We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #60 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Do not go to the Queen Anne. it's like going on an internet date when they don't look like their photos. They told us it was smoke free when we booked. But when we got to our room, it reeked off smoke and smelled like an ashtray. The room had stains everywhere and was overall disgusting. We asked to leave and not be charged, but the manager, Dori, refused and ended up charging us for one night anyways, despite us telling her we had smoke allergies. I asked her to please not charge me, this was my birthday trip. She smirked when I said this, charged my card, then said "Happy Birthday"! But that's not all. You should know that the hotel is in a bad part of town that's not close to anything. And you don't even check in at the hotel - you have to check in at another building (where you also have to park) that's like a quarter mile away. Plus they serve breakfast outside in the heat in this same building that's a quarter mile away from the hotel. We ended up staying at a nicer place. And there are plenty of nice places to stay at in NOLA. But this is not one of them people. It looks nice on the internet, but it's a lot older looking in person and a total dump. Don't go here.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Patrick20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Readers,
Facts vs Fiction is always the other side of the story. It is amazing that guests think 1 mile ( 16 city blocks) to the French Quarter is basically in another city, and that 1 block to the Streetcar line is too far to walk. I am not going to stoop to his level and tell him to "Go to Hell " like he told me as he staggered out of the lobby, nor am I going to question his measurement of a 1/4 mile to registration as equivalent to 1 city block, from 1625 Prytania to 1525 Prytania.

I do wonder though, when booking through a 3rd party online site, do guests even read the details, research the food and entertainment around us, which there is plenty of options, compare location to French Quarter, or do they just look at where can I get the best price for what they want to pay, and what will give them the most bang for their buck, but yet, still expect French Quarter excitement, nightlife to be right at their door step without breaking a sweat, or taking a taxi cab ride for $8 bucks, if the streetcar is too far to walk to.

I am just going to wish him Happy 40th Birthday again, with a smile, as I did the day of arrival when he late canceled his 1 night reservation.

Dori H Schulman
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Queen Anne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The room was awesome. Clean and beautiful . Parking was free but very limited . This was our first time at a bed and breakfast . Breakfast is only served from 7-9 and it is served outside in the heat. It was told to us on check in that breakfast was served across the street from our room. When we went to find it it was no where to be found. I called the front desk and the "continental breakfast " was served in an outside patio/breeze way with cramped quarters and limited seating. I thought bed and breakfasts normally serve meals inside in a dining room. For the price we paid you would have done better to have stayed at a chain motel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rgc920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliment on the room, however, I am a bit confused as to the other comments.
1. Limited parking? We have 2 parking lots. The main lot that has nearly 50+ spaces, which is where the main registration lobby is, you must have seen this one when you arrived, and the smaller, 2ndary lot, across from the Queen Anne that has 10 spaces. You could have parked in either one, both are Free of Charge.

Underestandably, most QA guest will of course seek a space across the street from the Mansion, for obvious reasons. However, that does not mean you could not park in the larger lot, that is about 50 yards further. We advise all QA guests of this. I am sorry that you did not understand this, and that caused you some grief.

2. Bed and Breakfast? I am not sure why you thought the QA was a B&B. No where do we state we are, no where do we market that we are, and no where does any of our property pictures show we are of such, nor are there any pictures of a "dining room" at the Queen Anne. Our website states we are a Limited Service hotel offers a Free Continental breakfast, and maybe you put two and two together to make the B&B idea?!?

We do serve an Expanded Continental breakfast across the street at our Sister property, The Prytania Oaks, from time to time. And, we do serve it down the street at our main property, The Prytania Park, from time to time. It will vary. I am sorry if you were given out the wrong information as to its location while you were with us, but most smaller hotels serve for a few hours only. We are a total of 88 rooms, 12 of which are at the Queen Anne.

There is plenty of seeing at both, and also at the Queen Anne courtyard. With the trays provided, many guests bring it back to their property to sit outdoors and enjoy the morning, before the heat of the day creeps in. There are not too many places where you can sit under enormous Live Oak trees, or amongst lush gardens in our courtyards, while sipping your morning cup of Joe, or a glass of cold OJ and eating light, but savory breakfast. How unique and unusual this is. This is the charm of staying in the Garden District,, in a Mansion and not a big concrete box hotel.

3. As far as the price you paid, you would doing better at a chain motel? Ouch- Really?!?. I am sure you will not find the quality furnishings, room appointments, lush bedding and bath linens at a chain motel, and certainly not with 14" ceilings, with a Solid Mahagony hand carved staircase that is over 150 years old , and rooms that have Antique Red Heart Pine floors. Also, one that offers you such a great value. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Early Check in , a Free Guest accessible computer/printer, and all of this in a 7000 sqft Mansion under the canopy of Live Oak trees that are close to 200+ years, in one of Southeast Louisana's most prestigous neighborhoods.

If you do come across that, please do let me know, I would like to stay there too!

Happy Travels to you,
Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Prytania Oaks Hotel three years ago and liked it (especially with free parking). This time we decided to stay at the Queen Ann across the street.

The room is spacious and the ceiling is high. We like it better than the Prytania Oaks where rooms are smaller. The building has a certain historic charm. Only a couple of other people were staying so it was very quiet and we almost had the entire building to ourselves.

Also, now Prytania has a nice breakfast room! (See photos). The food quality has also improved. Three years ago the breakfast table was awkwardly set up outside and the breakfast was pretty bad.

We also love the location. Our favorite restaurants are in Uptown and you can go there by taking the streetcar on St. Charles or the bus on Magazine St, or strolling on Magazine St. like we did. Magazine St. is only a few blocks from the hotel and it has a lot of cute and funky stores.

Front desk people are not very friendly (one of them was almost rude)—this hasn’t changed! (If this improves, I would give five stars.) Beyond that, however, this is a wonderful place to stay at and this will our go-to hotel in NOLA!

Room Tip: If noise from Prytania St. bothers you (like me), ask for a room in the back.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Quiet and clean place to stay. Close to St. Charles Streetcar when you get tired of walking. Wish we had more time in New Orleans... I would definitely stay here again. Free continental breakfast at The Oaks across the street was nice as well.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice, comfy bed and clean. It is very close to St Charles Ave. and the streetcar, which is the best way to get around New Orleans. There is a Walgreen's nearby where you can buy the Jazzy pass for the streetcars. The only negative is that room service sucks. All they do is change the towels and make the bed and you never know at what time during the day they will show up.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kdp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Room was clean, hotel was quiet, free parking, free breakfast, the streetcar was right there. Comfy bed with lots of pillows, hot water under pressure. Would give it 5/5 but housekeeping skipped me one day, got some towels from the front desk, plenty clean ones to start with and the ones they gave me were good, too. The toilet seat broke the last day! It had a crack in it when i got here and it broke the day i left. Toilet was immaculate, though. Also a couple of vending machines would be a good idea, maybe in the courtyard of the Oaks across the street. for $100/US i won't complain too hard. Would go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hurricane567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed again at the Queen Anne, part of the Pyrtania hotel group in New Orleans. These group of three near hotels are incredibly unique and offer a great experience at a reasonable price. Management is very personable and responsive and take great pride to making sure their guests are treated as such. Convenient to downtown and one block from the St Charles Trolley, come experience these great hotels!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank battleship60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#117 of 165 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#103 of 165 in New Orleans
797 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 141 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#20 of 141 in New Orleans
672 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $133 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing