We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2005

My friends and I stayed at the Renaissance Arts Hotel for 3 days during the Essence Music Festival. I wanted to stay at The W, but it was booked by the time I was able to get everyone to agree to go to the Festival. I was thoroughly impressed by the hotel. During our stay I visited the other hotels in the area and they were so congested that it was hard to even get into your room and some you had to show your room key just to get in. I think that this was and excellent choice of hotel because of the location, cleanliness, staff support, and less confusion. The only gripe we had was that the restaurant was not the best. Mrs. Carter and Q helped us with our every need and did not once give us an ugly look as to we were getting on their nerves. If you are looking for a quiet non-congested hotel in walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the BIG EASY this is the hotel for you. I will most definitely will stay here next year.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank RendezvousSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    453
    112
    31
    13
See reviews for
208
314
46
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2005

Our four-night stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in the Warehouse District in May couldn't have been better. The hotel, a delightfully refurbished warehouse, is gorgeous with its clean, sleek lines and amazing art work throughout. Our room was first-class in decor, cleanliness, wonderfully comfy beds and extras to pamper us. Service was friendly and impeccable, from desk staff to valets to restaurant and bar staff.
We've stayed in some great hotels over the years and the Arts Hotel ranks among the very best. And, best of all, we stayed there at the shockingly affordable internet-special rate of $79 per night, plus $25 for parking.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2005

Stayed at the Renaissance Arts May 27-30, and found this stay to be every bit as pleasant as my December visit. The staff is accommodating and professional. Yes, it is a walk from this hotel to the FQ, so if you plan on making the FQ your focal point and don't like to walk, I would suggest something closer to Canal or in the FQ. As mentioned in another review, the streets are deserted late at night so I advise taking a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Crankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 24, 2005

It is true that the lobby & public areas are beautifully designed and filled with great contemporary art. If I could do it again, I would visit the lobby & stay somewhere else. Three reasons- I was surprised to find a spacious, pleasant room with a worn & soiled carpet. Not only soiled, but inadequately vacuumed, judging by the scattered wee bits of debris. I'd have forgiven all if only the room had been cleaned properly the following day. But, when I returned to my room the next evening, there was the same popcorn kernal next to my bed, and the same bits of dirt elsewhere. That just doesn't cut it. Second, I had booked Concierge Level for a Thursday & Friday night stay. No one bothered to tell me when I made my reservation, or when I checked in, that there are no Concierge services from noon on Friday to noon on Saturday. So - no hors d'ouevres or bar access, no breakfast, no club access. What then was I paying for, and more importantly, couldn't someone have mentioned this? They did remove the charge but only when I happened to find out by chance and contested the Friday charge. Lastly, the hotel is a very long walk from the French Quarter, in a quiet part of the Warehouse District, and the streets become quite deserted at night, which was unsettling. On a positive note, I must say that the staff was very professional and pleasant.

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2005

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, paid for the concierge level room which gives access to the lounge with goodies and beverages. Had requested 2 dbl beds, but was given a king bedrm suite with a pullout sofa. Also, had to return to the front desk to have room key recoded since it would not work on lounge door which I had paid for. Breakfast at the restaurant was expensive, but good. Rooms were quiet and clean. Hotel staff was accomodating and pleasant. Tommy's restaurant (1 block away) has good food and better prices and variety. Overrall a good stay and I would return.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank trav05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2005

This hotel had everything we wanted while staying in New Orleans. Not too close to the action, but close enough to feel in the mix. Rooms are as nice (or nicer!!) as the W or the Monaco at HALF the price. Rooftop pool and jacuzzi couldn't have been better--soaking under the stars was gorgeous. Staff was courteous and helpful and room service was actually GOOD!! There is a fabulous sculpture gallery inside the hotel which is an interesting bonus and if you're there on a Saturday, there is an adorable farmer's market every Saturday morning around the corner from the hotel. Perfect!! We will defintely make this our New Orleans hotel from here on out. Thank you Renaissance Arts!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2005

Just came back from a trip to the Jazzfest; my family (2 adults, 2 12 year olds) stayed at the Renaissance Arts. Very nice, comfortable, attractive hotel. The first night we were given a room with windows on an interior atrium, not so nice; we asked to be moved to a room with exterior windows and that was no problem -- much better room. The rooms were slightly smaller than standard, but still fine. Nice furnishings, art on the walls, etc. Rooftop swimming pool was very pleasant. (The hottub, though, was at best lukewarm.) Had a late meal one night in the hotel restaurant which was excellent. One bad experience was that my daughter's swimsuit was mistakenly taken by the housekeeping staff and apparently thrown away; the hotel has agreed, however, to reimburse us for it. -- It's a bit of a walk to the French Quarter, but not too bad. One can also walk about 4 blocks to a trolley stop.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Slothrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#39 of 163 in New Orleans
880 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 163 in New Orleans
2,258 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,387 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 163 in New Orleans
772 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#87 of 163 in New Orleans
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing