We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but needs some attention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service but needs some attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel lobby always nice and clean but rooms could use some help. Found bobby pin in middle of the floor upon check in and crackers under the tv stand. One kitchen table chair was a filthy cloth desk chair that should have been put in the trash. Found hairs in the shower as well as quite a bit of mold. On the other hand the beds seemed to be new and were extremely comfortable. Bathroom floors were mopped everyday which was nice. If you are the last rooms to be cleaned you will not receive a complete set of towels or coffee etc. guessing they run low on their carts by the end of the day. AC is very loud and runs constantly but a nice touch to have ceilings fans in the bedrooms. Breakfast was pretty basic but the evening light meal during the week was very exceptable. Most people made this their dinner, how can you go wrong with free food, beer and wine. Front desk and concierge were very helpful and pleasant. The concierge can book tours for you at a discounted rate. She is very helpful in chosing the right things to see and do. Parking is reasonable compared to other hotels in the area but very cramped spaces (be prepared for door dings). Pool and hot tub were very nice. Hopefully next time we stay here the housekeeping issues will be resolved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamily416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    383
    187
    125
    76
See reviews for
505
220
35
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Let me start by saying if your in New Orleans to stay in your hotel or room then this is not hotel is not for you. But most of us don't come to NOLA not to go out and have fun. That said, the hotel nice, it's an old elegant building that wouldn't expect to find a Homewood Suites in. The rooms are old with furniture that's a little tattered and well used but it's clean and has lots of room. It's great to have a ice maker in your room. We had a two bedroom suite and it was very roomy and the beds were very good, that's important. The staff was friendly and the concierge was very helpful and had good knowledge of NO. It was easy walking distance to the french Qtr. and all the things you wanted to do. We felt safe in the hotel and walking the streets around it. The breakfast was pretty much as usual for the hotels but the offer of a evening meal was a treat. We did not ever eat at the hotel for the evening meal, which was FREE because we wanted to go to some of the great places NO has to offer, but it looked and smelled good and people eating said it was very good. The elevators are pretty slow as they are Hydraulic and not cable run so you don't get to floors very fast. Not a huge issue but good to know. Yes the AC does run hard and a little loud but it's hot and humid in New Orleans and the AC is in the living room and you have ceilings fan in the bedrooms. It's comfortable and I'm a a nut about rooms being cool.
Overall yes great place to stay for the price you pay. It's not fancy or elegant but well worth what you will pay. I would stay again. If you want fancy there are plenty to pick from but I say again I'm in NO to go out!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our children's ( 6&16) spring break April 2013. It was more than I expected. The accommodations, price, staff, and food was great! The beds were big & comfortable! The staff friendly & attentive. One night some guest were very loud for 20-30 minutes & we had to complain twice. After the 2nd call, we never heard them again!! I have to say the breakfast and the dinners were REALLY GOOD! Breakfast was REAL food with great variety (bacon, sausage, waffles, grits, eggs, fresh cut fruits, bagels, muffins, toast, yogurts coffee, etc) We were so full we had to skip lunch everyday! The only down side is you have to PAY $21 daily for parking! The parking lot attendants were very friendly & funny but we only went out at night once! Walking down the alley to the parking lot at night was not happening! Other than that, it was GREAT! Now everywhere I travel, I'm looking for Homewood Suites and I hope they are all like the one in Nawleans :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Franky E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We love to hear you were pleased with your overall accommodations here at the Homewood Suites, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best,
Hayley Euper
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at this property for 12 nights during a show in New Orleans. I didn't have huge expectations for this hotel, but I did expect it to at least be clean and well maintained. It was really neither. The lobby smelled like dishes that have things growing on them, the AC in the room was louder then a jet engine, but didn't cool, and it was dingy/dirty with poor upkeep. I look forward to not having to stay here again.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sean_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel and more specifically regarding our cleanliness. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations, and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable stay, and will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience, and I will certainly keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Sincerely,
Hayley Euper
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here over the Memorial day weekend for the annual Nola AAU basketball tournament. I really enjoyed my stay although this was not the nicest Homewood suites accommodations i've stayed before. The hotel lobby was nice and the hotel. fit in with the historical landscape of New Orleans. The room itself was smaller than other Homewood suites i've stayed and the decor was dated and shabby. I cannot speak on the happy hour as my stay was on a weekend. The staff were very peasant and helpful with navigating the city and the location was great in that we walked or took public transportation to the french quarter and other attractions downtown. The location was convenient to other areas of the city as well. I would stay here again if they would only update their furnishings in the rooms by the time i visit New Orleans again!

Room Tip: request a room facing the street that comes with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel lobby and room was shabby with stained and worn furn., room ice maker and bathfan not working. balcony had ac vent on it so unusable unless you like furnace.I Left bathing suit and beach towel and it was stolen by hotel room maid( called and she said wasn't in room)only place we stayed and used at and KNEW where I left it in closet. Manager just said they "weren't responsible for it." waste of money staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cecil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a positive experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me at hayley.euper@dimdev.com. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Best,
Hayley Euper
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Homewood Suites in New Orleans CBD is an older property that could use a little updating. It's perfect for families with kids, if you need a little privacy at the end of the day. The staff is helpful, but I've stayed in nicer Homewood Suites properties. It is a good value for the money, and I don't feel in any way that I was ripped off. Other detailed reviews tell it like it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#65 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing