We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was a little depressing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #93 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
San Francisco
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Room was a little depressing”
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Having stayed the previous night at the Homewood Suites in Houston the New Orleans hotel seemed old fashioned. The rooms feel dated and poorly laid out- long thin front room. Although we had asked for a non smoking room we could still smell the smoke. Bed is comfortable and the bathrooms are big.

We were told our floor had been made a Non Smoking floor a couple of months before but you could immediately smell the stale smoke as you opened the door. Asking for a change of room we were given another room on a different floor with exactly the same issue.

They did try to help by putting in an ionizer for the evening which helped.

The initial girl on checkin seemed more interested in her personal phone call than working with customers. Not a great start but apart from her all the other staff were friendly.

Breakfast was poor and very basic. We looked at it but ate out instead.

As with other reviews the parking seems odd but it is close to the hotel. Seems a shame not to include in the cost of the hotel but maybe alot of people come by air.

It is a 15 minute walk to the French Qtr and it you are looking for romantic do not stay here. It is a good, clean base which would make a good value for a family but as a couple there are definitely better hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luischable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    398
    196
    129
    82
See reviews for
523
231
36
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Lots of room in this hotel. Extensive breakfast, but it doesn't open until 7 on the week-ends. I have to be up and out before then. I had a few non-working items in my room, and I left a note with the front desk. When I returned that night, everything was fixed -even the shower curtain was replaced. I'd stay here more if I could get a good rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Homewood suites were clean comfortable and very accommodating. The rates were reasonable . The kitchen had a breakfast buffet every morning and every evening light buffet was available. People were wonderful and gave us suggestions of places to see. This was my first trip to New Orleans and will not be my last. It was great fun and I felt safe.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Let me start by saying that this was my first time ever in New Orleans, so I didn't know exactly what to expect of the city or its hotels. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Homewood right in downtown - it seems like they're usually only at the airport or in the suburbs.

The hotel is very nice and very clean, and the staff is very helpful. We used points and were still upgraded to a 2-bedroom 2-bath suite. The hotel is rather new I would guess, as nothing seemed stained or worn out. Breakfast was great, always waffles, grains, cereals and juices + more hot food daily, one day was scrambled eggs with ham, and bacon; anither day was plain eggs and pancakes.

Overall this hotel is a great choice but I have two complaints:

1) The lack of snacks:
There are no vending machines at this hotel and the store at the front desk had a very limited selection - especially when it came to drinks and frozen foods. There are also no grocery/convenience stores within a few blocks, so after the first night we learned to stock up while we were out.

2) Parking:
The parking offered is in a lot behind the hotel. It's convenient, but the lot itself is physically deteorating, expensive ($18 a day!) and on weekdays you WILL be parked in. The attendant can move cars that are in your way but it takes a while. Unfortunately, you are chared as part opf yoiur stay and can't choose to park anywhere else without paying for this lot - so that is a drawback.

If possible, I would suggest you ditch your car and find a taxi or shuttle from the airport downtown, after that everything is either within walking distance or accesible via streetcar (including Loyola, Tulane, the Aquarium and the Audubon Park Zoo).

Otherwise, be prepared to put up with the parking and you'll have a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
260 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

Our party of three adults stayed here for a long weekend last weekend and can't fault it at all. Although we didn't cook any meals in the room, there is a small stovetop, microwave, full size fridge, pots, pans, silverware and china if you you're in the mood to cook. We only used the coffee maker. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom plenty spacious. Its always nice to have the separate living room area to give you a bit more space.

The free breakfast was plentiful, with enough choices to please anyone, from cold cereal to hot bacon and eggs. They kept the dining area nice and clean. We weren't there any of the evenings when they offer the manager's reception with cocktails and a light dinner, but the menu posted in the room sounded pretty nice.

Parking is in a lot next to the building and does get full at night. We always found a spot, but I could see where you might not. Cabs are available out the side entrance door, lined up next to the hotel across the street. We never had a problem getting one to pull up to Homewood's side entrance to pick up up. We just waved at the first in line and they came right over. When we would head to the Quarter for drinks and dinner, we simply had the cab drop us at Canal and Bourbon and we walked the rest of the way. The fare for three adults was around $7.50 for this short ride.

While we didn't get a chance to use it, the pool is quite large and looked very well maintained. Also, there is a very small store next to the front desk for essentials. I didn't shop there, but I imagine the items are higher priced than they would be at most retail stores.

The only slight problem we had was at check in. I believe the guy checking us in must have been new because he had difficulty finding our reservation and then needed help checking us in from another desk clerk.

  • Liked — The large room with separate living area and the free breakfast
  • Disliked — wish it were closer to the Quarter
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deb62862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinevile, LA
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Chose this hotel because of it's location near the Superdome, & it was in easy walking distance. However, be prepared to walk a little if you're planning to frequent the French Quarter. The room and bathroom were large and very well appointed and maintained. It was so nice to have the full kitchen, especially a frig with an icemaker! The breakfast was really more than I expected. The parking lot provided is very close & reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Spacious suite
  • Disliked — Small selection in gift shop.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mimi0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We charged our room but paid for parking in cash. Front desk gave us a receipt that we paid in cash. After arriving home we saw our charge card was billed for parking. Wonder who put that $20.00 in their pocket? Unfortunately somewhere along the trip home the reciept saying we paid cash for parking was misplaced.
Other than that the hotel was very nice & other services were great. The rooms were beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing