We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lousy internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #48 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Spent a long weekend i n early Feb 2011. First the positives: Upscale decor and rooms, people side of the service was excellent. For example, I wanted to know if a local bar had wireless. The desk clerk coudn't reach them on the phone so he ran over to check personally, then called me back (more later on why he even needed to check on wireless somewhere else). Our hot water was sporadic. The hotel engineer showed up within minutes and changed out the hot water mixing valve. We were given a $40 voucher for the restaurant that night. Fitness center above average, but as is typical, poorly maintained equipment. No mirrors on the walls, a big miss for anyone slightly knowledgable about gym design. Nice roof top pool + hot tub. Now for the negative - INTERNET ACCESS STINKS!! First of all they charged me $12 or so for access. This is like biling for the electricity used during the stay, and marking it up 3000%. Then, it barely functions. I gave up on the wireless part and used the ethernet cable in the room, no difference in speed. I even ran a speed test on-line, came in at less than 10% of an average ISP connection. I couldn't bear the 1minute or so between web clicks so I gave up. Called the front desk, they said they were aware of speed issues and took the charge off my bill. The clerk volunteered their business center computer. I did use it to print out my boarding pass, same slow speed, took over 15 min to print it, and only allowed access to airline websites. This place needs a serious upgrade in internet service and to get with the times - stop charging for it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CulinarySnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

As veterans of Jazz Fest, I had always wanted to stay at the Ren Arts Hotel and a recent business trip offered me just that chance. This is truly a gem in the Warehouse District. From the remarkable fresh smells when you walk in, to the unbelievable art work, it is just the place to stay in New Orleans, especially for business. I strongly encourage you to stay here if you are at the convention center or instead of the W and Hilton. It has just the perfect combination of atmosphere and New Orleans enthusiasm. We had a small faculty party in the bar, and Desi was amazing. He set up a great New Orleans happy hour and to top it off a Mardi Gras parade went right by the front door. Don't keep clicking...just stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allboys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

we spent several nights here in january 2011 and highlights included the rooftop jacuzzi and fantastic front desk staff.
the location is in the central business / warehouse district and while it's walkable to the french quarter, definitely plan on taking cabs if you don't have a car. the riverfront streetcar is located a few block away and there are quite a few good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Renaissasnce Arts Hotel in New Orleans to attend a wedding. Everything about this hotel pleased us. The valet parking attendant was prompt and explained how much the parking was right up front and told us the best way to retrieve our car when we needed to.
The front desk staff was very welcoming and efficient and courteous. The lobby and common areas are filled with contempory object d'arts. Several areas to sit around and meet with friends or read a book.

More importantly, our room was very up-to-date, nicely furnished, quiet and the bed was delightfully comfortable.
There is a very good French bistro (and bar) attached to the lobby with GREAT food and a nice open floor plan and plenty of windows. Service was above average.

It's about a 7 or 8 block walk to the French Quarter, it's a perfect choice for those who don't want to be in the lively French Quarter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kduay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My parents and I linked up in New Orleans for a quick weekend after I had business in the area and we had a great stay at this hotel. The staff, especially the porters, bell staff, valet parking attendants, and front desk staff were especially accommodating and polite toward my parents. The hotel's location in the up-and-coming Warehouse/Arts district was nice on it's own - some nice galleries in the area, a good restaurant in the hotel and others in the neighborhood, etc. In addition, it was close enough to enjoy the tourist spots of New Orleans such as the World War II museum, the street car to the Garden District and the French Quarter. The art work in the hotel itself was fun to look at and made the hotel generally and more interesting than average. I really liked the workout / exercise room - lots of good, well-maintained, and clean equipment - with drinking water and towels available - along with personal TVs and headphones available for the aerobic (treadmill, cycle, etc.) stations. Overall, it was a great stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We are repeat visitors to New Orleans and like to stay at different hotels in slightly different locations each time. We definitely plan on returning to the Renaissance Arts Hotel.

The location is very good, in the CBD, just a bit outside the French Quarter. We were outside the craziness, but close enough to walk to the River, Quarter, and Casino. We also were able to investigate the CBD more, and go to some different restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel was very clean, with an attractive lobby. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, even before our arrival. We were upgraded to the Club level, and given a bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries for our anniversary, with a nice note. It also made available to us the Club lounge for snacks in the morning and evening.

The room was nice, clean, and spacious. It was cleaned quickly every day, regardless of when we left and returned.

We like to have a balcony to enjoy being outside while in NO, which we didn't have here, but we went up on the roof by the pool and lounged in the chairs in the sun. It was lovely.

The hotel was very quiet. We only heard anyone once or twice when there were particularly loud people walking down the hall. Other than that, there was no noise at all, and we felt very secluded in our room. There was even a wedding on Saturday night, with no noise traveling upstairs at all.

We highly recommend the Renaissance Arts Hotel, and definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Very nice Hotel and Area, except that it is a fair walk from French Quarter. Very good Restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JotaJota56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
2,448 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,610 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $162 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans, Louisiana hotel experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Our Navigators are delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing