We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #48 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Living in Louisiana, I have been to New Orleans numerous times. Wanting to take my wife for a weekend getaway form the kids, and not wanting to stay in the Quarter(usuall very noisy), I decided to try this hotel. I could not have been more surprise. Upon arriving, the valet attendant was there as I stepped out of my car. I was a little early checkin in, no problem. Our room was a very nicely appointed kingsize room. Although we did not spen much time in the hotel, the bed was very comfortable. The room walls were obviously thin, as we could hear our neighbors when we would stop by during the day to drop off our goodies we picked up shopping. The location was great. A nice short walk anywhere you wanted to go. And at night to get around, a cab was always ready at the cab stand, not so at other hotels I have stayed at. And to top it all off, the rate was only 60.00 a night. WOW!! Try getting that in New Orleans at a 4 star hotel in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsumccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2009

Just returned from a 5 night stay and I must say we "lucked out"....this hotel is in the best location.....we don't mind walking...so 4 blocks to the convention center, 8 blocks to the French Quarter, 3-4 blocks to the financial district, and a nice 2 mile stroll to the garden district.
Loved the rooftop pool...as it had unobstructive views of the city and unobstructive sun (most other hotel rooftop pools are shaded for most of the day).....after a long walk...it was nice to come back and relax there.
Loved the Art/Warehouse district and all the art galleries...be sure to check them out.
And the hotel itself is a wonderful art gallery....what a great job they did designing this old converted warehouse...
There are some great nearby restaurants and although everyone seems to like Lucy's across the street....we had lousy service and the food was terrible (perhaps an off-night?). Try the hotel restaurant...gret seafood!
A few negative issues...room was not the cleanest......we could tell they never vacuumed the room for 3 days.....that crumb was still there!!! Rugs needed shampooing.
We were fortunate enough to have club lounge access and we thought the morning continental b-fast options were not too good...they did serve something hot each morning....but when it ran out....you had to keep asking to replenish the food....ended up going to the hotel restaurant for b-fast where food and service was much better.
The staff were very friendly and overall very accomodating...
Be careful walking at night....it is a dangerous city and had heard reports of people being robbed at gunpoint in the FQ.
Would definitely return to this hotel again and again....

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Staff was helpful from the moment we parked in front of the hotel. Valet or off site parking only, so be advised of the $28/night parking fee. Room was elegant, but a bit small. We stayed on the "club floor" which offered both evening and breakfast fare, eben on the weekend.

The hotel is about a five minute walk to Harrah's and another five minutes to the French Quarter. There is a great burger/bar restaurant just across the street (Lucy's).

The Renaissance Arts is quite unusual for a "chain" hotel. The architecture and public art collection make it delightfully unique. We have stayed in many of the downtown NO hotels over the years, but this one has now become our favorite.

Do take the time to view the art collection.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ithaca-Chasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My wife, one-year-old child, and I stayed in the Marriott Renaissance Arts Hotel in March of 2009. We stayed for 3 days, and our experience from valet to checkout was absolutely wonderful. The hotel lobby is very contemporary and elaborate. Check-in took all of 5 minutes. There is a small room to the right of the check-in desk with snacks, drinks, disposable cameras, and an ATM. Soft drink and ice machines are also located on each floor near the elevator. Our room was on the 4th floor in the Club Lounge area. For those of you with access to this level, you can obtain free soft drinks and water from this area as well as having a continental breakfast, including scrambled eggs, everyday except Saturday and Sunday. The lounge offers hors d’oeuvres during meal times as well as free Internet access, television, and books to read. There is also a restaurant adjoining the hotel lobby, which is quite elegant, but we were dressed casual when we ate there for breakfast, as the restaurant was not very busy. The breakfast buffet was around 16 dollars and featured sausage, bacon, pastries, juice, cereal, and made to order eggs. The fifth floor has an exercise area with several elliptical machines and a few weight lifting stations. On this same floor, proceed out the door to the right to access the pool and hot tub area, which has several seating areas, arranged with a beautiful view of the New Orleans skyline. Be aware that this area has a room key access to return to the building, so don’t forget your room key or you may be on the roof for a while enjoying the view. There was a king-sized bed in our room, which was soft and comfortable. The entertainment-center featured free cable with HBO and of course my favorite, webtv Internet access as well as a huge in-room movie selection. There was also a small refrigerator and a digital safe inside the entertainment center. Internet access from your own computer could be obtained for 12.95 per day. The air conditioner works very well and is controlled by a digital thermostat. There is a small business area in the corner of the room outfitted with a nice table, chair, and coffee maker. The closet is large enough for a small family’s clothing. This is where the iron and ironing board are stored. We found the bathroom area to be quite nice featuring a dresser-like sink stand with granite counter tops as well as a nice size bathtub with a diffusing shower cap. There is a large window in the room with a view of the small side street and adjacent building. Our room was very clean and there is a digital do-not-disturb button located next to the door, which was quite nice. The valet was obtained by a phone call to the front desk. Our car was ready within 5 minutes of the call and was always waiting for us by the time we made it downstairs. We were in and out of the hotel three or four times per day and the valet’s were always courteous. I highly recommend the valet service due to the fact that the other option is a Central Parking managed area located about a block from the hotel with no in and out privilege. This parking area does not offer an attendant, but has a computerized ticketing system and the overnight rate was 28 dollars, which is the same price as the hotel valet service. It was much more convenient having our car brought to the front door. We were in New Orleans for the NSTA convention and this hotel is only about three blocks from the convention center. We made the walk one morning with our child in his stroller, which was quite nice. The only other advice I can offer is to remember to look up when searching for this hotel. The only sign for the hotel is located on top of the building. We passed it up several times before locating it. As stated before, this hotel is absolutely wonderful, and we look forward to more stays with the Marriott organization.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELMATES2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed here for about 100+ nights in 2007 and 2008. Really like the place and have zero negative issues. Hotel is very well-maintained with sublime design elements that make it a cut above others in this price range. If you are lucky enough to gain access to the concierge lounge, you will find a very comfortable room, well appointed with a den area, reading nook, flat screen TV, and really good food (morning and evening) and assisted by helpful attendants. The lobby restaurant has a wonderful staff and knows what customer service is...and the food is terrific. The rooms are beautiful with the high ceilings and huge windows, especially the suites and corner rooms. The top floor gym is rather complete and very good. The location puts it within blocks of the best restaurants in the U.S., including Emeril's and August plus cool little bars and dives. This is in the warehouse district, a relatively safe part of NOLA with businesses, restaurants and loft apartments throughout. TIP: pretty easy to find free parking on the street in the area

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrvandelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Great location, great big & quiet rooms, friendly staff, okay restaurant (fabulous places w/in walking distance), but need to vacuum the carpets in the public areas more frequently.
I would definitely stay here again, particularly for the $55/nt rate I got on Priceline.com.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Dackels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I travel extensively and am quite particular. The Renaissance Arts has some terrific qualities, but also some pitfalls. We arrived early and had no expectation of checking in early--but we had great service from Nathalie at the front desk. I had called earlier in the week to request a exterior king corner room as I had heard that these rooms were bigger and quieter. The person I spoke with indicated a note would be made on my reservation and that it would be no problem, albeit, she sounded ambivilent. Upon arrival, Nathalie noted that there were no notes on the reservation and she indicated that no king beds would be available during our stay. After expressing my disappointment, Nathalie was able to unblock an exterior corner king. The room was blocked because it was to have some carpet sections replaced. The room clearly needed to have some carpeting replaced. My sense is that some rooms have already been through this process--hence the reviews about no carpet stains. Ours was pretty stained and torn up--so it's good they'll be replacing. The duvet in our room was also stained and looked like it needed to be changed.

Again, Nathalie was the only real standout on the staff--most were aloof at best--especially the bell staff.

The location is good--much quieter than in the Quarter and if you can get a good rate, you should opt for this hotel.

Room service was average--not what we ordered, but we were tired and just went with it.

Visit Lucy's across the street--a retired surfer bar--fun!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grommit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#75 of 167 in New Orleans
2,461 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 167 in New Orleans
1,069 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $154 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans, Louisiana's French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans hotel experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Our Navigators are delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing