We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff, below average Homewoods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #92 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful staff, below average Homewoods”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Close to convention center and French Quarter. Staff very helpful, especially concierge. Rooms a little musty and a/c noisy but plenty of room . Breakfast below average for Homewood but acceptable. Self parking a little pricey and spaces very close together. A good value and a good place to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    399
    196
    129
    82
See reviews for
524
231
36
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I was contacted by Rachael Burns from the hotel she reached out and apologize for the bad experience I had at her hotel, however she promised me a one night stay credit 3 weeks ago and I never got it. I have contacted her on 3 different occasions email, phone and still no credit. This just re confirms my opinion about Home wood Suites New Orleans from management and staff unprofessional and lies to their guests just to get rid of the problems. Never again will I stay at this location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zenella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Ms. Zanella,

Please accept my sincerest apologizies for the inconveniences you experienced regarding your stay here with us. I know that it can be confusing regarding the Triple A discounts, but I'm glad we were able to adjust that for you while you were in house. I'm sorry that the credit we promised wasn't applied accurately when you first spoke with the General Manager, but I understand that we have since corrected that as of last Friday, November 15, 2013. Please again accept my humblest apologies as this is past the time we had promised to award this credit. We value all of our guests and although the credit was a courtesy we should have applied in a timely fashion. I hope you will consider us again in the future and you may contact me directly to confirm future reservations here at the hotel.

Sincerely, Jennifer Jones, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of both the Superdome and Bourbon St so it makes for a great location to enjoy a football game/weekend. The service, for the most part, was very friendly and accomodating. However, it took nearly 5 minutes to check out at noon on Monday. There was only one representative at the desk and she kept taking phone calls while I waited to be checked out. Our room also had a very bad smell (11th floor) around 8-10pm each night. We inquired about this smell (and various machines sitting in the hallway) and the desk representative stated it was most likely due to somoeone spilling somehting on the carpet. We did not believe that rationale and felt that something was in the ventilation system that was causing the smell. At least it was gone by the time we went to sleep. Breakfast is included and the suites are very spacious. Would go back again as the slight inconveniences were hopefully a one-time only occurence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer_H_Jones901, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Mr. Gregory,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback to us regarding your experience with the front desk and the hotel. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to correct your view of our hotel and we have shared your feedback with the appropriate team members to improve upon our service for future guests. I hope you do choose the Homewood Suites Downtown New Orleans and tell us how we are doing.

Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Jennifer Jones, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tall Timbers, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the hotel, convienient to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Easy access to Trolly cars and easy walking distance to lots of attractions and resturants. pool was wonderful and warm, hot tub good also. Concierge Kylie was wonderful getting us set up with a tour of the city, a must do for first timers. So much to do and so little time to do it, will have to come back to New Orleans to see more

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank capvinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, La., United States
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice and roomy! Nice option to have kitchen area for multiple night stays. I thought the price was a little costly for dated furnishings and not being located in the heart of the French Quarter. Most of the staff was helpful during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Belinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spacious suites, responsive staff, clean quarters, beautiful pool, free b'fast, wine (and dinner) provided every evening..... really, what more does a guest need?! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The hotel is well situated and an easy walk to the French quarter, as well as the business district.

My husband's conference was at the nearby Hyatt, and frankly, listening to the other wives complain about that hotel I was soooooo glad we chose Homewood, which was not only better -- but much cheaper.

One of the managers said that Homewood is about to undergo a 'facelift' -- but since that will inevitably raise room rates, I'm really quite happy with the way the place is now.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were disappointed that we were given a smoking room as we are former smokers but thankfully the room wasn't overwhelmingly stinky and they even offered to come in and try to air freshen it more if needed. We had a great breakfast every morning and thankfully fresh fruit was available for us vegetarians. The best part of our stay, though, has got to be the attentive, knowledgeable concierge, Kylie. She listened to the experience we wanted and made it happen for us. Not knowing the best or worst tours she was able to suggest ones that made our stay perfect! She even arranged for us to have special treatment as well as a personalized menu from Landry's Seafood. Kylie truly made our honeymoon more memorable!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing