We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice and worth the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Ranked #83 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice and worth the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a couple days for the Saints vs Chargers game and found the hotel perfect for our needs.
Breakfast selection was not as plentiful as other hotel chains but food was good and fresh.
Staff and concierge were great. Don't complain about the daily parking rate as downtown space is at a premium and that just how it is these days. Hotel rooms were spacious, clean and relatively quiet (on the 6th floor anyway). Location for us was great...short walk to the Superdome and of course the French Quarter. I would recommend this facility and it was one of our best football travel cities!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santeepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear santeepat,
Thank you for the kind words. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from our fresh breakfast to our clean suites! I am thrilled to learn you thought our staff was great as well. The Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans is centrally located in the downtown New Orleans Business District, so the Super Dome as well as the French Quarter are just blocks away from us. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you back at our property very soon!

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    324
    147
    105
    59
See reviews for
418
181
29
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at another of Hilton's minis (we previously stayed at Embassy Suites DC), and although the rooms were really, REALLY spacious, the beds and pillows comfy and the service, especially from the concierge Kylie, amazing - the complementary breakfast was only okay with the light dinner being quite poor. There was a variety at breakfast with the eggs always good, but the light dinner - or Manager's Reception - was not. We chose to pass on this 'freebie' and buy local fare instead.

For those wanting to purchase food to cook - there is an amazing grocery store (market) only a block or two away called Rouses. All-in-all, we would definitely stay at Homewood again should we be in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear DebG1965,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this useful feedback. It is always appreciated! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our large, comfortable suites. We loved to hear that you were pleased with our service and staff as well; Kylie is truly an asset to the Homewood. I apologize you didn't enjoy our Manager's Reception in the evenings. We try to vary our selections each night to keep each guest satisfied. We do know there are tons of wonderful restaurants right outside our doors though! I'd like to thank you so much for staying at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, and we certainly hope to be seeing you again soon!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights, the hotel has 2 rooms, front living room with kitchen, and large bedrooms and bath. Serves a hot breakfast in morning - changes daily, eggs, ham, rolls, etc., fruits, wafflemaker etc. Dinner on Mon-Thursday nite with FREE wine or beer, all u can drink. A DEAL. Staff and conceige at hotel are very helpful and friendly! Only a short walk to French Quarter or to Casino. Trolley car is only 2 streets over, and area around the hotel is safe to walk around. It is in the downtown/warehouse district, close enough to walk to museum's or over to the riverwalk area. A great stay with amenities that other hotels don't offer!

Room Tip: room was fine - no issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear rrcer,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback about our hotel. It is certainly appreciated! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious suites, daily complimentary hot breakfast and dinner Monday through Thursday nights. We also thrilled to learn your were pleased with our staff and service. Thanks for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Three of us stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath suite with a kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room for us all to relax. There are flat screen TVs in both BRs + one in the living room. We were on the 11th floor which was very quiet. The breakfast is very good - hot items that change each day, fresh fruit, bagels, grits, etc. Monday - Thurs. they serve a simple evening meal and drinks. Some guests are on extended stays so once a month they celebrate birthdays and serve cake to everyone. Nice touch! All in all, a very good choice in NOLA!

Kudos to Kylie the Concierge who arranged many fun things to do and Karla at the front desk.

Room Tip: High floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The comments are greatly appreciated and I will certainly share with the staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked the 2 King Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Suite since there were 4 of us (2 couples) traveling together and were very pleased with our room. Our room was on the 11th floor and one of the bedrooms had a balcony overlooking Poydras Street. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see for our one night (10/06/2012) in New Orleans. Probably walked a total of 5 or 6 miles that afternoon/evening but the weather was beautiful and the streets were alive!! This is the third Homewood Suites we have stayed in when traveling and I will continue to book Homewood Suites whenever and wherever possible. The front staff was very friendly and accommodating. Even though this is an older building, it was beautiful and clean and the breakfast was very good. Parking is about $20 and is about a block away but was still very convenient. The only thing I will warn about is the fact that there are NO ice machines in this hotel. So if you want/need ice, you have to turn on the ice maker in the freezer in your room and wait on it or go to the front desk and they will give you a small amount of ice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiseSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my first trip to New Orleans with my sister and best friend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites. I called a few days before our arrival to see if I could change my room selection from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom but the hotel was completely booked. But when we arrived, the desk advised that I had recieved a complimentary upgrad to a 2 bedroom. The suite was spacious, clean, modern; the beds were comfortable; the bathrooms spotless. And the fact that we had a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave and dishwasher just added to the delight. We did have a problem with small ants that visited the kitchen sink whenever we left standing water, but the house came up and exterminated right away, and we made sure not to leave any water standing. The complimentary breakfast each morning was superb and the complimentary Monday thru Thursday nightly dinners were good and plentiful. The hotel was situated close to all the areas of New Orleans we wanted to go to (French Quarter, River Walk) either by walking or by bus/streeet cars, The house staff was very accommodating, professional and friendly. And the price just couldn't be beat for all the the Suites had to offer!!! I would recommend the Homewood Suites to anyone i know who is traveling to New Orleans and wants a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you change your mind and want a larger room, just call. They may just be able to accomodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Lmr333,
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, and in our city. Our front desk staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our spacious two-bedroom suites. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. It was wonderful! 2 separate bedrooms and baths, living room, and full kitchen. Nice and spacious and homey feel. This was a great quite location for all of our activites. Breakfast was good and food was fresh. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrappette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Scrappette,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious suites, and complimentary Full American Breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#60 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton New Orleans - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Property: Homewood Suites New Orleans
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#77 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing