object d'arts. Several areas to sit around and meet with friends or read a book.

More importantly, our room was very up-to-date, nicely furnished, quiet and the bed was delightfully comfortable.
There is a very good French bistro (and bar) attached to the lobby with GREAT food and a nice open floor plan and plenty of windows. Service was above average.

It's about a 7 or 8 block walk to the French Quarter, it's a perfect choice for those who don't want to be in the lively French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kduay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,427 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
842 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,346 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
751 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing