We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #50 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

A real bargain with great service in a cool (for a Marriott) hotel. The hotel is in the hip Warehouse district within walking distance of a lot to see and do. Highly recommend the stay for breakfast rate as the buffet is great. Loved those grits. Miniscule rooftop pool but perfectly nice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyBK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    436
    106
    27
    11
See reviews for
195
303
41
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at this property for the first two days prior to the NCAA Final Four. I had been looking at this hotel on line, and was intrigued by what I saw. I was able to book it on the Marriott site on Monday prior to our arrival on Wednesday. My fiancee was a coach and needed to attend the coaches convention which was being held at the Convention Center and the Hilton. This was my first time to New Orleans, and this hotel did not disappoint. I had read some reviews of this hotel which were not 100% positive, and I was a little concerned, but the price was right and it was down the street from where we needed to be.

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. I've stayed and hundreds of "traditional" Marriott properties, so I am always excited when I find one that isn't "just like all the others." We checked in and they had upgraded us to one of the suites on the 4th floor. The outside hallway makes it look like you are entering the outside of a house. Each room even had a doorbell. The room was immaculate, and while the bathroom was small, it didn't matter because we had two as well as a living room area. Our room overlooked the courtyard area.

We would stay here again without question. This hotel is unique, close to everything, but not in the middle of everything. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did try to add 4 nights to our stay, but the rate (because of the Final Four) were triple what we were paying so chose to move to another Marriott property in Metairie.

We used the concierge lounge on two mornings. It is a small lounge, and opens and closes, and removes food precisely at the time it says, not one minute more.

The roof top pool is great. You can see all over the city which is fun. However the pool itself is very small. The workout room is excellent and provides multiple options.

You do NOT need a car at this property (or in New Orleans for that matter) as parking is at a premium and valet parking is very expensive here. The blocks are short and you can walk to the convention center, Harrah's, Riverwalk and multiple restaurants easily. All are within about a 10 minute walk.

We ate desert in the restaurant which was great, and they even have rootbeer floats which you don't often see on any hotel menus.

They stock the showers and bath with Aveda products, and the beds are very comfortable.

If we are back here again we will certainly consider staying here. I only wished we could have afforded to stay for the entire weekend.

If you are looking for late night food, the Ernst Cafe is a bar that serves great burgers and chicken sandwiches (about 4 or so blocks away). We got in late and were hungry, the two bars which are on the same street were not what we were looking for (loud and bar food), and the bummer was the restaurants all stopped serving at 10AM on the weeknights. Which sort of surprised me since we were in a city which I thought would be open "all night"

Room Tip: We stayed in room 467 which is one of 7 suites in the hotel. It was in a great location, and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The art is beautifully displayed inside this hotel. The hotel is located in the warehose district and in walking distance to restuarants and shopping. The staff was less than attentative and service was "spotty". Carpet in my room was soiled and in need of cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexiaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel is fantastic and located in an ideal location (Warehouse district). It close enough to the French Quarter to walk but far away enough to be a retreat from the mess! The hotel is immaculate and beautiful. I found the beds to be comfortable and well appointed. The towels provided were also plush. Please visit the rooftop pool and hottub; it gives a great view of the city. I'd stay here again when I can't afford the Ritz :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raceland, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Renaissance Arts Hotel for a Sade concert. I chose this hotel because of its roof top pool but eveything about the hotel was perfect. Received an incredible deal on the hotel through LMT! Check in was simple and fast. You'd have a nice walk or I recommend catching a cab from the hotel to Bourbon St if you're going party. Looking foward to staying again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mojeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Plains
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We bid on priceline for a hotel in the warehouse district so had no input into which hotel other than price. We got the Renaissance and it was a wonderful surprise! Beautiful in a fresh, brightly colored decor - the artwork around the hotel is very interesting and atypcial for hotels. The lobby is scented with something that smelled fresh and inviting! The rooms were appointed nicely, and the bed was divine! We'd consider buying one of their beds for our home!! Location was good for us - near WW II Museum, and close enough to walk to restaurants in the French Quarter. And it was very, very quiet! We'd definitely recommend this hotel for the quality it has, the friendly service, and it's location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

This property is a 10 minute walk to the middle of the convention center & 15 min walk to bourbon street also the casino is about 6 mins by foot.

The rooms are nice and beds are comfy as well.

So here is my problem. I had an early morning flight and had to be at airport for 515am.

I went to the valet and asked how I can arrange for a cab that early. He took my name and room info and told mere would have a car waiting for me. Woke up in the morning,got dressed and walked to the entrance and could see it was pouring rain out. So walked out and waited for a good 15 mins and no car. The lobby was all dark so I called a cab on my own and made it to airport with no problem. So your asking yourself what's the problem?

Well I contacted hotel and spoke to manager and all he had to say it sounded like a scam! You should have come inside to the front desk and we would have made arrangements for you and that valet are outsourced.

My response to that is when you have someone out front with a name tag greeting guests then he is a extension of you and represents the property. You should of just said I'm sorry and I will take a look into it. Instead you didn't really care. Show some leadership because I will tell you now that it just shows how much Marriott cares about its clients .

If you want to be treated well take my word this place is comfy but your just a number like most otherMarriott properties where status is nothing.

If you can I recommend the W on Poydras much nicer stay and the staff cares!

And one last thing to the manager your in New Orleans give people a reason to comeback besides for mardi gras and jazz fest. Because your treatment sure won't .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteb201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#31 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#71 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,661 reviews
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing