We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #93 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is a great downtown hotel with easy access to the French Quarter. The staff was great too. I feel that Homewood Suites are the best chain. I was a little skeptical about the self parking across the street, but the attendants were great and I had no problems at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    398
    196
    129
    82
See reviews for
523
231
36
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington, d.c.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

It is self-park at this hotel and the lot is located 1/2 block away down a dark alley. moreover, although you have in and out privileges, during the day cars are stacked up in the lot such that you have to wait for parking lot attendant to move cars out of the way, or must wait until space opens up so that you can park. The gym is pathetic with third-rate equipment and not much of it. Air conditioning system in the rooms is incredibly loud and the only way to sleep is to turn it off (not necessarily an option for a summer stay). Staff was nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravelerdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stay at Homewood suites nationwide and they vary greatly with several factors going into the equation. If you happen to be on an extended stay in downtown New Orleans you can't go wrong with this hotel. But if your stay is less than 1 work week there are more options you may want to consider.

Don't get me wrong. This is a nice place. But there are other national hotels that are closer to The Quarter and Bourbon street. Dining, pubs, shops etc are about a 5 block walk away from this hotel. Other than a coffee shop, and a couple of food places there's not much around.

The rooms are nice. The kitchen area is basically part of the living space. There's no island, bar or counter connected to it. But you can eat at the desk table or the coffee table in front of the sofa. The bedroom is good sized with a king bed that is comfortable. The bathroom is spacious although the tub is somewhat narrow. The rooms have a walk out balcony that is kind of nice but other buildings obstruct most decent views. The TVs are conventional 27inch types. The Internet service is adequate. The term "high speed" is quickly becoming over used by hotels.

Breakfast and the night time meals are good.

The hotel is 12th floors high and that's where I stayed. The water pressure in the shower was very weak. I ended up changing rooms lower because of this. if you are typically a top floor person be aware.

For government travel this hotel honors the Federal per diem rate. Many hotels in downtown NOLA do not.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Our experience at this hotel was wonderful. We found the management and staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We were in town with our young children to attend a Saint's game and stayed in one of their two-bedroom suites. The suite was very spacious and clean. The hotel was just a short walk from the Super Dome. Their complimentary breakfast offered a wide variety of many items for our family to enjoy. (Our children especially enjoyed making their own waffles). Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Stayed at the Homewood Suites in New Orleans while working throught the year 2008-2009 and was very pleased with the service and accommedations during my stay from the staff. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CougarLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed at the Homewood Suites on Poydras for several weeks while on extended assignment in New Orleans. I must say that in all my extensive travels the front desk staff and management were the most inept I have ever encountered! The front desk staff never made me feel welcomed and could not handle the smallest request for maintenence or housekeeping. They even checked me in and gave me a room key to a room that was already occupied! Complaints to management never really changed things. They even charged two weeks of my room to another guest! I only stayed because the place was close to my office and the breakfast staff did an awsome job. But after several weeks of frustration I finally checked out and found another place to stay. Several business associates also left because of poor service.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyflyr0552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

The hotel was adequate rooms were spacious and clean for our group of 6 girlfriends 35+ in age - we had a two bedroom suite, the kitchen was convenient for beverages and warming up leftover (doggiebags) etc. - there was a small balcony off the king bedroom but no view - the side of a buiding and the parking lot was the view...location was close to the Superdome which was our purpose...I frequent Homewood Suites typically with my children - I found this Homewood Suite to be the worst of all I've stayed - decor, service and all. We found it insulting that this establishment required all guest to wear florescent green wrist bands for our entire stay - and if not worn during the breakfast hours, you were denied service - even if you had your room key. WOW. The front desk staff lacked any knowledge of the area, dinning, entertainment etc. The Essence Music Festival is a major event in the town of New Orleans, you'd think this hotel would have been prepared - particularly since they were sold out that weekend (July 3rd - 6th)...This hotel made my group feel less than welcomed and rather restrictive. AND to our shock...while walking down the streets of N.O. someone recognized our florescent bands and identified what hotel we were staying at - WHAT A SAFTY HAZARD for a group of women traveling the streets of N.O. This hotel must find another way to identify it's patrons without the use of such tactics. Shame on Homewood Suites N.O. - and yes, it is time for an upgrade. This hotel just does not make you feel special. Next year for the E.M.F. we will choose differently...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing