We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mississippi girl”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #60 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Baldwyn, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mississippi girl”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here last year during the essence festival weekend and I loved the location and the privacy. Loved sitting on the front porch in the mornings and late afternoon. It was close to the streetcar line and tons of restaurants, bars, and just places to shop. I will be returning this year for the essence festival again and yes I have already booked to stay at the queen anne again. We have decided this is our hotel that we will stay each time we visit new Orleans. We also got to meet another couple that was staying at the same hotel that we are now friends with and they will also be joining us at the queen anne again this year. They changed there original hotel to come stay at the queen anne to hang out with my husband and I. We checked out at our original time 11am but our train wasn't leaving until 2:30pm so the desk kept our luggage while we got in some more site seeing before time to go. So thanks Queen Anne for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mookie806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
45
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights for our anniversery. We arrived early and they checked us in , no questions asked or charge. The staff was very helpful, providing maps of the area. The Queen sits around the corner from the main hotel where the check in was. This did seem weard, but it was like a friend giving you the key to their home when they are away. We came and went without ever seeing anyone else at the Queen Ann. They have a lovely porch and tables in a garden area to sit outside. We bought Jazzypasses at Walmart, three blocks away on St Charles St. Then we used the trolly as much as we wanted for two days. The pass was for three days, but still a good deal for as much as we used it. Parking is free, and there are two spaces at the Queen, some more saved spaces on the street in front. Also more parking at the hotel itself if needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeleneUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My 10 year old daughter and i stayed for 2 nights before going on a cruise. We were on the bottom floor with a great view of the porch and street. the place was clean, quite, and comforting. My daughter loved the antique bed that had the wooden step stool to climb into bed on. I myself loved the fireplace and the whole feeling of the place. We were there the first weeknd of Jazzfest. We both enjoyed the trollet rides to the french quarter and being able to walk everywhere else. the location was great for us.

Room Tip: I loved our room despite seeing other people complain on here about being clse to front door and lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest and Future Guests,

Thank you so much for your review!! We love that you and your daughter loved our property so much as we strive to make each guests experience a good one.

However, due to recent events, I would like to clarify one point. The Queen Anne is an adults 25 and older property. Although we love children here, we also love to give our guests a quiet and relaxing visit.

Next time you visit New Orleans, please be sure to check out our sister property The Prytania Park Hotel. That property offers rooms with more than 2 beds in a unique loft style which gives kids the experience of having a "room of their own" and makes the experience that much more unique.

Thanks,

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for a girls weekend for Jazzfest at The Queen Anne up on the 3rd floor. Great house in a great location! Breakfast was awesome, just across a quiet street was great coffee and Danishes, etc. Lovely quiet house. Pack light if youre up on the third floor to tackle the 53 stairs, great workout! Clean and comfy.. Great location a block off the streetcar with restaurants close. Thanks Queen Anne!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redruby4403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of the French quarter fest. Great location on the St Charles trolley line which gives access to all the bits of NOLA you want to see. This hotel is one of 3 situated in close proximity to each other and you have to check in at the main hotel. It was slightly strange not having staff onsite but there was a phone in the room if you needed anything. The hotel has lots of original features and was very 'quaint and southern'. The breakfast was adequate and nicely presented.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I traveled to New Orleans for our anniversary and thought The Queen Anne would be quite nice. However when we checked in we started looking around the room. Their coffee mugs hadn't been cleaned, their coffee machine still had old coffee in it, there was gaps in the floor and walls where you could see straight outside, it rained when we stayed and the roof leaked and our luggage got wet, the fire alarm went off at midnight and it was still going off 2 hours later, very noisy hotel with the banging and slamming doors. Had no accommodations for any of our bad experiences especially our luggage being soaked. All they said was and I quote, "we'll get it fixed" Please save your money and stay somewhere else in New Orleans this place is a joke.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregandsandra2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Readers,

I am always amazed how guests forget the good things, and only dwell on the unfortunate “beyond our control” issues.

He forgets to mention, he asked for a Special Request prior to his arrival. To place Rose petals on the bed, so we went to the Florist the day of arrival, purchased over $25 worth of Fresh roses (Red, White, and Pink), to make a beautiful and very romantic aromatic room. Of course, this was at No charge to him as it was our pleasure to help make his Special Weekend that much more memorable.

He forgets to mention, he asked for a late check out, between 1 and 2 pm. Although, our check out is stated for 11 am, we honored, and again, at No Charge to him. We knew it was a romantic weekend for him, and presumed he wanted to sleep in late, so we waived the late check out fee. A savings upwards of $30.

He forgets to mention we had Tropical Storm force winds of 44mph, and horizontal rain for over 8 hours. The lighting and thunder was so fierce, the mansion was hit, and set off the alarm system. I know in the middle of the night, a few minutes seems like hours, but it took maintenance to arrive to reset it within 12 mins.

The Coffee cup and maker issue came to be on the 1st full morning of his stay. It was a housekeeper oversight, and we did apologize. It certainly was not intentional, nor was it our plan for his 1 suitcase to get wet. The gaps in the floor are not really gaps, but where the house has settled. Its been standing since the 1890’s, and needed a rest, and along the baseboard, the red heart pine floor pulled away ever so slightly. A pencil size gap, that is about 3 inches in length. Nothing to worry about, the house is sturdy, and the gap will be addressed in the very near future.

But I do question, if he saw and heard the rain dripping in from a leak (that we were not aware of), why did he not move his suitcase over to the other side, or to another part of the room? The luggage rack is the standard wood one, that easily folds up and is very lightweight. Or better yet, why did he not use the Clothes armoire and dresser drawers that are in the room???? Either option works, former works just as well but the latter is the more obvious of where his belongings should have been. I guess in Atmore Alabama they don’t have rainstorms like this.

And for the record, it was not the roof that was leaking, but the window frame on the 2nd floor needing re-sealing, and its been addressed.

Dori Halpern Schulman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Queen Anne Hotel is operated from the Prytania Oaks, which operates 3 nearby B&Bs. It is only 1 block from St. Charles which makes using the street cars and buses with a $3 day pass very easy. There is parking for a car, but many places are better using public transportation due to limited parking.

St. Charles night life can be noisy especially on the weekends. We asked for a quiet room due to Trip Advisor reviews and ended up in one on the 3rd floor. The only problem is the stairway from the 2nd to 3rd floor is about 30 inches wide and it is very difficult to get luggage up since there is no elevator.

Breakfast is so so. The room is across the street at another property. My wife has diabetes and was disappointed that there is virtually no protein. The only thing close is yogurt but it was very low on protein and high on carbs, so we ended up at the Please-U Restaurant on St. Charles for breakfasts. If they only offered hard boiled eggs it would have been fine. There is cereal, pastry, waffles, bagles, coffee, and juice.

Our room was smaller than expected based on other reviews. We reserved a King bed through Tingo but the hotel claims it was a mistake and only gave us a Queen room. They said they don't offer King beds through 3rd parties (we only used Tingo because it was linked to Trip Advisor so be careful). I won't use Tingo again because they refuse to accept that there was a mistake and give any credit. The property was a very nice mansion in generally good condition. There were some bugs in our room and a light was out but these were fixed quickly. Some of the windows have rot and are difficult to open and close, and there are no screens for bugs. So, the air conditioner and fan are used instead of fresh air.

I would recommend this hotel if the breakfast situation changed but we wouldn't stay on the third floor.

The front desk was very helpful, but I thought they could have been more understanding of the Tingo problem with the King bed reservation since they saw the paperwork.

Room Tip: Third floor is very difficult to get luggage up since there is no elevator and the staircase is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest and Readers,

Thank you for your review and I do hope we get another chance to show you the true beauty of the Mansion. But I must clarify for the readers the room assignment issue as it is not accurate based upon the booking notice, to which I have forwarded to the guest. On it, clearly shows Queen Bed, with a request for a King. I feel the need to reach out to you with some explanations as to your room assigment. Then maybe you would understand why we placed you on the 3rd floor in a Queen room.

When we rece'd your reservation from Expedia/Hotels.com, to which was sold to you via your purchased on the Tingo.com site. was a Special Request for a King Bed in the field that comes automatically on the site for a drop down box. Then, right under there, is a field for Customers to put in their own Special Requests, to which you added
" Prefer quiet room away from the noise".

(Side note, none of us have ever heard/ know about Tingo, and have never rec'd any bookings from Tingo- so when booking through an internet site, if its not a commonly known name (Hotwire,Priceline/Travelocity/Expedia-Hotels.com etc), then you take a chance of getting mis lead to what is actually being booked and services to be expected.)

Ok, so it came to room assignment, and of the 12 rooms in the Queen Anne, there are only 3 king rooms. Of those, 2 had already been prior sold direct from our website and the 3rd was open for assignment. I would have assigned it to you, but your own Special Request voided out that King room simply because of its location in the building. It was at the top of the stairs, right next to the staircase leading up to the 3rd floor. This is a high traffic area for guests who are on the 2nd floor, (5 rooms total), as well as the 3 rooms on the 3rd floor. Certainly not "quiet and away from noise".

Therefore, I honored your own Special Request and assigned you to the 3rd floor where those who seek quiet are sure to have it. The King bed special request was just that, a request, and never a guarantee. If Tingo guaranteed it, then that is an issue you must take up with them, as we never guarantee them through a 3rd party booking site. IF we have them available at time of room assignment, then we honor them and would have IF your own Special Request was not requested.

Breakfast, is marketed as Continental to which we expand so everyone can find something to nibble on. It is more of a "get me going" breakfast. We do not state a full hot breakfast is offered. As far as a Special Needs breakfast, knowing its a Contiental breakfast, some guest choose to bring their own dietary needs and add them to our own service, or choose to forgo ours and eat out. We are a small operation, and with all the dietary needs out there, it would impossible for us to cover them all. So instead of choosing one over another, we opt for a Contentinental and Expand upon it to cover most needs. Your wife could have had the Fruit filled Yogurt and one of the Whole Wheat bagel with margerine , a bowl of Raisin Bran Cereal which is on the diabetic approved cereal list, and/ or the Oatmeal or Grits. We serve OJ and Cranberry juice.

I hope this gives you some understanding in knowing we did not disregard his requests and needs as we gave you everything that we marketed the property says we would.

Fondly,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#116 of 164 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#102 of 164 in New Orleans
795 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#27 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 140 in New Orleans
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Property: Queen Anne Hotel
Address: 1525 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing