We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel-wonderful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #53 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is an old warehouse with a beautiful lobby (breathtaking hand blown glass chandeliers), wonderful, helpful staff and has a clean, crisp smell when you enter the doorway. Our room was quite large and roomy with a comfortable bed and nice view of the busy street below. The location was great - close to many wonderful restaurants and a short walk to Bourbon Street.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bretmcbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently booked a four night stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in New Orleans. It was rated as a "luxury hotel" which was what we were looking for. There is no way this should be called a luxury hotel. The carpets, both in the rooms and the public areas are absolutely filthy. The music played in lobby, which nice in the lobby was not something we wanted to hear in our room. Our room was quite with the exception of the "lobby music" playing around the clock. Yes, 24 hours a day. I called four different times, once at 1am and asked if they could turn down the lobby music as we could hear it in our room...I was told every time that they would speak to engineering - not one time was the music turned down. Don't waste your money on the "club floor"...a small room which reeks of mildew where you can get coffee and a continental breakfast. The woman who staffs the room is wonderful, but there is no value in it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a really nice property and well placed near the heart of the action in New Orleans. Plenty of nearby restaurants and watering holes but there is a very nice restaurant in the hotel as well. Very clean place and the room was spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

While visiting our daughter in NOLA, we like to tap our frequent flier points and we LOVE this Marriott property. It's a great location - within walking distance of the quarter, but not so close that it's creepy. Not too far from the St Charles streetcar. BEAUTIFUL art all around the hotel - makes it feel extra special.

The hotel breakfast is standard fare (marginal) but across the street at Lucy's Surfer Bar they do a delightful breakfast and the music is great. The bar is hopping (and sometimes a bit loud) on weekends.

Room Tip: Higher floor - away from the bar which gets noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jomama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Clean, great staff, beds were SUPER comfortable and I have a bad back so that says alot. I stayed here for business meetings, food was good. They have a gourmet restaurant on the premises which came highly recommended. Its a walk into town, it was about 5 blocks to Canal Street which gets you to Bourbon, Decatur, etc....but I like to walk, so I found the location perfect as it gave me some peace and quiet when I wanted it but close enough to the action to walk around. Cabs are everywhere too so if you are not a walker you wont have a problem getting a ride. I enjoyed using the rooftop pool and steam room. Small workout facility but perfect for the size of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainie2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a girls trip in during the Jazz Festival in April 2012. The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. We had two conjoined rooms on the trip which worked out well for us. The beds were clean and comfy and the bathrooms were clean also. The rooftop pool was a nice amenity to this hotel, and free wifi in the lobby and common areas was convenient. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the main attractions and taxis were not difficult to find thanks to the friendly valet staff. The low price we received on marriott.com made it easy for us to choose this hotel based on its price and value, and trust us we compared it to many hotels in NOLA. Overall this hotel met all of our expectations and we will be sure to recommend this hotel to others planning a trip to the Big Easy!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nmanzanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very close to all but far enough away to maintain your sanity. It's a 7 minute walk to the French Quarter and a 3 minute walk to the Riverside area. Warehouse district is filled with great restaurants, shops and nightlife. The art work in the hotel was stunning and very refreshing to see displayed throughout the hotel. The rooftop salt water pool is a must. Very relaxing away from the noise and crowds. Great place for a midday tan. Our room was HUGE! Although the bathroom was cramped. Ask for a room facing Commerce street which is much more quiet than Tchoupitoulas Street with Lucy's bar blasting music and rowdy people all night long - especially if a football game is on

Room Tip: 3rd floor facing Commerce Street are large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nooyawkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 166 in New Orleans
2,424 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $141 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans, Louisiana hotel experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Our Navigators are delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing